Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Parascythe X

by Neonlare - Jam Entry

2nd EDIT - FOR EVERYONE PLAYING THE PRE BUILD
There was a mistake by one of our devs who placed one of the final rooms in the wrong order. This isn't a code error, but purely because of lack of sleep. This has been fixed now and the download replaced with the correct order, if you were rating the game based on this then PLEASE, PLEASE redownload it to get a better view of the balance of the game. We're sorry for the issues this may have caused.

EDIT - We fixed our Merger conflict issues, and did do some balance tweaking. about 90% of the content was ready before the Jam deadline but was phased out because we had to use an older build, we'll keep the older version up for reference, but if possible could folks please consider this 1.1 edition as aside from some sound effects this was the version we had ready prior to the merger issue. Sorry chap, hope you enjoy! Git can be a real git sometimes! ;)

THEME (Growing)


CONTROLS

Arrow Keys - Move
Z - Fire Projectile
X - Select Upgrade
C - Purchase Upgrade

STORY

When a research station on a distant colony uncovers a strange alien egg from the depths of an unknown world, they pilfer it for their own and return with it for experimentation. However, when they pry at it's surface they unleash a parasitic entity that begins to grow and spiral out of control. Piloting the SOLAR, a nano-biotic vessel with the capabilities of reversing bio-matter into mutating and evolving it's own form, you are sent by the Galactic Coalition to put a stop to this ever-growing menace and defeat this entity, known only as "Parascythe X".

Launch into a 5 stage Shmup inspired by C64 titles such as Delta and Cybernoid as you blast and grow your ship into the war machine necessary to defeat this ever-enclosing mass that is your foe.


POST-MORTEM

This game has been a ride for sure, we were smooth sailing until the final hours where a lot of git-repo issues started occurring, losing code and other things that just caused serious chaos on the code. We should have the bugs cleared out totally but if there's any issues we'll patch em post Jam.

It's been fun and stressful at the same time, we wanted to make a big effort for it and take a risk. We hope you enjoy folks! :D.

Some of the upgrade shop functions have issues (i.e not deducting score properly, etc). We'll fix this as soon as we can and post up the updated exe. These are functions that did work prior to Git-Repo merger issues and we just need our other programmer at the ready to manually transfer this over.

CREDITS

Art - Kyle Riley & Jacob J Ritz
Code - Kyle Riley & Emil Lindgrem
Design - Kyle Riley & Jacob J Ritz
Music - Kyle Riley

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#75Audio(Jam)3.97
#141Fun(Jam)3.68
#143Graphics(Jam)4.15
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#245Overall(Jam)3.62
#592Humor(Jam)2.53
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#1014Theme(Jam)2.68

Comments

rsf-krx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

Has a nice classic feel to it, and a good amount of difficulty. Overall pretty fun!

anael says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:33am

Whoa it's hard, but cool retro vibe

mokesmoe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50pm

The game seemed fairly buggy (mostly the shop which you seem to know about); points carried over between rounds, weapon upgrades did nothing if you had no orbits, buying speed seemed to also buy an orbit at the same time. The price of orbits doesn't update properly on death.

Enemy bullets were hard to see against the purple background of the later area, and also were hard to see when the screen was full of rebound bullets.

The weapons seems pretty poorly balanced: laser rarely even fired (which is probably a bug) and assault killed everything as soon as they appeared on screen.

I know I've been pointing out all the flaws but I did really like this game. Good job!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05am

Hey folks, we just threw up version 1.1 with the merger conflicts resolved. This should address some issues that -were- fixed for deadline prior to merger issues, hope this helps with enjoying the game :).

nuprahtor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:00am

It plays really good, but the game lacks feedback from enemies when your bullets hit them.
Graphics and audio are superb.

YinYin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Quite hard to tell obstacles apart from background sometimes.

windykellywyo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Been playing this game for about an hour or more. I'm stuck on the second level. Furthest I've gone is up to the boss. Problems I'm having are I wish the spaceship in general moved faster. I'm often not fast enough to move around a projectile or enemy in time and there are many on the level which leaves me stuck. The power ups need tweaking too. Speed isn't fast enough. Laser doesn't seem to affect enemies much. Love the graphics. Love the music. Love the design and layout of the enemies and how they change once damaged at points.

windykellywyo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:07am

Well after posting that I thought the power ups were weird I started using them repeatedly and discovered problem solved. I'm finally past the level I was stuck on. Maybe readme can mention that power ups stack? Just a thought. Thanks and sorry for confusion. Hope to beat the game now!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07am

Love art! It really looks great.

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:16am

That brings me back

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:26am

Ok, we're re-uploading the pre-build because one of our devs misplaced one of the stages in the wrong order. This is fixed in the post jam version, but because this isn't a code issue and just an issue with room positions we're over-writing the pre-version for this.

No wonder folks were finding it really hard at the start! Sorry folks.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:06am

Looks great and plays nicely. I love me a good shmup, and this is pretty impressive for a mere 72 hours!

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:12am

Nice retro touch, reminds me of old metroid games, cool game!!

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:00am

Awesome music. Awesome art. Awesome gameplay, and amazing music. Only real complaint I have is a it's a weee bit difficult to distinct the bullets from the background color since the bullets are gold and the background is a blue and their saturations are very close. Other than that, this game is just a job Well done guys :D

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:01am

Wow, this is a really nicely implemented shoot em up, with great art and music. I'm really intrigued by the upgrade mechanic -- it has a really interesting tension to it, though I think it has some issues in terms of usability, since the player has to look at the bottom of the screen to check their points and check the upgrade. Maybe there's a way to put that information around the ship itself or something, so that the player can keep their eyes where they need to be? Awesome work!

Crazi456 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:02am

Enjoyed the music. Fun stuff!

windykellywyo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Well I replayed the game and I'm able to get up to the level where you navigate around the pipe walls which I think is the end, but am still not able to beat. I really wish I had an extra life available by the time I'm at the big boss. Because by the time I'm there I'm at one life. I think the difficulty on the other levels is perfect. May keep working on it to win as I'm so close, but still otherwise a really well put together game especially good for competitive players. Thanks for making this game.

xhunterko says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:39am

This is infuriatingly difficult until you figure the upgrade system. Even then it's hard! Great job!

Aaranos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:34pm

Feels like something you would find on an actual arcade machine. Fun game, but it does have a bit of a learning curve since there is no indication of what does what immediately.

I'd of liked to see the score not be related to the upgrades. Maybe just base it on "parts" taken from destroyed ships.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in the second episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/21/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-02/

Kimau says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Love the look of it but the controls and feel were just a bit too sluggish and confusion. The art is mind blowing in its cool retro pastiche.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:15pm

Holy crap, this looks and sounds exactly like a C64 game. Not just vaguely retro, this is faithful stuff down to the title screen.

5 stages is a lot of content, with fairly interesting enemy patterns, an upgrade system and the whole kitchen sink. It's very much a complete shoot-em-up. Pretty impressive all around.

Acerio says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:14am

Whoa. This feels just like a game you'd play back in the day. The audio is amazing, and retro, graphics I can say the same with. Just amazing.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Good game and retro inspired like those i play. Good done!

refreshgames says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:22pm

That was a pretty tough game there! Made it to level 5 but couldn't get past that cursed maze of barriers!

Nice job on getting this much done in such a short amount of time. My only criticism would be that on some levels the background is tough to distinguish from the foreground, reducing the saturation on those tiles would have made it a bit easier to determine which is which, but aside from that, a quality shmup!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 9:33am

very hard but also nice shmup!!! well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]