Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Subtle Dispute

by TheSteveIAm - Jam Entry

A gentlemanly duel of Rock Paper Scissors among wizards.

Outwit your opponent by firing a beam of the superior element!

Fire beats Grass...
Grass beats Water...
Water beats Fire...

And your Special beam beats everything!

Created in 48 hours for Ludum Dare 34 by:

Steve Chubaty @TheSteveIAm
Trevor Johnson @DogmeatDota

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#95Fun(Jam)3.78
#130Innovation(Jam)3.73
#141Graphics(Jam)4.16
#147Theme(Jam)4.11
#168Overall(Jam)3.73
#310Humor(Jam)3.03
#325Mood(Jam)3.45

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Lovely graphics, well made game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/aHYNcWsg9Wg

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Great little game! Looking forward to trying this when I have someone to play against. A little AI would have been nice for single players!

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Nice game, good player feedback. Didn't understand what the globes in the top corners did though.

KoalaBot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Very cool! It took me a minute to realize I needed a second player, but once I had that, it was fun. I love the graphics and environment layout.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Rock/Paper/Scissors, but up a notch.

Graphics are wonderful

timtipgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Excellent graphics and overall well executed! Also great use of a simple Rock-paper-scissors mechanic.

pavel_insight says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Nice variation of Rock Paper Scissors with beautiful implementation. Like!

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Really great game and awesome implementation of the rock paper scissors mechanic. Sadly i had noone to play it with.

gene-z says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Crasy game, very nice

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Nice work, the concept of counters works well.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:02pm

fun as hell, simple as that

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:10pm

I like it! Simple and funy! Intrested version of R-P-S gameplay

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Graphics and audio were really well done.

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Wow.. this game is just lovely and a really good twist on rock, paper, scissors! I like how you've managed to make a simple concept very entertaining, which is a good merit to have as a game designer.

It's fun to try to change to whatever element beats your oponents.. and it just makes it fluid to have it as a continous stream rather than in rounds! The special beam was also a nice touch.

The graphics were sweet and the music was fitting. I especially enjoyed your choice in music for the intro screen paired up with the name of the game while the actual game is about two wizards having a hectic magic battle. Makes it quite ironic.

Looking forward to see more stuff from you guys. And if you ever make a game that could use electronic or chiptune music, just send me an email to "taqvistmusic@gmail.com" and we can arrange something.

Erlend Aakre says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Really nice game, simple but well executed!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:20am

Very creative with the theme :) I like the concept of using the lack of a button being pressed as another input method!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50am

Played this again, this time with a competitive friend, had a blast, just lovely, will probably actually pull this one out at parties to play again...

Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Really nice graphics..
And the concept really reminds me of the duel in the dresden chronicels :) (well ok, no lasers were used there, but an object was pushed between the guys ^^)

OnionBlaze says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Fun, simple game! Enjoyed this quite a lot. I like the visuals also. :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

Great work! The animations were excellent, and the tug-of-war elements were a nice fit for a RPS-like ;)

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:46pm

I enjoy this game. It's obviously mostly enjoyable when playing with someone else, but the effects look great, the sounds are pretty good and the gameplay is simple and fun. It's like reaction-speed-based rock paper scissors!

Alphish says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:33am

Nicely done. The audiovisuals are really cool, and I like the general mood of gentlemanly wizard battle, with all that "Subtle Dispute" and such. Too bad I didn't have someone else to play the game with. ^^"

Justin Mullin says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:10am

Dang, this is really cool! I wasn't sure what to expect from the screens and description, but it's clever and really polished. Nice job! Using one of the elements when nothing is held is a great touch to bring it to two buttons.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]