Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Dog Gone Big!

by HulkHandsome - Jam Entry

Dog Gone Big is about a dog that keeps growing! He's a polite dog, though, and doesn't want to bump into anyone. If you bump into any people, the game is over!

Run to pause your growth, bark to make people turn the other way, and eat hot dogs to shrink back down!

How many hot dogs you eat is also the score.

Outside of the game is a tale of two friends who grow up together, and then grow apart.

Arrow keys to move
X to bark
Z and an arrow key to run

Music by the legendary AIRVOSS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#164Humor(Jam)3.42
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#434Fun(Jam)3.24
#602Mood(Jam)3.11
#632Overall(Jam)3.20
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#656Theme(Jam)3.54

Comments

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Great game. Music is good, game is simple but fun, and I love how there was a change up in the game to keep it fresh. Love the mini story you put in as well.

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:08am

Fun game, good music

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:11am

weirdly interesting game

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:12am

At first I honestly thought you were putting in a tutorial in the form of a basic story and that was it but the fact that you came back and continued it! That was awesome! loved the music and the fact that you tied the controls into the story a bit! Everything about this was great!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16am

Really fun! The lobby music has a really laid back feel. I could just leave it on while I code. I like how the levels are broken up by a little story. Good show!

VideoDog says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:31am

Didn't expect that narrative. Pretty good!

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56am

I can see so many pixels lol... Honestly it was so low resolution it was a little distracting. I am not going to lie: I skipped all the text. But I did actually play the game. It was aight.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57am

Fun one, I liked it, it was fun! And it's always cool to have dialogues in a game :)

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57am

You should make a mobile game out of it. :D

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15am

40! I've never really seen a story put in a game like that. It was quite enjoyable I loved the pixel art. A nicely polished game

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56am

The machine evolving as you played was a cool addition.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56am

There are a couple of things that I loved about this game. First, the music is just plain awesome!! Then the actual story with the personages.. So tricky to get right in 2-3 days but I loved what you guys did with the kids who grow up, the arcade getting old, etc. there's some sort of very familiar warm feeling about playing those old games :) The game with the dog in itself felt like it was a bit too simple and repetitive. Other than that, I just loved this. Thanks!

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Fun game, I liked it but i miss some tutorial ingame or something

Roffe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:37pm

the cinematics were great! Overall a fun game.

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Really good music and fun gameplay.
Nice entry :)

Multiplexor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Really well done! The game itself is nice but what really hooked me was the story! I liked the character development! Keep up the good work! :)

Ithildin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40am

Very good game, mechanics are simple but work well, and it fits both themes in interesting ways. Good job!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:42am

Funny entry. I like the fact that you put a story in your game, but I had to feeling that my character kept growing even if I ate hot dogs (despite it's written I'm suppose to shrink if i eat one). Anyway, good job ;)

HulkHandsome says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:56am

@crucknuk

The hotdogs do shrink the player, but only a little! The best strategy for the first level is to run as much as possible while eating hotdogs to keep yourself the smallest size for as long as you can.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:35am

Hehe, it's a fun game. Not something you play for long, but it is certainly a decent entry.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:36am

The wee cut scene bits were cool. The dog's bark made me lol

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Fun game! The storyline is good!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Good game, loved the story. Technically 6 buttons, but i liked how the story removed the buttons!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:09am

Getting an error, unfortunately. Here's the error, if it helps: http://d.pr/i/14Geg

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:08am

Thanks for giant dog and for Purple Flag joke :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

This was a solid entry. I loved the "story-mode" to the game and I liked how each time you played it was a little bit different. Great work!

pzeronow says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Whoever made this is a fucking genius. On a side note, it'd be better if the control movement were a bit more responsive but I also understand it might be a question of style. Good job!

KanedaXIII says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:09am

Fun game-play and interesting balancing of game mechanics. Has cool pixel-art too, and fits great in both themes. I find it awesome it has several stages with increasing difficulty and with a back history ;D

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:27am

That was a wonderful game! The story was really sweet and great way to attach both the gameplay mechanic and story that framed it all to the theme. The sound effects were also super cute! Was the sound of the dog eating the hotdog you saying 'game jam'? Loved it :)

nodens says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 2:32am

Really enjoyed the narrative you used to build a world around your game. The sound is pretty great as well.

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Interesting game, Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]