Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Witch of the Grove

by SimonLarsen - Jam Entry

----| Witch of the Grove |----

Living in the forest can be a tough deal! Your goal in "Witch of the Grove" is to fend off waves of natures wild critters. Luckily you have your witch powers to help you protect your garden. Plant your magical seeds to grow and harvest various beneficial fruits!

----| Gameplay |----

Defeat the enemies to progress through waves and earn the highest score possible!
The waves will get increasingly difficult.

To grow stronger, plant your seeds in the soil. Different seeds grow different fruits.

* Red: Heals some of your missing health
* Yellow: Grants you experience points - Level Up to increase maximum HP and power
* Blue: Restores Magical power, fill your bar to perform a powerful attack!

Combine 2 different seeds by planting them in the same soil to grow more advanced fruits!

To get more seeds, use your charged attack on stunned enemies before they disappear!

Enemies will try to eat your plants so watch out!

----| Controls |----

Arrow Keys - Movement
Space - Jump
S - Toggle Seeds
D - Plant Seed
F - Attack - Hold to charge your swing for more damage!
Press Up when attack is fully charged to perform a powerful magical attack (requires you magic gauge to be full)

F11/Alt+Return to toggle fullscreen.
F1-F8 changes window size in windowed mode.

----| Made by Tangram |----

Programming - Simon Jonas Larsen (@SimonLarsen)
Art - Lukas Erritsø Hansen (@Lukaserritsoe)

----| Music by stinkbug |----

Track: Citadel Bufonidae from STAFFcirc vol. 1
https://ubiktune.bandcamp.com/album/staffcirc-vol-1
(CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 license)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#24Graphics(Jam)4.65
#85Audio(Jam)3.94
#107Mood(Jam)3.86
#159Overall(Jam)3.74
#161Fun(Jam)3.65
#284Humor(Jam)3.09
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#397Innovation(Jam)3.30

Comments

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

cool game, needs something to replay at the end though, I have to close and reopen the window to play again

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04am

Wow! This is fun. Slashing wild boars and planting my crops -- nice. Overall this is super-duper polished. The artwork specifically is stunning and great music. Good stuff!

SimonLarsen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14pm

@CaptainRed_ Hitting space on the game over screen should restart the game.

Todnut says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Awesome art and sound!

Meta-link says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

A nice game !
I'm totally in love with your character, the game's graphics are so cute !

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:44pm

nice game! great graphics!

domo_demo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:44pm

sweet ! a little too tricky with the keyboard, but i'm also a bad gamer ;)

puddelipip says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44pm

unabel to open on my mac :( looks cool though!

rzuf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Gorgeous graphics and great level of polish. Controls are tricky to get used to and slashing mid-air is difficult (possibly because the games tries to charge the attack and I'm just not timing my inputs very well)
I would add some more sounds and screenshakes when hitting enemies or when being hit to make more satisfying. :3
Awesome entry!

Taldius says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Awesome game! The graphics and animations look very good, the concept is really nice and the gameplay is well balanced.
Excellent work! :D

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Wow! Really nice looking pixel arts!
It's a good game, altough I think you could put more description to your control inside the game, I started the game without reading your description, got dead because of not knowing the control.
Anyway, well done :)

SimonLarsen says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:59am

*** UPDATE ***
There was an issue with the packaging of the OS/X version.
It should be fixed now.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:47am

Amanzing!
I thing that I really disliked are the command scheme. Why SDF? Is hard to select the seed that you need only going to the right.
Other than, I loved everything on it.

Ulydev says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:15am

Amazing entry! Good job, fellow Löver! :)

Jod says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:18am

Gorgeous arcade-style feel! Loved the graphics and sounds.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Sweet game! :D liked playing it!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice game, love the visuals and audio too

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Nice game! Love the graphics. It was a bit hard with all the different things happening at the same time. Would have been nice with a short ramp-up of seeds and attacks being added and things happening. Some things, like having to have a powered attack to get a seed, seem a bit misplaced and just add more complexity. Simply put, just a bit too many controls, especially right off the bat. It's a fun game nonetheless, with a lot of depth.

teeth says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:45am

I wish it had "built up" a little more slowly, it was hard to keep track of health/plants/controls, but overall it was cool to grow your own powerups!

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:42am

Nice art. A bit hard to control but quite fun once I got used to it.

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 11:17pm

This is super charming! My main obstacle was figuring out how to get new seeds, reading the description helped with that : )

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]