Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Research Team

by pinion - Jam Entry

Space Research Team by Pinion & Ismei.

We're a husband and wife team and this is our first Ludum Dare entry we've worked on together. We've previously done solo Compo efforts.

As this was our first time working together we made a co-op game because we spend a lot of our time playing them. We chose the two button theme.

The game is written in java using libGdx, all graphics done in paint.net and sounds in bfxr.

THE GAME:

You must work together as pilots of a science spaceship to protect it from hostile space objects.

The theme is two button controls and you have two buttons each. Hopefully nobody will press the wrong button at the wrong time!

Note to AZERTY users - Even though the game says Q and W, A and Z will work too.

We put up a smaller version for those with bad connections who already have java. For everyone else, download the 'full' version and run the batch file.

Good luck out there scientists.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#167Innovation(Jam)3.65
#321Fun(Jam)3.40
#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#598Humor(Jam)2.52
#614Mood(Jam)3.10
#655Audio(Jam)2.53
#738Theme(Jam)3.41
#900Graphics(Jam)2.53

Comments

adamyounis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:35am

I like the idea of co-op. The coordination aspect was very "QWOP" obviously but it was still fun. With a bit more polish I could see this kind of game being something I play with a friend.

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:36am

very fun and hard to coordinate with the other person, great job.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:06am

Nice take on the theme! It's surprisingly easy to learn, even though it seems difficult at the onset. Nice job!

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13am

Didn't play with a friend but i liked the idea. Nice sound and graphics and actually pretty fun. I thought that too many colours kept coming up when i got one wrong, took ages to clear after making a mistake.

I must say, the claim 'you are scientists' didn't come through, its about shooting bad guys.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Very interesting take on the theme. It was as challenging as it was rewarding to play. Sound effects are subtle and greatly add to the space atmosphere, though some sort of ambience may have extended the depth further.

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:48pm

It's fun playing in co-op. If fits the theme as a 2 button game and it's actually more interesting than many other game gameplay-wise. Good job ^^"

Bjarnovikus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Game is quite good, but it's quite repetetive. I know it is suposed to be played with 2 players, but I was testing it alone. I think timing is a big issue when playing it with 2 players, and that could make the game fun.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:34pm

nice game dude.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Simple, but good and fun!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Cool game concept! Took me a little bit to figure out what was going on, but its fun!

jachepe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:25pm

A very fun game, good work!

gkxd says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29pm

The game is pretty fun, but it gets repetitive pretty quickly. I think adding more juice to the game would make it seem less repetitive.

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

This was really neat. I like the increase in difficulty in each level. It was really challenging. Nice work!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Cool coop-game. Are there no enemies after 30 seconds? Flew around for ever and didn't see anything after the first 30 seconds?

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Today I learned that my eye to finger coordination skills are bad :D That was surprisingly fun. The sounds were simple but okay, and the parallax effect with the stars was a cool touch.

pinion says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:06pm

@oskardevelopment

After 30 seconds you can go to the next level by pressing space or enter, the next level will have new enemies and looks, etc.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

I get an error when I try to run.

CrownCity says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

It was great to play this! Learned it quite quick. Well done!

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Really nice! As a single person its a bit hard to remember the colors, but in co-op I think there will be many funny situation.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

A clever mechanic with a good difficulty curve. The mixed colours at the end were a nice piece of escalation.

When playing co-op, had good fun when you both tried to do a shared colour without consulting your partner and got in each other's way.

The little flavour text was cute and funny. Having different backgrounds for each section gave a nice sense that you were progressing.

GOOD STUFF, FRIEND.

Zegram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Simple yet fun to play, co-op games are always welcome.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:30pm

Great job! It was super cute!

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I love the design decission that you give both players the same color in a game were the order matters.
I also love the flavor text, although it needs some more improvement.
The enemies however might be a little too fast.

thesquigglez says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:53pm

nice concept. fun to play. i used the java version, and after about 45 secs it crashed? overall pretty good

Gins says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 10:04am

Very cool entry, unfortunately didn't have anyone to co-op with, but I got the idea, and I can only imagine how much harder (but also more hilarious) it would have been with a second player :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]