Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mutant Veggie Arena

by Levi D. Smith - Compo Entry

Save the world from the mutant vegetables!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#111Humor3.42
#410Audio2.79
#477Fun3.16
#581Graphics2.92
#644Mood2.74
#653Overall3.04
#876Innovation2.33
#956Theme2.00
#1727Coolness40%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Funny game!! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Fun Short game. I like it!

peejaygee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:12am

Decent little game, although I did find it a little too responsive on the mouse, maybe my mouse settings, I dunno.

recursor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Well I finished it. Apparently I am a hero. I've never liked tomatoes in their raw form so it felt good to mash them. I like how the veggies look like they are drawn onto a transparent sheet of plastic. It reminds me somewhat of the Serious Sam series of games ... except with vegetables. Nice job

AndreSilvs says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:26am

I think the mouse input is too sensitive, even after lowering the DPI. It's a fun game and it does remind me of Serious Sam as well, with the hardcore shooting tons of enemies.

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Simple and fun.
I found mouse really sensitive but I'm not much of a fps player.

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:33am

1/5 because tomatoes are fruit, not veggies (only joking). Actually really fun. Barely completed it so very well balanced too.

aplomb says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:57am

This is pretty much my nightmare. Nice work!

eric777 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:34am

I defeated all of the mutant veggies!!! Does that mean I don't have to eat veggies anymore?

The enemy art was nice. Carrots / Corn were really well drawn. Difficulty scaled nicely.

Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:54am

OOH! Hands down one of the most entertaining entries I've played this Jam. I just wish you could've held down the button to shoot. Better than The Witcher 3.

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:19am

Terrifying! The mouse was very sensitive, but I was able to make it through a couple levels.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:23am

Mouse was too sensitive. A little more obvious but the edges around the enemies, and some sort of layer depth issue. I noticed some enemy looked visibly inside the arena but the arena wall appeared in front of them. I enjoyed the variety of enemies.

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:26am

Haha not having faith that I would restart at the same level on death rather than be sent back to the start, and noticing the modest trickle of life regen, I perverted the term "food clock" by milking the final tomato for a whole bunch of regen by just dodging its shots forever while I healed.

Fortunately you made the right call on the restart going to start of level. Still... I only needed one in order to beat them all!

I had fun but I felt pretty disoriented. Especially in the first three seconds while I was getting used to the high sensitivity level and carrots were already up on me. I can't exactly put my finger on quite what disoriented me, but taking the shots especially at the tomatoes I never really got a great feel for it. It could just be that the game was so fast-paced and in my face that my brain had no time to experiment, test, and observe. It was more like RUNRUNSHOOTSHOOTRUN!!!

Still, I had fun and the challenge level was appropriate, which I know is tough to get right in a compo.

Nice job mixing D2 and 3D, also. I liked that approach although did I see corn clipping through the fence in a weird way?

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:36am

Actually beat it. A bit spastic but overall I think it does pretty well at keeping you entertained and looks like some effort was put into the various categories. It does not fit either of the themes very well though.

ambi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:49pm

It's a fun little shooter. I don't see how you used the theme though.

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Neat arcade-style FPS, although I found it pretty tough for my skills. The Doom references and art style were nice touches.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]