Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow, Thrive, Evolve

by Taffaz - Compo Entry

Grow, Thrive, Evolve is a game where you have to grow Dooda from a small aquatic being into a creature of the land and finally a flying beast.

I decided to use both themes for this game.

Growing:

You grow by eating smaller animals and you get hurt if you get hit by a larger animal although the plants won't hurt you if they are too large.

There are three stages, each with 3 phases. As you grow the camera will zoom out to keep Dooda a reasonable size.

Two Button Controls:

Control is done using the left and right arrow to turn with Dooda travelling forward at his max speed at all time.

I hope you enjoy and feel free to leave any feedback.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#291Fun3.41
#418Theme3.81
#436Audio2.72
#439Humor2.45
#444Mood3.00
#510Overall3.20
#724Graphics2.61
#817Innovation2.51

Comments

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:54am

Nice little game, occupied me for five enjoyable minutes !

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:36am

Vera Nice game

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:37am

A game, in which growing is central.
Spend a couple of minuts of my life, on this game. Quite liked it. The graphics are a bit bad, and the screen is glitching some times. But overall, a good score!

chrizdekok says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39am

Best game I tried so far. Great work!
Instead of using the mouse to choose upgrades it would be simpler to just use left/right.
The animation of the creature I really enjoyed. :)

Shared says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Very nice

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Nice work man! Fun little time killer. Reminds me a bit of Spore or Flow (which isn't a bad thing). I enjoyed how the enemies are you changed depending on the phase you were in.

SecularBaron says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Cool game. It was satisfying to evolve.

cynicalmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:30pm

I liked the music it set a good mood although an idea for later builds might be o have the music evolve with the creature, gets faster for speed, heavier for defence. i would take the mouse out of it entirely though, with the options being on the left and right it would just fit with the control theme.

daandruff says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:32pm

A nice early-game Spore clone. I felt that the upgrades didn't matter all that much. Solid entry though :)

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:34pm

Seems like agar.io. Enjoyed playing.

Ayte says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Really nice game !
I really enjoyed this !

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Thanks for all your comments. I was definitely intending to make it so you could use the arrow keys to select the upgrades and I just forgot to do it.

Spore was definitely the inspiration for this game and I hadn't heard of flow or agar.io but I checked out agar.io and was impressed.

Capitals says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Music was really good, suited it perfectly - always my weakness. I can't help but think this is inspired by the bacteria stage of spore, I love that stage. I would say you could improve by making it clearer what you could eat, what speed and defense does and if you were to work on better graphics. Good Luck!

greenscreen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Great gameplay. Reminds me of agar.io, but with scaling. Also kinda similar to amoeba phase of life in Spore game.

Somnium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:04pm

A very enjoyable game!

The different phases felt different, both in the possible opponents/prey, and the difference in the surroundings (my disregard for speed-upgrades did not serve me well in the avian phase...)

Great use of the themes! The graphics were functional, and sufficiently different across the three phases to give variety.

Also, thumbs up for using LibGDX!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07pm

nice, very interesting, good job

bazkur98 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Not bad! I enjoyed the 5 or 10 minutes I played (web version). Controlled really well. Followed the theme better than my entry probably did! Good job.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:44pm

I enjoyed this and played to completion. Felt like I was playing a take on the first level of Spore which was quite fun. I went full speed and they never stood a chance.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Cool little game, could use a little polish. Liked the fact you included evolution in there as an extension on the theme growing.

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Almost made it, those darn birds! ;) Very nice game with a rather melancholic soundtrack. Reminded me a little of SimLife. Which is good!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32pm

He's soooooo cute! I love how he gets a little propeller! That was adorable!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

Played till the end, eat and grow games are always fun.
The difficulty could have been a bit harder, I lost health only on the last stage (while being quite large)
well done game :)

trozen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Pretty nice little eating things game. Tried to be a pure herbivore for most of it, at least until I ran out of visible flowers.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

This is pretty cool, I like that you did different environments. One thing I would suggest is some kind of warning or highlight, or larger and more discrete variations in size; there were several times where I was damaged by something just slightly larger than me that I thought I could eat.

WebFreak001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Really nice game but it would have been nicer if you could stay big in the sections a bit longer to reward to player

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Fun game to play but definitely room for improvement. While I think rescaling the screen is important in a game where you constantly grow sometimes it felt a little odd to be so small again. Also the sound when you get hit was kind of painful for my ears.

brainybeard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Interesting game, it kind of reminded me of the beginning stages of spore. I liked how you gave use the oppurtunity to upgrade one of two abilities, I personally went for defence all the way however I'm unsure what effect this actually had on my creature. Maybe in future updates it would be interesting to show how choosing speed or defence affects your performance. Overall, really fun game, the music worked well and perhaps the art could do with a tiny bit of work, but generally it was a fun game :)

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Loved this game i dont really like these type of games so i was surprosed when i enjoyed playing it the music was soothing and relaxing :)

Well Done!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

It's the most fun part of Spore! Pretty fun game!

Warboys says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16pm

I had a good time :) I really liked the music, very suiting to the survival of the fittest!

There was something very unsettling about the create art and chasing behaviour, was scary when those birds were after you!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:23am

This is really cool. Things got hairy once the birds started chasing me!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 10:28am

eat everything... nice concept :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]