Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rude Bear Recreation

by Alex Rose - Jam Entry

Drugs are bad.

Rude Bear Recreation is the 11th game in the Rude Bear Jam series (which you can find most of here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/author/alexrose/ (And also there's Super Rude Bear Resurrection coming out on PS4 soonish). It uses both themes.

Rude Bear Recreation was made in 72 hours at Insomnia56 Gaming Festival (sitting next to the booth where I was exhibiting SRBR without internet and jamming on my girlfriend's laptop). So don't expect the same quality as other Rude Bear games, lol. 90% of the art was implemented on Day 3.

==Overview==
Rude Bear's friend Rad Boar has a giant Growth on his face. Luckily, their mortal nemesis The Wizard is stoned, and helps out, by Growing Rad Boar's Growth.

Rude Bear has to grow medical marijuana inside the growth to chill it out and win, avoiding viruses and Rad Blood Cells.

==How to Play==
- Press and hold space once to fly up. The longer you fly, the higher you go.
- Press a second time in midair to fly directly right, this is how you move forwards.
- Press one third time in midair to crash back down, to make timing your landings easier.

Rinse and repeat. Hold ^, Hold >, Hold v .

Plant lots of weed to win.

==Controls (Two Buttons)==
Space = Do everything
R = Jump to level, restart timer etc. for speedrunning


==Credits==
- Game Design, Code, Dialogue - Alex Rose @AlexRoseGames
- Cutscene Art - Kitt Diamond, @KittDiamond
- Gameplay Art - Simon Wong, @SimonWongArt
- Music & SFX - John Pennington, @Atmospherium


=====

Need to upload another version when I'm at home and have my Unity Pro key, atm I'm on my girlfriend's laptop.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Fun(Jam)4.26
#42Audio(Jam)4.11
#52Overall(Jam)4.00
#62Innovation(Jam)3.92
#89Humor(Jam)3.74
#141Graphics(Jam)4.16
#170Mood(Jam)3.69
#659Theme(Jam)3.53
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

adamk33n3r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:01am

Well.....that was something :P

Cool mechanics. Questionable theme. Awesome music from the renowned Atmospherium

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

it's fun but the topic is questionable

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26pm

The three-stage movement mechanic is great. It takes a bit of getting used to, but once you do, the dash and stomp feel awesome. The obstacles are nasty, while also being completely fair.

I got a time of 9:12, since I had some framerate stutters in the web build because of my terrible computer. If you get a downloadable Mac build running at some point, I'd definitely give it another go.

sichevoid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Lol, this is totally lit))

VrachLab says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Great Work

Claw says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18pm

loved it.
controls were crazy but really fun - though could have gone with two buttons for the theme + might have felt better if slamming down was a separate button

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04pm

Nice work! The respawn system is really good, something difficult to plan in a ludum dare! Great job team!

Ditto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02pm

I feel like weed jokes are very hit and miss, for some reason they don't amuse me :c

Anyways, reaaaaaally fucking welldesigned game here, holy shit. Respawn points are plenty but still placed just far apart to make it challenging, nice variety of obstacles and shit, I really liked the game a lot dude, good job! :D
Only thing I have to complain about is the lack of .. feedback? Like .. teleporting the sprite on death with no effects or anything feels like a bit of an insult to the amazing art you've got there.. :|

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

rofl, fair enough everyone on the weed thing, just wanted to do something really dumb for once and have a narrative, but one that contained the word "growth" as many times as possible.

And I feel bad about the art too but we didn't get a death animation etc, the character art was implemented during submission hour - very backloaded jam as I was exhibiting on Saturday/Sunday.

@Claw: Yeah, I agree, I really wanted to add leaderboards but couldn't get them in in time, so it was important to me to leave the second button "R" for resetting the speedrun. Alas.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

That was fun

blackname says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I narrowly close it before the real game starts XD
It was really fun, I like the challenge.

dvdking says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:13pm

awesome controls! really fun to use once you get hang of them. Finished the game wanting more levels to beat. The mechanic is just so awesome.

RevelBase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Trippy cool:)

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

This is a really fun game to play! The theme "growing" has definitely taken on a new meaning here, but it was still fun, and it controlled well! Bravo!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:01am

Hilarious game. Love the graphics, humor and sounds!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58pm

haha that naaasty sound! some cool platformer stuff you got there. Really liked that there are plenty of respawn points like ditto mentioned. And the mechanic works pretty good!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Wow. Played all the way to the end. 5/5 on all categories, probably my favourite LDJAM of yours so far!

hexagore says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:37am

You keep making these games with this Rude Bear character even though he's completely horrible. I don't get it. Sorry :P

Game itself was mostly fun - I thought the way you explained the mechanic and made sure people understood it was a very nice touch.

Music was outstanding.

Art felt a bit too much like a weird mash up of random garish assets, but I definitely appreciate that they're pretty unique and, yeah, there's a distinctive style there even if it's a style that's a bit of a turn-off if you're not a weed smoking teenager. :P

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:16pm

That was difficult, but the check points were in great places. Nice and silly.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:37pm

That game was freaking sweet. Though tbh it's a bit of a stretch on the two button controls or growth. 10/10 fun game though, I'd love more levels to play!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I dunno what to say man, every time I do Ludum Dare I base my game around the theme and people always say my interpretations are too vague, so this time I used both themes, took a genre of game that typically uses 3 buttons minimum and made it 1 button then added the speedrunning button, for growth I literally made the game about growing plants inside a growth that got grown.

Everything in the game from the entire ground up was entirely based on the themes, nothing in the game whatsoever from the gameplay to the art style to the sound effects (which were sampled with a bong), to the music, to the topic would've ever existed without them.

Honestly, I find it incredibly frustrating, there's 3 interpretations of "growth" in the setting and the entire game is two button controls, I don't get how a game that is 100% based entirely on the themes is a "stretch". I'm not saying it's a great interpretation or that it's a creative or innovative use of the theme, but I think it's totally unfair to call it a stretch when the entire development was based around the theme at every point.

VDZ says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:19pm

It's a fun if simple and short platformer. I feel you made good use of the movement gimmick, though it was all a bit by-the-book; the level design was solid, but never surprising.

The graphical style and the effects were great, as were the graphics that are in the game. However, the visuals did feel a bit lacking; every part of the level looked pretty much the same and the background was mostly just a solid color, which was a bit boring. As others have mentioned, lack of graphical feedback isn't too much of an issue but is a bit disappointing. Audio was pretty good.

I also agree the link to the theme is a bit weak (I'll respond to your post after this), though it is clearly there. I also agree having a different button for dropping would probably play better, it feels far too counter-intuitive as it is now.

All in all, it's a solid game, it just never really goes beyond just being a solid game.

VDZ says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:49pm

@Alex Rose
The problem here is that you adapted what you were making to the theme, rather than having the theme dictate what you will be making.

Rude Bear Recreation is a platformer in which you can only move by jumping and airdashing forward. What you do in the game is moving forward while avoiding obstacles. This gameplay is not in any way related to growth or two-button controls by itself.

Through a narrative about a growth and marijuana you have linked it to the 'growth' theme, and by changing the controls from the usual 'jump button, air dash button/combo, drop button' to a single button for all you have turned it into a one-button game. If the theme had been 'one button controls' this would have been a boring but adequate interpretation, but it could hardly be called a great interpretation unless it actually changed something about the gameplay. You called the non-gameplay-related 'R' button the second button, but you can't really call that the second control button. (In my game, the two buttons are left arrow and right arrow. You can also press Space, F and Escape to pause the game, go into fullscreen or quit the game, but those are just convenience functions that don't affect the gameplay. I could remove them for 'not fitting the theme' but I doubt anyone would be happier if I did.) As such, I would say this game doesn't even qualify for 'Two Button Controls'; I based my Theme rating for this game solely on the interpretation of 'Growth'.

For me to give a game a higher Theme rating than 3, the theme needs to strongly affect either the gameplay or the experience. An example of the former would be LD32's 'TeleMage' (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=19774). Having teleportation as your only weapon radically changes the gameplay from what it would otherwise be (shooting fireballs to kill enemies or engaging them in melee); every aspect of your playstyle has to change to account for this change. An example of the latter is LD33's 'I am Death and Fire' (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-33/?action=preview&uid=55643). The general atmosphere, flying around in the night sky and burning panicking civilians to a crisp, makes you truly feel like you are the monster. (Side note: I rated Rude Bear Realms a 5 in Theme for this reason as well; sending out minions to raid towns made me feel like a typical evil villain.)

Although Rude Bear Recreation clearly abides by the theme on a superficial level, it does not feel like either the gameplay nor the experience is notably affected by it. As such, I gave it a theme score of 3; 'theme clearly present, but not affecting much'. (For reference, I give 1 if theme is not present, 2 if the interpretation is too obvious and it doesn't affect gameplay or experience, 3 if present in a non-boring way but it does not affect gameplay or experience; OR it does affect gameplay or experience but in a too obvious way, 4 if it does affect gameplay or experience in an interesting way, and 5 if it truly feels fitting. I don't give too many 5s; last LD I gave it to 3/18 games, LD32 1/17 games, LD31 2/17 games.)

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Oh yeah - I definitely don't think theme's worth more than a 3. But I feel like "a stretch" implies like a 1 or a 2, and I think that would be unfair.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Nothing to say, just... Played it and it's really fun and challenging ! Well done !

Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:33pm

Excellent and innovative control system. It got pretty hard (you could have called this "I Wanna Be the Bear"), but you were generous enough with checkpoints that it didn't feel frustrating. Funny storyline, and good music, even if it ended up a bit grating.

The graphics in the intro are kind of annoying, but I realise this is a stylistic choice.

In short, an excellently innovative platformer/frustration game. Hope you score high. (High... geddit...)

Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:16am

Nice work! Great art and music, overall excellent presentation. Level design was good though I found the primary mechanic to be frustrating, landing precise jumps without air control. Still I pressed through and beat it after many save points. I think it would have been interesting to see a better use of the 2nd button.

Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:10am

Man, this was one of the best games I've played this jam, simple mechanics, speed-running, that soundtrack, man that was so good. All ran really smooth as well. Top marks overall :)

Xanjos says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Completed the course in about 8 minutes. Loved the simple to learn but hard to master control mechanics and the obstacles were pretty challenging but not frustratingly impossible.

01010111 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:48am

Ah man I really thought looking at the screenshots and looking at the controls that the game would be simple and frustrating, but it's really got more depth than I figured, and the controls feel really good! Awesome work :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]