Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Supreme Collider

by LoneStranger - Compo Entry

Lone Stranger Presents.... SUPREME COLLIDER!

Guide your little mass to collide with smaller masses and make them a part of yourself. Avoid larger masses, as they will consume you!

Press Left or Right arrow keys to rotate.
Hold both Left AND Right to engage thrust.

--------
WORKS BEST WITH CHROME

I didn't completely test on FireFox or IE. If it runs slow, close your browser and open in a new session to avoid any memory problems.
--------

Your mass will grow as it collects other masses, as long as you are bigger than what you collide with. Otherwise, you become a part of the other mass and the game is over. You do get a 10% bonus to your size, in case your eyeballs can't tell if you are bigger or not.

Made with Phaser - http://phaser.io

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#484Theme3.73
#632Audio2.20
#684Humor1.74
#795Mood2.39
#806Fun2.62
#854Overall2.73
#870Graphics2.08
#900Innovation2.19
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:32am

If it crashes and burns for you, please leave a comment and do not rate. I will try to fix any deal-breaker problems.

Jstank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:32am

A classic concept and well executed. A very fun play!

rantt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:05pm

Fun game, the ambient sound fit the mood well. I enjoyed it, nicely done!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Very Osmos like. Web version was very laggy on my machine. Good idea though it's been done before. Good use of both themes.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02am

Pretty nice! The game was very slow on Safari on Mac OS X (but it worked on Chrome), but other than that, everything was pretty cool. I would suggest, however, turning down the "Beep" sound. Kinda hurt my ears the first time.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:36am

I played another LD34 game almost exactly like this, except I can actually beat your, so this one is more fun!

srakowski says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:40am

Hard to get a handle on that little mass! Difficult. Great use of the theme.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

It was laggy for me too, but I sat there and took it. It's a shame cause these sped up with a few more elements would make for a real fun game. Apply the polish, I'd check it out afterwards.

felixreeve says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35pm

Nice concept, I'd like there to be more graphics when you boost for example. Fun though!

wilsk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Fun game if a little laggy on the web version in firefox.

exhidor says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice game !
Simple and efficient, maybe the background soundtrack is a little boring and the "beep" is ^^ .. a beep :p
However, I like the difficulty, controlling this litte mass is not so easy

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:56am

Fun, slow, moody game. The music is decent, however the sound effects are painful. I wish there was slightly more control, you have to start moving pretty far in advance to collect masses. Solid entry overall, well done.

zzapp says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:10am

It ran very slow in my browser (firefox), especially towards the end. Otherwise it was a enjoyable game, good job.

matiz982 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:33am

Simple game with cool simple graphic

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:35pm

A classic concept and well executed. Thumbs up ++

psychonull says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Nice game. Really fun and addictive. Congratulations!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]