Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vice Grip

by wulfdesign - Jam Entry

"Grow psychologically by recognizing and overcoming personal flaws. Defeat Gluttony to loosen vice’s grip on your troubled soul. A disturbing journey through the bowels of your mind."

Controls:
[W/A/S/D] - Move / Jump
[E] Throw Food

to use with
Ludum Dare iframe embeded Web Player play...
Right Click on and select full screen after untiy loads to not get dumped out full screen iframe

Regular web player link works fine.
Note: PC & iOS build links not tested yet.

Team Virtue Credits
Original Art, Music, Game Design, & Code in 72hrs
(well MOSTLY all original code)

Clinton Reddie
Game Concept/ Project Lead - Unity Coding - Level Design
http://www.clintonreddie.com

Matthew Griebner
Pixel Art - Tileset - Character - Boss - Animation
http://theancientstory.weebly.com

Larry James
Wulf Design Studios
General lackey - Level consultant & prototyping - Tiled2Unity Workflow
http://www.facebook.com/WulfDesignStudios

Keenoy Art
Concept Art - Background Art - Character Concept - Boss Concept - Art Assets
http://www.keenoy.org

Paul Beaudry
Original Music composition / Soundtrack / Environmental Sound
http://www.autoaudiomedia.com

v1 - original submission before jam deadline
v2 - opening screen, bug fixes, credits, control screens added - along with final boss death animation not playing bug fixed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

ehgoodenough says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53am

Even has a boss!! Nice!!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42am

Interesting premise. I like collecting the things to use against the boss.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01am

Funny little game. Good sounds and music. Additional star for the boss :)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:19am

Nice entry!
I enjoyed playing through the game. The graphics were nice, and the levels were interesting. It was nice that there was a story as well as a boss. The background music was pleasant as well, and created a nice mood.

My minor critiques would be that the moving platform behavior seemed to be a little buggy at times. I fell through a moving platform a couple of times. Also, a little more player feedback on what damages the player might be nice. I ran across the green tiles which damage you a lot on my first attempt because I didn't realize that the tiles deal damage to the player.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Interesting theme. The jumping and running mechanics felt good, although I also fell through some moving platforms and felt that getting damaged could do with a bit more feedback.

Creddie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Thanks for the helpful suggestions. A new build is forthcoming.

Dry Tree says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Nice game. It took a while to figure out that I was supposed to throw food during the boss fight - I guess that's where the 'growing' comes in. After the boss it just went to a black screen with music playing; but it doesn't seem like that's supposed to happen.

spotco says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Music went really nicely with the game, only simple tip: add arrow keys in addition to wasd keys. I'm always reluctant to play 2d platformer in wasd so it would be super helpful to have arrows too for better user experience (and it's really easy to add).
the level was pretty well designed and the platformer was fun (not too challenging, just right). Was unclear what the collection of food was for in the beginning.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]