Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tamám Shud

by LBUncleJoe - Compo Entry

Explore a barren world as its sole survivor, and find a way to end it at last.

Press Right To Progress. Press Left To Observe.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#24Mood4.17
#198Graphics3.69
#410Audio2.79
#658Overall3.03
#725Theme3.38
#795Innovation2.56

Comments

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

The graphics create a really nice mood for the game. Cool!

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Have some atmosphere! And thanks God it's not a pixel-art) But I think the narrative is quite tedious...
Good luck ^_^

grama says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

cool mood and it certainly sets a sad tone. however, I think the sound got a bit too repetitive and the narrative was a bit flat. i like the move-and-observe mechanic.

bradur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Nice storytelling :). I found it funny at times, too :D. Good job!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Suuuuper good mood. Nice narrative submission! And the audio was really well done. :) Good work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:19am

man, that is heavy
really depressing actually
mood 5/5

Anyway, I like it a lot. Surreal-ish, nice art style. The controls listed on the start screen weren't quite clear and it took me a while to realize what the point of pressing left was. Then I replayed though and observed everything.

The sound played as you progress is a little grating when you hear it over and over, is pretty much the only criticism I can think of. The rest is great. Nice ambience, art style, writing, all of it. Short and sweet (well, not so sweet, really..).

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

I really like the graphics, well done!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Really neat story! the audio got annoying after hearing the same sounds over and over though.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Graphics here are interesting. I honestly don't like narrative or on-rails type games though ;(

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Wow, what a heavy game! It's good to see another narrative based game out there, especially one as polished and simply effective as yours! I look forward to playing more of your games - keep up the good work!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52pm

oooooo very eerie!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

The game made me want to break something and quit the game...but I guess that's the point. I didn't like the way the controls break the flow of the narrative since you have to be switching back and forth. Also, the sound effects when you move are annoying... so, I guess it's fine if you like to be in that mood.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:59pm

I enjoyed this alot-- the best narrative game I've played in LD34 yet. I just wish there were more player choice- some agency. There wouldnt need to be a ton either. Like, if maybe you continued to traverse world and meet other you's and each time they said more or less the same thing: this will always happen until one of us decides to end it. Then you let the player do something other than press the progress button to make the choice to end it themselves. Still, very neat

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:56am

rly large file..
i love the graphics, it works well with the theme of ur game

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:58am

Very moody!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:06am

Who was that doctor?
What has he done?
So many questions..
And great atmosphere, btw.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:41pm

Damn, that was deep! I love this kind of games. You just start and nothnig can grab you out of the game. I can't say that I love this kind of feelings, but when game brings you such emotions - it is a good game! Great mood, great sounds and noizes, great narrative telling.
I love everything, but there is one thing I don't like.
I know it's dump to think about what is a game. But when you're trying to make your game to be an art piace, you definitely want this game to be a game. I want to to have some choice, because every interractive experience gives you a choice. It can be anything. Choice of movement or choice of the narrative. But if your make this game on this high level, you really let your game being a game.
Sorry for bad English and this critics. The game is still awesome, but maybe in future you should pay attention to the gameplay too.
Good work, man!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:31pm

Not much of a gameplay here, but great atmoshere and an intriguing story. Maybe you shouldn't have written a line for every move, to make every observation worthwhile, but other that that the game is pretty solid.

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Really neat feeling and graphics. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/ONV56vKkbDk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]