Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bakeneko!!!!

by Ariake81 - Jam Entry

Evil Goryo Spirits are attacking the World, devouring the very life force within. Faced with certain destruction the people pray to the gods for salvation. In hearing their cries they sent the one being capable of saving mankind,

The Great!... The Powerfull!!... The Amazing!!!... BAKENEKO!!!!

Use left, right and up keys to steer Bakeneko through the void and stop the Goryo from devouring the life force from the World. hover over the Goryo enemies to shrink them till they die, land on the world to slowly re-grow it to keep it large and alive. you win by defeating all the Goryo, you lose if the world is destroyed!

The game has been built in a couple of days (we would’ve loved to have a little more time on this one but life as always got in the way!) We’ve gone for a hand painted style with a bit of an old school anime feel. It uses the latest construct2 and photoshop with hand painted assets.

Hope you all enjoy!


Downloads and Links


Ratings

#81Graphics(Jam)4.36
#174Humor(Jam)3.40
#341Theme(Jam)3.86
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#535Mood(Jam)3.19
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#750Innovation(Jam)2.77
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

I loved the art style and music, really nice assets. The game is pretty fun, but the controls seem a little sluggish to me. The gameplay is a little monotone. Maybe on a faster computer than mine it runs a little quicker and feels more dynamic.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

I loved the art style and music, really nice assets. And an unusual, fun idea! The game is pretty fun, but the controls seem a little sluggish to me. The gameplay is a little monotone. Maybe on a faster computer than mine it runs a little quicker and feels more dynamic.

Xgor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

Love the visuals in this game!

AlexLamarche says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36am

Fun. Nice music. Made me dizzy, but i'm just a wuss :P

refreshgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:49am

Very well styled game, super cool music and the hand painted art really gave this game a unique look, which I enjoyed lots!

Not sure if I missed an ending though? Kept the planet alive for a while but the game didn't seem to progress, that's my only criticism though, great game!

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

This game is freakin' cute! <3 Really enjoyed the graphics! The gameplay was rather fun as well :)

Could've used some sound effects though.

Polona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

Love it. It made me a little bit dizzy.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18am

you have an interesting idea!

jward says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:25am

Great art style, hilarious!

Yeah, I kept the planet alive a long time, then sorta gave up. :)

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30am

really LOVE the hand drawn aesthetic of the game. The ripple effect left me a bit nauseas I think. So maybe make that optional.

euske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:02am

The overall idea is nice, but I felt the gameplay was a bit lacking. I could simply keep moving one way and beat the game (and it made me dizzy).

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:06pm

*Meows happily*

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I liked the art style and the overall presentation, but ultimately I found it far too easy. I could go on for a long time just by keeping the left arrow pressed.

psychonull says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:27am

haha!, awesome art and music, the mechanics are fun!, great use of themes. great entry!. I felt it never ends xD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]