Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Breathe

by Galvesmash - Jam Entry

Four hundred years ago, in an ancient forest of somewhere in Japan Ni-tsu was left by her family in an very old temple. She started a deep meditation journey in order to fulfill her loneliness and to reach the highest state of illumination, however evil spirits won’t let her in peace.
We invite you to help Ni-Tsu in this journey of self-illumination!

Commands:
- Hold space to charge meditation energy and release to expand her mind across the temple.
- Move your mouse to guide her mind and kill multiple enemies (You don't need to click)
You cannot kill enemies with low meditation energy, be careful!

Tools:
Unity 5, Maya 3D, Photoshop, Audacity.

Game by:
Gabriel Galves, Programmer (@Galvesmash)
Luiz Causin, art & audio (@luizcpc)
Mic Faifer, Programmer (@MicFaifer)
Raff Ribeiro, Art (@raffribeiro)


Edits: (Fixing little bugs, still in the rules)
-Fixed the delay of the mouse and charge.
-Now you can win the game! (It was impossible to fulfill the victory condition before).
-Fixed the collider not working properly with the ground enemy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Mood(Jam)4.11
#77Audio(Jam)3.96
#77Graphics(Jam)4.37
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#557Fun(Jam)3.11
#626Theme(Jam)3.56

Comments

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Very atmospheric game.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Nice work with audio and art!! Gameplay is kind of difficult..

Atmosphere effects are amazing! :)

Zulgot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Fun and atmospheric game :)

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06am

Very nice game! Polish was awesome, and it created an awesome... feel to play.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12am

Great audio and graphics

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

Nice

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:59am

Really amazing art! I must say I'm bad at staying alive, you have to control some patience :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:04am

The cursor have got a bit of delay, that makes hard to click the enemies

Flip120 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06am

Very good atmosphere!

wine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Great style! Nicely done :)

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Beautiful. Excellent Idea.

DevDad says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:57pm

Nice atmospheric game .

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Controls (both for charge and moving the cursor around) are a bit delayed which makes it quite hard to be efficient.

I am also not completely sure it's worth meditating to the second bar if you react quickly enough to kill what's surrounding you with the first ?

Art and audio (my first 5 on audio ;) ) were amazing and very well integrated.

Great job guys.

terry90 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:29am

Great music - wanted more SFX though, for charging and things. Awesome mood and lovely visual style. Controls were a bit too delayed though I think.

guoboism says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:46am

Great atmosphere! I like the cursor thing.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Growing spirituality that's the real understanding of growing. Liked atmosphere and idea in full

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Thanks guys! We appreciate a lot your comments and feedbacks!
Means a lot to us see that you are playing our game!

@CristianBatista, @ddr2 and @terry90: The Cursor and the Charge delay is a bug that will be fixed, thanks to tell us that!

@ddr2: Wow, the first 5!? THANKS!

Once again thanks for all the comments!

adamgryu says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:59am

The mood is really nice. Great art and sound! You might also want to consider using the mouse button instead of space, but I'm not sure what would be better. I'd also maybe recommend having the area of light grow and shrink with the bar, rather than as an effect.

Still, good entry :)

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:18am

Beautiful art, great music to add to the mood. Mouse feels odd just because it's delayed.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:46am

nice job here - very nice mood set for the game and great use of theme - excellent game

bodsey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:01am

As someone practicing meditation I'm a little surprised that the first game I ever played that talks about meditation includes killing enemies XD Great job on the game though

sonelliot says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:14am

Enjoyed the atmosphere. Fun to play :)

ajopart says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:48am

Great game !

Lullaby says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:06am

My five stars to the Mood!
The mechanic is really well thought, and the atmosphere is really peaceful..

I finished the game at the second try, but as any fight against darkness, that wasn't easy ;)

Nice entry, well played!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:08am

I do Yoga myself, so I loved this :)

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:50am

well, that was cool !

Mikaza says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:12am

Very nice game. Love the atmosphere and the music.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:17am

Very atmospheric and very fun to play. Very creative designs.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:38am

Gorgeous game with a fantastic mood. The gameplay is challenging.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:58am

I feel very relaxed after this \o/ Very interesting game and awesome art

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:59am

Really impressed with the visuals in this...

I think it could have used some more sounds, and perhaps some sort of progress metre, showing when you would reach the next level...

Boberro says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I loved the graphics, I loved that sound and I loved the atmosphere of it, but I don't know how to play this one at all! *reads the comments* But it looks like it's only me.

themadknights says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:38pm

Beautiful

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:47pm

The mood and graphics are great, but I think it starts out a bit too difficult to motivate me to continue playing it.

fractalbear says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Simply incredible!! My favourite game of the competition, amazing work guys :D

banana4life says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Good work!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice audio. Really gives you a better feel of the game!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:30am

I really loved the game. Once you figure out that you can destroy multiple enemies by "drawing" over them when you release the space bar, it's just a ton of fun. I'm sure once you make that more obvious, this will be perfect.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:46am

Pretty interesting game! Not as easy as it looks...

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:10am

Very impressive atmosphere, i really enjoy it. Gameplay wise, is there a point to hold the space bar because when I play it, I just keep holding it because there is no advantage of not hold it (you have to expand the mind view to kill enemies anyways).

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:32am

The graphics are nice, as is the atmosphere and the mood. A very nice start to something greater. I do think the delay in the cursor is a problem because it is hard to be as precise as possible to slice up the baddies.

That said, I do like the idea of balancing the meditating with the space bar and using the mouse to kill the spirits. Good work.

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:40am

Really impressive graphics + polish, though gameplay's a little repetitive.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:24am

Not obvious how to play at start, but overall a good game!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Beatiful made! :D

randomhuman says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Lovely feel to this game, and an interesting and challenging core mechanic.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Very nice audio and visual design, the aesthetic works really well.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Very cool mechanic and overall nice mood set by the visuals plus music. Love this game has great replay value.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:03am

Very nice refined drawings, immersive ambiant music, simple and inovative gameplay, it's a game poetry. Well done !

Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:44am

Graphics were cool, although one consequence of the gameplay is I don't get to stare at them. Interesting mechanic. Nice job.

abuzreq says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:05am

So I will say much and hope it makes sense :
The art style were great and so were the music and the visual effects.
the animation of the spirits were very simple when compared to the rest of the animations in the game(maybe it is intended)
I didn't get the sound effect at the start of the game(someone talking) and therefore how does it fit in.

I liked how spirits appeared to be cut in half (like in the fruits game on smartphones :P )
but the effect when spirits hit you felt strange
(because I was trying to fill everything in the picture of a meditating monk I thought that I won and wondered why the game is so short)
a more reasonable thing was not an appearance of light(white rectangles) but the absence of light much like if the monk succumbed to the darkness of the spirits.

I really hope this helps and not that I am imagining things :P

Diel Mormac says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Excellent artwork and sounds!

I think this game can run perfectly in a mobile!

Congratulations!

Hail Brazilian game developers!

EwChap says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:44am

Very nice game. I love the style and the concept is quite original.

alpha_rat says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Beautiful graphics, souncs and atmosphere! I really liked the display ratio of the game, it makes it very cinematographic.
Also, original answer to the theme.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:33pm

I felt like the hit box on Ni-tsu was a bit wide. I was constantly killed by the ground enemies vs. the flying enemies. Great game overall, wonderful graphics and a very solid mood!

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 12:26am

Very very good game! Visuals are awesome, audio is great and the changing sprite made we want to go as far as possible to see if there are more evolutions! Awesome!

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Solving interesting themes. Good game!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Great audio for the game. The visuals are also really good. The gameplay feels good but also is a bit tough. I suppose it takes a bit to learn though.

lawendt says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:26am

Won't say about the atmosphere, you must already know about how good it is. Loved the animation and the idea, you could really work in a story with this concept.

Anyway, keep up with the awesome work!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:36am

Wow! Great music and graphics! The controls were a bit strange to get used to, but after that it as nice! The mood is great as well. Congrats! Solid entry.

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Looks pretty and sounds nice … The gameplay is somewhat lacking, though :/

michidk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Nice, i love the effects!

AboLD says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:42am

Very beautiful game with great atmosphere. the idea is nice and the growing one is great.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:30am

Looks like we have some lore going on here. Very simplistic when it comes to design, but the gameplay isn't as zen as this would warrant. (Lore-wise, a nearly enlightened monk certainly wouldn't fight off enemies! They'd just accept them and spread kindness to them or something like that.)

While I would argue that space+mouse stretches the definition of "two buttons", making breathing the focus of the Growth theme is pretty clever.

Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:39am

while the mood/graphics were really great and the theme was approached well I feel the game play didn't match. The main issue I found was that the focused energy lagged so far behind the mouse and seemed unable to work on enemies sometimes unexplained.

Farelle says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:36pm

soooo I liked the music, it felt very atmospheric and I liked the mechanics :) the only thing that felt anxiety inducing was that charging up the meditation bar to get light was feeling very slow and I felt like I don't know where to look with my eyes, since keeping track of recharging the bar enough to get light AND watching where the monsters are, was a bit overwhelming and I only have 2 eyes :) would have been nice to get a visual feedback on herself to see if I'm charged enough, so my eyes wouldn't need to jump so much. (instead of the bar)

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 1:19am

Very atmospheric, which is awesome. It made me want to know more about the universe. I almost feel as if the story of this game is a cancer survivor who finished her treatment, and she's still battling during recovery. Every demon you slay is a step in recovery. Hence the hair growth mechanic.

In any case, it's beautiful. Very well done!

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:26am

Very very well polished game! Loved the mood, music and art all around. Gameplay was good though it could be improved as there wasn't much to do. Took me a while to figure out I could charge up while still defending after releasing it, but once I did the games difficulty was very sound - it started off easy and once I neared the end it became a challenge without being frustrating.

Overall a very nicely made game. Great job!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:40am

Really nice game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/R1E0Ch1WcpU

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]