Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snowball University

by CrownCity - Compo Entry

Hi there! Wellcome at Snowball University.
Enjoy your college!

Controls are 'D' and 'K'

Sidenote: For some this game is quite easy and for some it isn't. Those who have hard time, pay attention to this ! mark above their heads. The rest you can figure out yourself :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Audio3.88
#59Mood3.86
#61Graphics4.17
#138Humor3.27
#157Overall3.70
#173Theme4.08
#234Fun3.50
#465Innovation3.18
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Blagino says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:49am

I justed aced all the test in Snowball university ;)
So you can pretty much call me a pro now. Awesome game, cute and fun!

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

If there was a cuteness rating this would be 6/5. So cute. Also I am a snow master.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Really funny game! And the art is so cool

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

This has some really good music and graphics. You did an excellent job with this!

TsFreddie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Simple, fun and snowy. I love it.

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Awesome atmosphere. Couldn't get a hang of the controls though. Felt weird.
Also, quit on one of the default buttons makes me accidentally quit twice. Escape to quit is good enough.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:10am

Loved the soundtrack! Really cute aesthetic and clever use of two button control. Short and very sweet.

csanyk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46am

It looked cute, but I couldn't quite get the hang of lesson 2:( Felt like the hit detection was off, or I just didn't know what to do. Sometimes I'd roll the ball back, and sometimes it'd miss for no apparent reason.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Such a lovely game.

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Audio is supernice! Especially like the snowman voice :) The game itself is great, fun, nice intepretation of the theme(s) and neatly presented. Would've liked to see more combinations and I feel like I'm looking too much at the snowball-bar. Otherwise good job ^^

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

I have no friends to play with me, but I still have fun. I like it.

Kimau says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:24pm

That is really cute and fun. I quit a few times accidentally. Really fabulous!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

I love it! It's fun, the graphics are nice, you can play it with two people and it's got a good soundtrack - what more can you wish for!? Keep up the good work - I look forward to playing more of your games!

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

beautiful game, both the sounds, music, the animations and the choose theme. pretty nice game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Super cute! Hard to time the hits just right

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40pm

So cute.

ajopart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Well done !

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Very cute!

Jwatt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36pm

It was charming alright. About the difficulty curve, the first lesson felt like the most tricky to time right, but after that it was smooth sailing.

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:03am

Awesome job! I had a lot of fun playing this game.
The graphics and sound are great and I loved this game's mood.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Loved the dialogue between the snowmen and the students, gameplay was pretty challenging, although I think there is an input delay on the keyboard.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:58am

Super cute! I love the evocative music and charming graphics. But I love, love, LOVE the character voices! I'm a sucker for that game gibberish, like from Zelda or Animal Crossing. Lots of fun details in this, and I made it to the end after enough tries. Stay cool!

GFM says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:35am

Great (and really cute) graphics and music!

However, I couldn't get used to the gameplay...

The "power slider" is too far away from the character, so I had to either not look at the chars and try to guess the timing, or I had to time it correctly but guess the type of shot.

Not to mention that there is some input lag/dropping. I'm not really sure if it happens during the game (probably doesn't), but I got really annoyed at having to press 'D' a lot of times until it finally registered and the game restarted.

Also, a few times I was able to correctly roll the snowball back but the game registered as a miss and I would be forced to restart that round...

CrownCity says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:52am

@GFM Thanks for your comment, your feedback is appreciated. You're right! Although you can also time a shot based on the sound ;)

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:08am

Cuteness overloaded!
If there was some sort of AI to the game, it would be perfect, otherwise great game!

klianc09 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Really clear and good-looking art style.
It's quite difficult, had a lot of problems at first properly timing it (especially the "normal" shots, that sometimes have been quite fast), but when I managed to get the hang of it, it felt like there were missing some challenges. Like some combinations of the different shot types.

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Very cute game with awesome graphics!
The controls didn't feel very natural to me, since it failed me when it looks like I timed it fine. But other than that it was nice! An (endless) arcade mode would definitely suit a game like this. :D Great work!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]