Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Carrot Stories

by JaviCepa - Jam Entry

In the floating glaive of carrots, two bunnies are about to begin amazing adventures.

Guide our furry adventurers into the next day, survive the hazards of the glaive and become a legend to talk about in the book of Carrot Stories!

For 1 or 2 players (both on keyboard or keyboard+gamepad)

Controls:
P1 - Arrow keys + Z & X or N & M
P2 - WASD + LSHIFT & LCONTROL (gamepad also available for P2)


Note: if the game runs slow, click on the HQ button on the upper left corner.

---------------------------------------

Design, code, sfx & lighting: @JaviCepa
Modeling & texts: @RobrtMoore
Music: @ParejoMusic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Graphics(Jam)4.64
#39Mood(Jam)4.15
#81Overall(Jam)3.92
#88Audio(Jam)3.93
#159Innovation(Jam)3.67
#346Humor(Jam)2.94
#417Fun(Jam)3.27
#677Theme(Jam)3.51
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:36am

Simply gorgeous! The game tells a great story and looks stunning.

Kvyosh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Awesome game!

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Awesome game! Almost perfect in every way! Keep up the great work, I look forward to seeing another of your submissions!

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Graphics are absolutely breathtaking, sound effects are neat and music is nice although slightly repetitive.

Interface was pretty intuitive but it felt my control over my single rabbit wasn't enough to guarantee the survival of the rest who had a tendency to try and make friends with the foxes :(

A really cool entry!

Fanatrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Great overall presentation, I dig the voxels :D

Rodaja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06pm

It being bunnies and all I expected a lot more reproduction, but somehow my attempts were always insuficient, as the other bunnies preferred the company of foxes.

Sometimes there was too much text on screen at once, but I guess it being procedural and all you can't quite choose when things happen.

The random games were a great touch, and the game overall was really funny.

Good job!

3rdChance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07pm

I liked the idea and the graphics.
But the instructions for playing the game are really difficult to read and to understand.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Very nice graphics and mood, however I found the gameplay to be rather dull. Also the text could've been in a better font because right now it is not really goodlooking in that department. Other than that, great game :)

leonoel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:59pm

Simply stunning ! This mood, graphics, creativity... Gorgeous ! Great game guys !

sydan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

This was awesome! I played it for ages and got loads of rabbits but they all died really quickly!

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:02pm

really cool game! i love the graphics. the idea is really cool too. the controls were a little weird though, and at the beginning a lot of text appeared too quickly lol

-SPiRiT- says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:05pm

BEST GAME I PLAYED YET!!
Graphics, music, mood, gameplay! It is so beautiful and immersive
The narration is great but too much text can just kill the bunnies, you know

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Beautifull!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07pm

Very nice graphics and interesting style. The game of head and dive into helping to plunge into the game and worry about the rabbit. Special thanks for good lighting =)

kernel panic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Awesome game! It's so adorable!!! Look at the little bunnies! *Gets to day 7, and all bunnies explode* D:

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Graphics are amazing, music is relaxing, the game play is fun and the bunnies are just damn right cute!

wilsk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

A very nice looking game with great lighting effects. My poor baby bunnies kept getting eaten by hungry foxes which makes me a little sad. :(

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

incredible game! simple but chalenging and addicting, good work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Great Art Style and Atmosphere! Music works well with the Storytelling.
Controls are a bit clunky, though... but overall a wonderful game!

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Very beautiful visuals and audio. Would definitely need two players to fully enjoy the game. The gameplay itself was very simple and a bit boring in the end. Still enjoyed the serene surroundings and sounds.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:43pm

lovely aesthetic. I have nobody here to play it with though so i guess I cant fully appreciate it. the AI on the other bunnies needs to be improved to make it viable single player..... curse that damn fox!

kaotiklabs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Best game I rated at the moment. All is gorgeous. It should explain better the commands, is not easy to catch up.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Beautiful entry. Great atmosphere and setting. So much about this game to love :)

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Really moody entry. Just relaxing being a bunny after 3 days of being a coder!
I totally love the voxel Artstyle. Specially the animations and the nice little details in the world really make the diffrence. I would almost use the word "immersive" here.
Eating carrots and staying away from foxes is a bit repetative, and the Story presentation is a bit confusing. But all concidered a really great game. Impressive!

Maniac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Great game with beautiful graphics, liked the small details like the grass moving when you go through.

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:44pm

Very pretty and fun game!

Dege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Gorgeous game!

loxo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Awesome graphics and audio. You created a really atmospheric world. It's fun to spend some time with the game.

nelskj says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Graphisms are really nice and the game is cool and rabbit's eggs of course!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17am

I'm loving this one. The atmosphere is melancholic and beautiful, you did an impressive job with graphics and musics. I'm still struggling to reach day 7, but I'll make it. Congratulations!!!

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

Wow. The art style is amazing.

ronniepedra says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15am

Memorable style, the diorama looks great! I think the audio can improve a little bit, to be less repetitive, i liked it a lot!

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42am

Beautiful Graphic, and nice story describe method.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:02pm

¡La idea mola mucho! Me encanta la sensación bucólica de este juego. Preciosos gráficos. En cuanto a la música, es fantástico lo que consigue con tan poco. Como crítica constructiva, molesta un poco la cantidad de letras que se montan en pantalla. En fin, ¡Buen trabajo!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Great job!! I love the design of the game - it's memorable and atmospheric.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Very hard to read the instructions - yellow daylight makes them totally invisable! Very hard to see the carrots - Gave up after the fourth round of both dying. Beautiful graphics though.

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Wow, great game. My favorite so far. Really love the mood.
Maybe the days could be a bit shorter it got a bit boring around the half, because there wasn't much danger and not much to do.

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Really well made made game! The graphics style and music was awesome!

EwChap says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:18am

I love the play area setup and the look and feel of the space. Text was a bit cramped a few times but overall great game.

Patomkin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:07pm

The visuals and narrative are simply fantastic, but... I don't get the idea. Everybody but me dies and I can't do anything about it. All I do is walk around the center and eat carrots (spam X) until day 7 :/

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Very beautiful game, but not really sure what I was supposed to do. The story didn't really match what was going on in the game. I was the lone survivor and all baby rabbits got eaten by the fox.

graebor says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:53am

It felt pretty weird to me how the atmosphere and music was so relaxing and peaceful but mechanically I was super on-edge, frantically trying to avoid a brutal death.. aside from that strange juxtaposition this is a very cool result :)

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:36am

Couldn't find much to do, but fortunately eating carrots and staring at the scenery occupied my time quite well; the graphics were incredible, and the audio fit well with them. Amazing job.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 9:23pm

The game is clearly gorgeous, the lighting has a lot to do with it even if it gets blinding sometimes. On the other hand I felt the game became repetitive after a few days. I never knew how I could manage the other rabbits and they would get killed by the foxes. Also when too many things happens at once, the text overlap. Sorry if this feels a bit negative but if it can reassure you, I had a good time playing this game ;D

Mar 29, 2016 @ 12:56am

Beautiful game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/S5oK4fsls3Q

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]