Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Colony 3028

by klianc09 - Jam Entry

Colony 3028

The Spaceshuttle hosting Colony No.3028 has crashed on a rogue planet far away from all intergalactic trading routes. Collect resources and defend yourself to leave this hostile planet, before the foreign environment, invading aliens and vengeful gods destroy your whole colony.

---Gameplay---

Colony 3028 is a (too) fast paced Real-Time-Strategy game where you grow (aha, there is a theme!) your colony to collect resources and defend yourself. Create workers at your Spaceshuttle and use workers to collect resources and build structures (towers are important).
There are various temples of various deities, slowly getting angry at you, spawning deadly creatures if they get too angry. You can sacrifice your units to the temples to make them happy, so you can train special units at the temples and they won't try to kill you.

If the screen shakes, that means aliens landed per meteoroid, trying to kill your colony.

---Caveats---

This game has been prey to feature creep. Which will result in the following:
-Music but no Sound Effects
-Confusing Gameplay
-Missing Tutorial
-Horrible Random Generation
-Gamebreaking Bugs

---Controls---
Mouse for everything

LEFT mouse button -> Unit selection / Clicking Buttons
RIGHT mouse button -> Give Units orders (move/attack/collect/build)

(and Arrowkeys for camera-movement, but those are KEYS and not BUTTONS)


PS: beware of the ducks

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#358Overall(Jam)3.49
#394Humor(Jam)2.86
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#584Mood(Jam)3.13
#659Audio(Jam)2.51
#757Innovation(Jam)2.76
#821Theme(Jam)3.27
#843Graphics(Jam)2.73

Comments

theSand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14pm

i cant download the game, try to upload it to itch.io

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Oh god its the duck! *duck gets killed* where did these little ducks come from o.o
In the end there was about too many tanks killing me and my space shuttle exploded :/
Nicely thought rts game!

phi6 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47pm

Quite tricky to click on men when they're so tiny!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

A nice pocket-age of empires. Even is hard to play because the units are ant-like, is challenging :). Nice work! Stefan (Tyrants.not.found.team)

shadow64 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:14am

Thanks for playing and rating GET IT OUT!!! I'm glad you liked it! This was really impressive! I don't know how you were able to get it done so fast - very cool! The only problem I had was that it can be hard to keep the things you want in your view due to the controls. But game play was simple and effective and I had fun keeping everything away from my space shuttle. Haha. Thanks for sharing and congrats on finishing!!!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Wow, how do you make an entire RTS in 72 hours O_o Jealous!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44am

Nice RTS game, considering the time limit of 72 hours I'd say it's an achievement.
The music feels like it repeats every 3 seconds. The game is too hard I think, or I missed something.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Poor space-shuttle! It should have landed on the ducks...

Funny builder, a bit too hectic, with a brick-wall learning curve. Slow it down, simplify it, and keep the humor. :)

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

Pretty tough! I really enjoyed it though, and developed a healthy dislike of ducks along the way :)

aare says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:43pm

RTS in 72hours?! That really something :D Great work :D

Budi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Yeah, everything is quite small and hard to control. I like the concept, but I was kinda frustrated by the speed and controls.

Thumbs up for RTS in 72 hours! :-)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Wow, an RTS game! Great job!
Alien ducks are evil. Too fast-paced for my taste, but still good.

krispy says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Some nuggets of fun here. Keep exploring it until you find the hook. Overall good effort.

jcsirron says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:48am

That was a great implementation of an RTS. I was not expecting to see something like this done in a Jam timeframe. Good work!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:43pm

What a good work here. Like the mechanics. Well done!

michidk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Wow! Nice game

RARoadkill says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Very impressive. I was hoping the Theme colony would have won during the voting because I wanted to see games like this

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:23pm

Definitely needs more work, but this is a great beginning. The biggest thing that kept me from enjoying it was a lack of tutorial.

klianc09 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Thanks for all the feedback people.
Brought some issues to our attention we didn't think about, and some issues we already knew about, but time constraints in Ludum Dares can be tough. So, sorry if you tried to enjoy it, but simply couldn't because there is no proper tutorial.
We will use this new knowledge to improve future games.

anv says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:27pm

RTS? Very ambitious for a jam. Controls could use improvement (selecting units in particular).

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:33pm

I quite didn't get the mechanics... But there is a lot of hard work on it! So I killed a few ducks and tanks and then got destroyed. Yeey :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:10pm

It was rather tricky, due to the size of things and trying to click on them. It was a nice simple game and I felt it was rather well done, found some little bugs here and there but nothing too major. Solid entry overall

Krafty says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:45am

This game is neat! Kind of confusing, you should add a tutorial maybe! I liked it a lot though :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]