Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Flowershop Tale

by Geti - Jam Entry

An unfinished game about running a shape shop as a
flower person. Due to poor business decisions in
the months before, you're behind on rent and need
to turn the shop around quickly.

Fortunately you just sell shapes to folks who walk
in off the street and its not so hard :)

===================================================
Controls:
Left and Right arrows, or A and D (or a mixture)
===================================================

Windows only for now. If I can get it compiling
elsewhere I'll let you know.

Missing content:
- win/lose condition ("the big one")
- backstory
- day transitions
- probably lots more

If I get time tomorrow I'll hammer down the most
obvious of these, but it's kind of a dead-end
gameplay wise so has mostly just been an art,
music, foley and programming exercise :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#123Graphics(Jam)4.21
#240Audio(Jam)3.50
#242Mood(Jam)3.58
#339Humor(Jam)2.95
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#777Innovation(Jam)2.73
#955Fun(Jam)2.54

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:50am

Hey dude, I like your art and your characters. Very funky. I could definitely see something interesting coming from this concept. I couldn't make anything happen though unfortunately t.t

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:07am

Kudos for the art and sampling (is that you? :) ). Gameplay-wise could have used way more but seems you're already aware of that.

Geti says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:41am

For those wondering about how to make it work - you have to get a shape before you can get a colour, and you just have to stand in front of the machines or register to use them.

The mumbling is indeed me, wished the girlfriend was in at the time so I could have more than one voice ;)

Indeed, shame there's not too much to play. We'll see if I get time to actually put a story and win condition to it, but it seems it wont happen before the deadline.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:47am

I really wish there was more to this. The graphics and audio are gorgeous! I wanted to play more.

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

It's quite repetitive. I guess you decided to have the images low quality this way, well it works. The core game is there. I also like the concept. I wish you could add more to that core.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:48am

Graphics style is indeed very nice! Music slightly repetitive but effects are cool.

jcsirron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:59am

That was an oddly zen-like game. Interesting!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Can't get this to run. "Game.exe has stopped working" straight off the bat, using Windows 7 Professional 64-bit. I did unzip the game first.

Looking at the other comments, this is probably a problem on my end. The game seems to be based on SDL, so I wonder if it's somehow trying to use some of the SDL 1.6 DLLs I have on my system instead. (SDL has been problematic to setup before...)

EmmaSKulin says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Very funny little game. The art is just amazing *_* Unfortunately the lack of some kind of aim is really sad :(

Geti says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

Glad people especially like the art :) It's the one thing I was really happy with the outcome of so very nice to see people appreciate it.

@Jwatt - thanks for trying it at least; 1.6 is a weird "in between beta" version of SDL anyway, the last official one before 2.0 was 1.2 as far as I know. I'd probably remove whatever you've got installed, 99% of games that use SDL just bundle it directly (as I have here) on windows because as you've seen, trying to set it up globally is problematic.

Mirch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:50am

Even though it's not finished, I think it has a lot of potential! Really had fun playing it!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:56am

Really nice design around the sound and graphics.

There's not much too the gameplay, but it feels like the start of something like Painters Guild.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:48am

Pro:
+ Art and sounds are great
+ Nice concept
Con:
- As already mentioned, not much to play
- More buttons control would be nice, but then it wouldn't fit the theme...
Obs:
o Recettear should be a nice reference

Great work!

Geti says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:01am

Thank you for the reference to Recettear - I had not seen or played it but it looks like a very similar game :)

I'll probably not be continuing this game directly (at least for now/in its current form) but its quite inspiring to see other games in this sort of space doing well.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:51am

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]