Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Patches Of Adventure

by xhunterko - Jam Entry

The mayor has declared it's the start of the harvest season festival! To kick it off, he's begun a seed collecting competition! You know just where to find 4 unique seeds that'll win you the contest! Armed with only your knowledge and shovel, you strike out early in the day to begin your quest! Cause you know the more seeds you get, the more powerful you'll become!

Onward!

-Collect seeds to become more powerful!
-Watch out for the enchanted forest!
-Scale the mountain for a coveted seed!
-Beware the witch and the tricks up her sleeve!
-Explore every corner for all the seeds!

Controls: Arrow keys/ WASD keys to move. Left click to shoot when you get it.

To get the game, from the url, click the green Download button under the Download Demo header. It is not a demo and the actual ludum dare entry. Once I figure out some other different acquisition method I'll use that, but for now this is what I can do. Thanks for your patience and ENJOY the game!

Tip: There is a really easy seed to get close to the starting area.
Tip 2: You can totally skip the forest!
Tip 3: Seed 1: ...>...>...V...?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1016Overall(Jam)2.65
#1072Theme(Jam)2.30
#1679Coolness41%

Comments

aeveis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02am

Like the gameboy palette, but first seed was very hard to find, maybe if it was more visually distinct. The forest was a bit hard because there's a bit of sliding after I move, so I had to aim carefully so I wouldn't hit that teleport spot. I couldn't get past the witch (kept teleporting even after I thought I dodged it), but I was able to climb the mountain and win!

mockthebear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:22pm

I couldnt find any seed. The camera was mooving oddly, most of times i could even see the player =s

redmassacre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:39pm

nice graphics)
very hard to find seeds)

Echo Team says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:54pm

It seems I can only destroy certain sacks?

xhunterko says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:59pm

@Echo Team That should only be dependent on the number of seeds you collected. Pots can be destroyed with 1 seed. Rocks can be destroyed with 2. The rock that traps you in the forest can't be destroyed. Sorry for the confusion.

@mockthebear The seeds are the dark green ovals. There's one in the fence corner of the farm.

Thanks y'all so far for playing!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:34pm

The seeds are really hard to find! Unfortunately, I could not advance farther because I did not understand what to do next to finding the seeds. Also the seeds seemed to do nothing when shooting pots with.

But I did enjoy your game anyway. Nice pixel art.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:02am

Unfortunately, cannot see any seeds either.
Also she's running very quickly at short distances.
And finally, you can see my game link (view page source) for a tip how to embed you SWF in a HTML page.
Cheers!

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:18am

Link doesn't seem to point where it should?

xhunterko says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:59pm

@Geti I've since given the game it's own Itchio page: http://xhunterko.itch.io/patches-of-adventure to help find it easier. Hope it helps!

Hybrog says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:22pm

"Digging" the retro style of the graphics and the general aesthetic, but it's pretty difficult to find the seeds. I got the first one, but lost from there. If sacks only require one seed to destroy, the collision between seed and sack seems to be a bit off, I have to fire dozens of seeds before one registers. Other than that, no major flaws, solid game, at least from the start to the forest, which was as far as I got. :)

broknecho says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:05am

Nice art style. It's a good start but the camera and sliding of the character definitely needs a little tweaking. The camera was sometimes not following me anymore. Keep working at it! It's coming along!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:45pm

I didn't quite get it I'm afraid. I loved the gameboy palette as I'm a sucker for that sort of stuff.

I felt I moved way too fast, and sometimes I couldn't shoot, or got stuck in walls. Plus those "pots/barrels" would sometimes get destroyed and sometimes they wouldn't.

There is a lot of potential here I feel, it just the controls and lack of direction seem to hinder it. I would love it see how it could get developed, it's a good start :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]