Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chaintanks

by ProjectX593 - Compo Entry

Destroy enemy Chaintanks and collect their scrap to build the largest Chaintank possible while under constant attack.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Mouse - Aim
Left Mouse - Fire all guns

Collecting scrap will either add a new segment to your Chaintank, or upgrade and existing one, increasing it's health and rate of fire, as well as healing it.

Losing a segment will cause all segments after it to be left behind, this applies to enemies too!

You CAN shoot yourself, so be careful not to shoot directly forwards or backwards, or get yourself tangled up!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#5Fun4.30
#60Innovation3.98
#90Overall3.85
#218Theme4.03
#319Humor2.73
#386Graphics3.28
#410Audio2.79

Comments

M2tM says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:29am

This is a blast! :B

rylgh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

really fun and satisfying!
if you add a post-compo version, i'd say the first tank in a chain should be coloured a bit differently. local multiplayer would be interesting.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Great game! I like the mixture of genres.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

I opened up internet explorer (because chrome is apparently not supported) and was bombarded with questions about setting it as my default browser, changing my default search engine to bing, and when i finally (after many decades) loaded up this game, it said i needed to download a plugin and I can't be bothered. waiting for the download now

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:55am

I Love this game, Amazing!

barret907k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59am

Fun. Gets pretty hard once your train goes off the screen and when you try to turn really fast.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:01am

I played until my frames dropped to less than one and then... this game is just so good.
Movement gets a little strange if you try and make a U-turn
is nice as it is that your cars collide, the game might run smoother if adjacent parts of the train didn't collide

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:22am

Super original concept mixed with very fun action! The fact that you can kill your own units is genius and makes the game very fun and challenging. Great job!

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

That was great fun!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:38am

@ORECROS - Thanks! I wish I'd had more time to optimize it, the code is basically just a giant pile of hacks interspersed with comments like //This is a hack but screw it

Not sure if I'd want to remove the self collision though, trying not to tangle yourself up is part of the challenge!

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

This is crazy fun! My biggest chain was 217 vehicles. It was a madhouse out there. A madhouse!

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04am

really addictive just trying to get the biggest possible tank chain.

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

Super fun entry. This game has a negative difficulty curve, however the level of fun multiplies over time (as does the amount of headphone and ear destruction). Art is awesome. 5/5 fun.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:29am

Hehehe!! Loved it! It was so much fun just destroying the other tanks...
Wonder how you did the AI...
I never got lost in the game surprisingly..
Nice work!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37am

@scriptorum 217? Holy crap I should have made it harder :x
@mukult - The AI is really simple actually, it decides to go either left or right, then tries to orbit the player at a random distance by moving along a vector to the player rotated between 0 and 180 degrees (90 degrees at it's chosen orbit distance, 0 if more than 2x away, 180 when on top of him). I got the idea from how orbits work in EVE Online.

ShadedVertex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:38am

It's really, really addicting. I love it. You deserve a near perfect score!

mlepage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59am

Clear instructions. I found it tricky to control though, maybe I want just steer left/right instead of four directions, due to the turning radius. Maybe that should be an option.

I found it fun to play. I kept wanting to go back and get scrap, missing, and wanting to take another pass even though there were lots of bullets flying. That was probably my downfall.

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01am

What a slaughterhouse :). Great job!

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03am

Very well executed. I really enjoyed it.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:27am

This was ridiculous in the best way! Great concept! It feels like Mad Max meets pirate ships when you fire huge broadsides driving past other trains.

Finestep says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:41am

159 vehicles was enough to bring the game to sub-1-fps

dvdking says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:27am

Awesome! This reminds me of my game for LD30.
I like how the game becomes giant clusterfuck.
Graphics and sounds are pretty good. Gameplay is a lot fun, but kind of pointless, because the only target is to grow the bigger chain.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:40am

Great game. The fact you could shoot yourself and it became easier to do so the bigger you got was good fun. I managed to get ridiculously big once I got used to it, then wrapped up my enemy like a swiss roll and shot inwards :D

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08am

Hey dude, nice game. The mechanics were a little confusing for me though! I would have built the game from the movement alone! Anyway, well done.

Cyranh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

Wow. This game is just so much fun! I had 67 Tanks at once!

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Possibly the most fun entry I've seen so far. It's like snake, but with tanks! What an absolute masterpiece.

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

This game shows so much variety with a few discrete sprites! Well done!

TheSteveIAm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Great little game! Love the concept, plays great, chains act exactly as I expected them to when they broke off.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:21pm

Fuckin' A+

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

OMG i loved this game so addictive lol was gutted when i died :) graphics seemed fine for the style game and audio didnt seem annoying so all good in my opinions

Well Done!!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Just awesome. A post-compo with 8x8 online teams or something would be amazing. I know that would be hard though.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:34pm

Nice game! Very fun to play and good use of the theme.

Two suggestions:
- Friendly fire.
- Instead of upgrading on every carcass, upgrade at 3 or 4 so the game have an ending. It is too easy. :)

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27pm

A weapon to surpass Metal Gear... Addictive and satisfying gameplay!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:06am

It is addictive! Would love to see this one multiplayer!

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:52pm

This is a really fun shooter! Kind of a heavily armed take on Snake. I like how well it scales up and gets really intense.

I got upset when my tank boys got cut off from the chain. Apparently it was 28 at its longest.

Nice job. :)

Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:26am

The game is really fun, but I didn't like the movement controls on a diagonal axis. I couldn't get used to the controls. Otherwise a really great entry!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You have been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i9hEAf60v38

Diventurer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:50pm

Very nice game. It's innovative and fun to play!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:08pm

@ButtonMasherBros - That's awesome, thanks guys!

MicroMacro says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:18am

Fantastic!

SteveSalmond says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:36am

Awesome game! Super addictive too, I played way longer than I should have.. :)

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Probably one of the best games from this Ludum Dare.
Amazing!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:06am

Not really enough in the way of defensive options and I kind of expect tank controls (because, y'know xD) but it's pretty fun. I like the sounds and the shooting is pretty polished. Would be cool as multiplayer, especially something like 32-player online battles! Although that might be overkill for its size.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Ha Ha ! Simple and very funny ! Well done !

Baecun says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:14am

Overall a really cool concept, and with some work I could definitely see this as something which would be worth selling.

Things I would suggest improving:

- When using a 1366 x 768 resolution the shots weren't really going where I wanted them, there was a big offset, so I'd suggest fixing that.
- Custom Mouse pointer: Since the background is so bright, I found myself loosing track of my mouse pointer, add that with the previous point and the gameplay experience gets quite frustrating, even when the game is very good.

Don't take the above comments as too harsh, I actually loved this game. Well done!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:10pm

@Baecun - Thanks for the feedback! I don't plan to sell the game, but I am going to fix some of the problems and release it on Newgrounds. I wrote a postmortem on it if you want to know more:
http://projectx593.com/blog/2015/12/20/ludum-dare-postmortem-chaintanks/

Baecun says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:44pm

The postmortem was really well written, and I'm really happy to know you're releasing it on Newgrounds. One of the things that pushed me so much towards game development was a flash game that I used to play a lot when I was younger, and I'm certain your game can have that impact on someone else too. Keep up the good work man! :)

Docjekyll says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Great use of theme. I had a blast playing this.
Some sort of escalation or emergent complexity could make it even more interesting.
Good work!

FireTwin says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:29pm

So simple, yet so fun and well implemented. The perfect kind of game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]