Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Greenfinger

by paulfysh - Compo Entry

You are the gardener. You are just trying to get to work and you lost all your tools and a bunch of hateful cows, cliffs and other such obstacles are getting in your way!

Grow plants to get through each level and see if you can unlock all 7 achievements (you need multiple play through's to get them all!)

Controls
AD or left and right arrow - left and right
ws or up and down - climb / decent a vine (up also uses the portal plants)
qe - change seed to plant
m - kill the background music
n - kill my voice
left control / right click - harvest a plant for its seed (once you unlock the ability)
space / left click - plant the selected plant (if you have enough seeds)
escape - bring up the in game menu, you can restart the level from here if needs be

Cows eat plants, but they cant see portal plants, they can just see through to the other side, so they wont eat them.
Fireballs kill you
Falling too far kills you

Its basically a "puzzle" solving platformer with 7 levels. Dont be afraid to restart the level if something goes wrong, or you die (just hit escape)

I couldnt get onefile exe working so unfortunately its a giant tar, just unpack it and run the exe it should work. If that doesn't appeal, you can clone the source and execute it that way, it works on python2.7 and 3.x the only dependency is on pygame 1.92 and above.

Theme ties - You grow plants to get through the levels, and theres two commands you can give your guy to interact with the world - plant a seed or harvest a seed (aside from movement obviously)

oh and special thanks to my girlfriend for literally acting like a cow for me :p

UPDATE: 14/12/15
After a bunch of friends playtested it, I needed to fix a few game breaking bugs, so a new version is now uploaded, with the commits made to the source tree. Everything fixed was at the very least a significant pain for completing the game making levels impossible without a level restart if they occurred, or even crashing the game. Unfortunately I still cant actually work out why the background music volume is messing with the sound effect volume on the windows build (works fine in linux), so I advise turning the background music off to hear my helpful tips!

UPDATE 15/12/15
I gave up on getting windows to lower the volume of just the pygame music like its meant to and reduced the volume of the midi file itself. Makes the voice and other game sounds audible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#137Humor3.29
#285Audio3.08
#400Fun3.26
#456Innovation3.19
#475Mood2.96
#491Overall3.22
#562Theme3.63
#624Graphics2.85

Comments

in3orn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Interesting and funny idea. Nice concept, especially the "muuu!"

Wukkopi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Good little brainer. Great job!

tompudding says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Great little puzzler, the mechanics were introduced at a nice pace. Also good cowing :)

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:04am

Fun puzzler with a'moo'sing elements.

Rosain_f says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:26am

Interesting concept, but a bit slow

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:16am

Cool art style

Komradus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:56am

Great audio and a fun idea. I did get a little stuck with the first portal plant level, couldn't figure out which key planted it.

paulfysh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Q or E changes the selected seed, sorry I should have added that tidbit to the voiceover.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:33pm

nice game)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Fun platformer with nice puzzles. Loved the voiceovers and the moos!

Kakureta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Nice puzzles :)simple, fun and effective. I like the cow by the way!

PickleCrew says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03pm

This game was fun, but slow at times, the cow mooing was fun.

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:11am

Ow, Interesting concept, I like it. I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

alliel_a says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:10pm

nice game

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]