Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sweet Tooth Mouse

by markusfisch - Compo Entry

Ran out of time. This is just kind of a demo. You can play but there's just one "level" and zero challenge.

Guide a hungry mouse to it's hole by feeding it the right things. The mouse will grow fat from sweets and get slim again by moving around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#267Graphics3.52
#298Humor2.77
#633Mood2.75
#770Innovation2.62
#853Theme3.07
#947Fun2.04
#952Overall2.30

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:21am

Graphics and game idea are really nice. As you already wrote it would have been nice to have some real "Gameplay".

Quadnozzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

I like the look of it, and can see the 'more food makes the mouse move faster, but eventually it gets fat and moves much slower' mechanic being really cool for a time-based puzzle.

Keep at it!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

This game is super cute, so it would have been fun to have a complete game from it. But what you did manage to make was really cute!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:24pm

There is promise in this game, it is unfortunate that you ran out of time.

RadMcCool says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Neat idea, i could see this being used as an educational game to teach kids to eat good food and exercise. Plus the mouse being cute makes you want to give it treats even though there is no advantage.

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:12am

A nice start! Also, never admit that the product's unfinished. ;) Own it! Make it showy! "Well done! You win! Hooray!" after the first level, or something.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Pretty neat. if you feed him too much he cant move at all.

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Liked the graphics, pity you gave up :(

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Really like the art style! There's some promise here

Gordy says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:48pm

Thnaks for this little funny game ;)

terryg says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:13pm

Great start. Nice graphics.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:08pm

A great start. I had the same issue of posting a "demo" for LD33 - didn't have enough time to make levels.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]