Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Raining Stars

by orion_black - Jam Entry

Raining Stars is an shmup were you try to collect stars(collecting 3 pairs of the same color gives you an upgrade) while dodging the bullets from the xhaa.

You can only move horizontally, with left and right(clearly I picked "Two button controls"). The main idea that I tried to explore was using the stars as a mean to provide an incentive for riskier playing and, at the same time, a way to juggle your "resources"(hp, firepower and time). In its current incarnation it doesn't quite work, but I still think there's some merit to the idea.

I only had time for one enemy that works as a boss, I couldn't finish its art :(. That is probably at the core of why the game doesn't work as expected, I believe a couple of popcorn-ish enemies will give some space for the resource-juggling to take place. Comments on all the speculated above are welcomed. Have fun!!


--------------------
Controls
--------------------
Left arrow - Move Left(normal speed)
Right arrow - Move Right(normal speed)
Z/Opposing arrow - Slow Speed(see first hotfix)

--------------------
Hotfixes
--------------------
-In the spirit of "Two button controls", originally you could only move LEFT/RIGHT at a not-so-slow speed. If while moving you also press the opposing direction you then move at roughly half your speed(useful when you want to avoid a bullet, while catching a star and avoiding a different one). In general I like this kind of "contextualizations" where the same button can give you different results. I think, when done right, it can be really intuitive and elegant. Now, in this case I've been told it's a bit tricky execution-wise and I doubt many people will take the time to get use to it(I kind of did while working on the game :P), so I added an extra input(Z) to make more transparent how it works.

-Boss appears after 8 seconds instead of right away. Which gives you some preparation time, but also reduces the time you have fight it.

--------------------
Credits
--------------------

Code, design and art orion_black
Music visager

--------------------
Acknowledgments
--------------------
I used the following libraries and software to create this game:

OpenFL
HaxeFlixel
Paint.NET
SFXR

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#229Audio(Jam)3.53
#360Graphics(Jam)3.72
#418Theme(Jam)3.78
#466Overall(Jam)3.37
#593Fun(Jam)3.06
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Yword says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:18am

Really nice graphics and music! I had finished it and I like the star collecting mechanic which make the game become more challenging. Well done!

Echo Team says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:18am

I don't think mine worked entirely right... I had no music.

Kenneth Ng says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:38am

Fun game. I would recommend making it a little easier (maybe spread out all everything) just because there's so much for the player to manage (shoot bear, pick up certain colors, dodge bullets).

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:45am

I loved the graphics, music and sound effects for the game. The atmosphere which the game created was fun. I liked your risk-based game idea. I died many times because of my risky strategy!

Almax27 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Cute little game, liked the square bear and he music was pretty and fit the pacing well.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Pretty hard to progress through, but very pretty and mechanically quite solid!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Foxtacy: I really enjoyed every single aspect of it.

I did notice you used haxeflixel, i tried it a while ago, how much better has it become?

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:33pm

A bit difficult but solid game!

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:49pm

The graphics were excellent! Nice work!

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:31am

I don't think the main mechanic of collecting stars worked very well. Maybe it would be better if you just had to collect 6 or 3 power ups in a row, rather than in pairs, because if you wanted to try to get something of a certain colour you have to make sure both of the 'containers' were empty. I also found it better just to avoid bullets rather than try to collect them.

I also didn't find the slowing down time mechanic all that useful, I could move between the bullets without really using it.

Often games smooth the motion by making pressing a direction accelerate you in that direction, rather than just immediately moving at constant speed (for example, this happens in Mario games), which is actually easier to use rather than choosing between moving at a fast or slow speed, and would make the controls much simpler. Than maybe you could make pressing both buttons do something else

The game looks and sounds nice very good though!

LukeZaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:22am

Gems were difficult to work with, but once I stopped caring about getting them as much I was able to survive much more easily. Loved the music, too. There was nice variety and it was all very enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]