Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bubble Nibble

by AriaMK - Compo Entry

You move around using button one to turn left and button two to turn right (usually keyboard ctrl and alt or mouse left and right). Eat the smaller enemies and grow but don't let the larger enemies eat you while you navigate to the finish area!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#282Theme3.96
#594Audio2.35
#615Humor2.05
#778Mood2.44
#799Fun2.63
#809Innovation2.52
#847Graphics2.22
#912Overall2.56

Comments

davesoft says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 10:25pm

Looks nice, got any source?

AriaMK says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 11:42pm

Yep. I'll upload that here in a bit.

AriaMK says ...
Dec 12, 2015 @ 11:47pm

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zbcze8j0qgy258q/ld34.zip?dl=0
Also added to entry.

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:40am

Do i get big enough to the explode and then game over ? :/ Then just stay in a corner small things will be spawned and u'll grow ?
A boring version of agar.io ( i dunno if u've played it or not(no sign up needed ) http://agar.io/ ) and there are some plate like things in front of balls were u thinking of letting them do sth or are they just for the sake of knowing player's direction?

AriaMK says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:29am

Thanks for checking it out! I've uploaded a newer version with multiple rooms if you're interested in taking another glance.
I looked at Agar... it's pretty fun and I like that it's multiplayer.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

GG I am not sure how to win but it's fun

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:31am

Not really challenging at all, since I was always the biggest thing in ever room I entered. It would be nice if the camera zoomed out as you got bigger so that you could see what direction you needed to go.

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:32am

Multiplayer version the game will be great, try it! nice job

Juin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:34am

Well i was really big and then i lost not sure why...

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

I wasn't very sure what to do, and then I exploded.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

Perfect theme fit. Unique. Sound was repetitive and mildly annoying (but so was mine so no harsh judgement placed). Had fun with it! Thanks.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:52am

I got so big I blew up. Reminds me of the first levels of Spore.

DevDad says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:14pm

I'm little bit confused by the end of the game.It's not the best reward for winning. Anyway nice concept and fun to play.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Nice sound effects and graphics, but hard to avoid big spheres.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:23pm

Pro:
+ Nice take on the theme
+ Interesting concept and level design
Con:
- Artwork seems a bit inconsistent (Bubbles were spheres and the rest looked like 2D Sprites)
Obs:
o As mentioned before, agar.io is a great reference

Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]