Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Wars (browser game)

by AntonyBaasan - Jam Entry

SPACE WARS

You are a Star Destroyer commander (yes, maybe Dart Vader).
Goal of the game is to build modules and improve your space ship, grow your army and attack other player

To succeed against players in all around world you have to aggressively build factories to gather resources for fighter ship building.

The game rely on your browser cookies so don't disable them, thank you. Enjoy!


Credits:
Craig Buckler for intro page css - http://www.sitepoint.com/css3-starwars-scrolling-text/
http://galactic-voyage.com - ship images

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2482Coolness0%

Comments

Outbreak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54am

I'm getting an "Application Error"

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

Getting "Application Error" as well. :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

Application Error to :(

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56am

Same with the Application Error

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16am

Same error here aswell.

Keelan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:31am

Getting the same error. :(

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27am

Link fixed. Sorry guys.

mappel6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:06am

Honestly, not much to do here. Just your regular old building sim. It has some potential, I'll give it that, but in this state, it's not something I'll be playing much.

By the way: When you collect Minerals, it says 'Stone' in the popup, and when you collect Energy, it says 'Wood' in the popup. You might wanna fix it if you can so it doesn't look entirely like it was built on a template. :D

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47am

Kind of boring >__< you should add some music and make it so you can get the materials more quickly! I like the idea =P

arzi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35am

I think the idea is ok and it's a nice feature to be able to battle other players in an LD game, but the resource generation is way too slow. It also appears to be built on top of some other games, as energy and mineral generators say "wood collected" and "stone collected".

arzi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35am

But in my opinion Star Wars is always a plus ;)

AntonyBaasan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Thanks guys. Original idea was to make a village builder game. Very simple with stones and woods. But eventually, changed village to space city, than finally star wars. He he, lot of idea switch, but I think that is how ludumdare goes.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Miss some music :( but nice base :)

KayZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Some counters would be nice, to know when to collect resources or when attacking is possible again.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Not really a big fan of timers to be honest... Timers are no substitute for actual gameplay.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]