Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

X-treme Snowball

by goffmog - Compo Entry

X-treme Snowball!

Use 2-button controls (A and D or the left and right arrow keys) to guide your snowball down his ski run, try to hit the gates for a high score but watch out, snowballs get bigger as they roll!

If you get stuck on a gate press Esc to quit to the menu

5 difficulty settings add obstacles, remove helpers, and cause mayhem.

A lot here I will talk about in due course, very restricted this time due mostly to being ill - snowball's nose is modelled on my own.

NOTE: Web build requires unity webplayer, sorry. Ran out of time to brave a HTML5 build.

TIP: The more turns you make the better you can control your speed, but the more you will grow.

PRO-TIP: You can still score at a gate by jumping over its middle, no matter how fat you are.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#340Humor2.67
#562Fun3.05
#625Theme3.55
#649Graphics2.80
#684Audio1.35
#749Mood2.53
#792Overall2.83
#910Innovation2.10

Comments

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51am

Note: Windows version does NOT work (Error: There should be 'xtremesnowball_Data' folder next to the executable)

First of all, I have to start by saying that I love the Christmas mood you set with this game. Also, props for using both themes! Besides that, the game is not that playable and enjoyable. As a snowman-head, you roll faster and faster, but when you hit something, you lose all your speed and you have to speed up again from nothing. This makes the game pretty slow if you're not that great at steering, like me.

Few things:
-Title is annoying and blocks the view. Leave it on the menu?
-I got so big at one point, that I didn't fit through the gates and got stuck.
-The second button on the menu is halfway outside the screen and I can't seem to understand what it does.
-Windows version errors at start-up.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:47am

Hi Cyranh, thanks for spotting the problem with the windows zip - I thought it was a bit small :)

As for the rest of the issues, it sounds like you're playing in a tiny window, unfortunately the game isn't designed to work on anything smaller than 1024x786. The second button changes the difficulty setting. The snowball does indeed get too big for the last couple of gates, I'm not sure I can consider that a bug though, when you play on the higher difficulty levels you can use the ramps to jump the gates and still collect points for them.

About the controls, the idea was for it to be a bit like skiing, there's more friction when you're facing horizontally accross the slope and you can use this to regulate your speed a bit by moving from side to side.

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:09pm

nice take on the classic ski/snow game concept
a little too simple and not very polished as a finished game

2pae says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:11pm

That work for me but it have someone controls bugs.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:15pm

2 buttons growing : both theme checked.

It's a funy game. I quite like it

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:16pm

2pae thanks for playing, can you elaborate on the control bugs you found?

fistmaker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Great job on your game! Liked the highscore ranking at the end. Graphics were good and you stuck to the theme(s). Controls got a bit harder at higher speeds, but I'm guessing that's by design. Simple concept, playable and a condition to win. Good job.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Could've been really good! Wish there was more momentum.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Got 750. Great fun.
BTW, thanks for playing/rating my game.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:25pm

jamaster96 thanks for playing - I agree about the momentum, it was one of those things that was never going to be perfect considering the lack of testing I did. In hindsight I think most people's problems with the speed would be solved by making the gate poles fall over rather than stop you dead.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Nice and fun game.

One thing that bugged me was that if you held down left or right button to long you started to do a "loop". I think it would be better if you made it so you couldn't do that but instead just keep turning in a direction in a fixed angle. Music would be nice to.
Otherwise a relly nice game (likeed the snow particles) :)

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:52pm

This reminds me of the old Tux Racer games, I really liked it!

In your description you talk about a sound but I didn’t get any noise at all, because of this I put n/a for sound so it should not impact your audio score.

knason says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:17pm

YEY 794! I liked it, on my first try I missed almost every goal, but next time it went better, and one time my ball made a really big jump dont know if that supposed to happen, either way it made it extra fun. good job!

edgeofcode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:43am

I really liked this one - lots of fun!

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56am

knason, thanks for playing! The level design is a bit wonky in parts and there are a couple of places where sometimes you jump as you hit the joint between slope sections. Did you try it on any of the harder difficulty settings? (they add ramps, etc)

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Fun little game :)

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20pm

Physics goes haywire when holding a key for more than about 1/10 second. At least on 1000 fps...

Vertigon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Nice classic slalom experience. The mood is great, and I loved the use of a snowman head to make the rolling action of your snowball more visible (and add a festive flare).

goffmog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Humanics, crikey, what are you running it on to get 1000 fps? Also the physics are framerate independent so I think your problem is that you're playing in an alternate reality.

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:30pm

Nice game, could do with a few more mechanics but otherwise very good.

teamvr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:40pm

#slalomisntdead

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Pretty interesting. it is definitely "Extreme" for when i try moving slightly left or right, i move in a complete spiral making a tornado-like shape. pretty cool game though.

alyphen says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:37am

By the time you get to Archmaster difficulty, the gates seem like they're avoiding you haha.
The highscores were nice, but having online highscores would add so much replayability. The interpretation of the theme is great, your models were pretty good, and it felt incredibly smooth to play. Sound would have added a lot to it. This is the sort of game where humour is it's very fabric, and chasing highscores is the endgame. Fun to play, though lacking aforementioned replayability.

goffmog says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:07am

Thanks for playing alyphen, and for the comments. Agree with you completely, unfortunately I had a lot less time for this LD than I usually do or I would have got some music in, made the scoretable at least persistent (if not global) and added a bit of polish.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]