Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Elevator Ellie

by issa - Compo Entry

Ellie the Elevator needs to transport as many passengers as she can in the given time.

Controls:
Up / W / Z / Left mouse: Go up
Down / S / Right mouse: Go down

Notes:
-I had the idea for this game before the jam, but the concept came about when I thought about making a game where you can only control the movement on one axis.
-I only worked on this for a day, by the time I had the mechanics down I realized that it wasn't engaging enough.
-Since the source is available can someone build it for HTML5? (GameMaker Studio).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#192Humor3.07
#397Theme3.83
#525Innovation3.10
#607Mood2.79
#835Overall2.77

Comments

Allthebees says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:19am

Love the faces on the lift, they're adorable! The game-play is fun too, although would be nice if the level changes every time you reach the top or bottom floor .

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15pm

Nice entry. I liked it, but needs bit more variation I guess.

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Cute graphics. Sometimes you have to wait to long for the bats to clear. Nice game.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

its gets repetitive really quicky

Mewen_Seyun says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

The game is cool for a mini-game, but it'll be better with a randomise of the obstacle at every floor

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:01pm

cool game, cute visuals, nice job!

coywolf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:03pm

The bats were pretty annoying to get through

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Cute graphics, pretty simple and nive entry. Needs some variations to be less repetitive.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

50 passengers transported. Man does the building manager need to do something about their bat problem.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

I liked the art work, it was very cute (loved the faces) and agree with bats issue (the gaps could sometimes take much too long).

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

Nice little game.

I found the visual feedback of the face that changes expression between going up and going down to be clever, no matter how "simple" it is :D

I agree with those who would have appreciated more variation but, as you said, you didn't have much time and that's perfectly fine! Congratulations!

tyr_arcana says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:01pm

The faces are adorable, and with randomly generated levels and more different obstacles it could be quite fun. I'd also add extra floors people want to get on and off at. As it stands right now it could actually be a one-button game, as there is never any reason to reverse except at either end of the shaft.

issa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:05pm

Thanks for all the responses. I did plan to have at least one more obstacle type but I lost motivation when I played the game and decided to wrap it up as quickly as I can. As for the bats I need to have the gap patterns be predetermined.
I do plan to work on the game more. I will figure out whether I can make it level based or just have the obstacles randomized on each trip (or even a combination of both).

@tyr_arcana I did realize that it could have been a one-button game, and I tried to challenge myself to come up with obstacles that require the use of both directions (but couldn't at the time).
As for multiple destinations I can't see how that would benefit the game. I did however consider having multiple shafts you can transfer between with different destinations at the ends of each shaft (although that's beyond what I could've done during the jam).

Nnnnneeeedddd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Very nice entry!!
As a lot of people have said, it would be better if there was more variation.

Thank you for making this game!!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:58am

Nice game. The face on the elevator was great. Really clever way to do simple but effective animation. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]