Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Frolf

by OnlySlightly - Jam Entry

Controls are P and W. Get your two pucks in their corresponding holes.
Enjoy!

My name is Matt. I made this with special help from @ktp4life and @PurrodyGames with 3dsMax and Blender, and @JeffOverTime and @MeisterCreation with Unity tips.

Thank you all so much for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#229Humor(Jam)3.25
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#336Innovation(Jam)3.38
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#471Mood(Jam)3.27
#607Graphics(Jam)3.27
#681Theme(Jam)3.50

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

Need the data folder guys! Repackage as a zip. I wanna frolf!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18am

Woo I got to frolf! Friend and I played all the way through. It was really enjoyable. It devolved into the two of us trying to slam into each other :D Need to play it in 16:9 in order for everything to show. Great game.

Eldraev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:28am

Its a cute idea and I like how the looks and the music create a cute and relaxed atmosphere. Great multitasking training. Also offers itself for multiplayer if you want to race for the hole.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:38am

Cool game! Liked the idea, tomorrow gonna play with a friend! Nice graphics and music! Well done.

Saranyaan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:39am

This has really cute soundeffects and music! I kept trying to get a perfect score. It's really fun ^-^

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:51am

Great play! I feel like this would be really fun with someone else next to you and played as a local competitive-type game. The level design was cute and fun (oh god is that a giant turkey!?) and the squishy, squeaky charging was a lot of fun. Great job!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:56am

Got a perfect score! Funny game

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50am

This is fun. I played it alone, for three times!! I could image how interesting it would be to play with friends.
Nice work!!
Btw, in level 1, when I shoot red to red hole, blue to blue hole, it doesn't complete the level, so I shoot the red to blue hole and blue to red hole. And pass the level. Don't know this is what it means to be, cuz in level 2 and 3, color should matched.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:54am

nice and short but functional game :) I quite enjoyed it and can see it being quite fun if more polished. for instance often I was unable to see the pucks behind object and being able to move the camera would be nice... but it was still a nice game :) good job.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:02am

I really liked the game! The 3d models and the levels, I shot game but very fun one!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:27am

Fun controls and satisfying squeaky sound fx.

I think this would have been a really fun multiplayer game, but the levels aren't balanced for both buttons, so its awkwardly one player instead. Also, I wish there were more levels! I bet it would have been fun if there were some ramps to hop off of, and maybe some pinball bumpers!

Seriously, the controls are fun. This would be a great casual multiplayer game if you expanded upon the idea a polished it up. It's already fun, it just needs more content.

flukeshot says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:47am

Very clever use of the controls, could easily go even more than 2P.

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:50am

Haha, very nice. The audio is just great. So care free!

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:44am

A nice simple game. Good use of the two button controls restriction. Would like to see more levels.

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:28am

the game is pretty nice and the idea is great but the fact that there's no limit to how powerful you can shoot it means you can break the game easily.

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:47am

Really awesome game! I loved the audio, especially the squeaky sound when shooting the puck. The graphics really fit the feel of the game, and I loved the food in the background. Amazing work all around!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Ran into some strange bug where sometimes the pucks would disappear as you charge them but this was a pretty fun entry to play and I actually found it rather amusing that the pucks made squeaky noises when you throw them.

eric777 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Fastastic game! Great use of physics and great concept. Sound effects were really good, and the music made me happy! The dialogs and instructs were laid out well too - looked really pro.

I thought of a suggestion while playing. I really like the music so much that I found myself wanting it to continue across levels rather than restart, since the levels were short (a good thing!)

And apart from that, I really enjoy your stream. You and your posse have super strong "good people" vibe - can't put that strongly enough. I look forward to your future LD entries!

Levi D. Smith says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:44am

Nice new spin on the classic golf game! I actually made a hole in one on the third stage!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]