Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Serpent's Shadow

by NuSan - Compo Entry

Get all rabbits and grow a good amount of grass to go to the next level.

Parts of lit areas can be turned to grass once isolated from light using your snake body.

Controls :
Arrow keys : move snake

There are rabbit holes, so lure rabbits outside by growing grass around them.
Yhen eat them, it will make the snake grow

Moles are your enemies, mainly because they have lasers. Don't let them see you so you can eat them

Tools :
Code : pico 8
Graph : pico 8
Sound : pico 8
Gifs : pico 8

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#44Overall4.00
#61Innovation3.97
#83Fun3.82
#105Audio3.63
#107Mood3.67
#136Graphics3.88
#233Theme4.00
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:19am

Is there a reason of the rabbits taking so long to come out? It is really great concept, level design is smart, but waiting 10 seconds for each rabbit to come out of his hole is weird.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:00am

This is a pretty unique take on snake. It's not super challenging but I think it could be with enough clever level design. The mechanics are there. It also looks really nice. You nailed the aesthetic. The glowing eyes on the rabbits are also pretty cool. If I had one complaint, it would be that it says Pres C instead of Press C when you die.

BroCade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:01am

The first entry i'm rating for this Dare and you have set the bar high! Cant fault much here, apart from a few "feel" things, like smoother movement and faster rabbits, like BoltKey suggested would be nice. Great job over all!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09am

Nice entry. I beat it! Good mood. It feels very "snakelike" if that makes sense.

One suggestion, the rabbits could pop out a little sooner. There were many times where I was just waiting for them to pop out. :)

J-Nat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

Loved it ! The music is great and gameplay loop is interresting but perfectible. Very nice entry !

SamH says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Great, as usual! Having the documentation be playable is a very nice finishing touch.

I managed to win the game, but I was stuck in the last level for some time; is this a bug or is it because of the mole? http://i.imgur.com/Sm71uCL.png (also for some of the larger levels it would be nice to have a few levels of undo)

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Having an undo system would be great yes, but as it's only realy usefull on larger levels, I didnt put the time to code it. The situation on the screenshot is not a bug, mole do block the grass. I forgot to say it in the tutorial. Thank for playing.

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Really fun, probably my favorite entry so far. It's a great idea and the presentation is absolutely fantastic for being a Ludum Dare entry.

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:12pm

It took me sometimes to understand, that's a great concept once you get it. It place quit well, and it's a mix of classic snake and brilliant puzzle idea.

Sometimes I hit my tail and lost, even if there was space on the left/right to go. It would be good if you lose if you are really stuck in all directions and there is no place to go.

Benlitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24am

Nice game!

salmonmoose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10am

Love this take on snake, I did get beaten by the "end game" trigger not working 100% but I played a lot more of this than many other entries.

dj_pale says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47am

Haha nice! Interesting and a bit wacky at the same time. Good tutorials to explain the gameplay and a nice level progression. Could maybe be a bit harder.

"Moles are your enemies mainly because they have lasers.."

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Nice little game in Pico 8 !!

grifdail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Awesome game !

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Loved the concept and the graphics! Pretty cool little game. It reminded me a little bit to good old Volfied! Congratulations!

MikeTsunami says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Fun game and nice graphics!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Really nice game! Very original and satisfying to play.

Doctor_N says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

Fun little game I really enjoyed that

scottrick says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:39pm

great work

daandruff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Really good game! Thanks for making it! (And Pico8 is cool)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

I like it a lot, probably the most complete game I played this jam. And I agree with the first guy rabbits should come out a lot fast.

gillenew says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Totally awesome!! I beat the game :D

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:31pm

Well made. The puzzles are very well done, the game itself is fun, the music is music, which is still a huge plus, and the art has quite a charm to it.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:39pm

I love the take on the Snake game and how it fits the theme. Well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05pm

A pretty fun and interesting game. I'm still a bit confused on why the grass grew when it did. Very nice job!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:37pm

That puzzle-snake concept is really nice! Them cheap pretty graphics are nice too.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Amazing puzzle. Loved the idea and the graphics. Your "death" condition checking might need a tweak, though: http://i.imgur.com/4ePjlnk.png

jachepe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:29pm

I love the graphics! God idea mix the snake game with a puzzle game

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Great game! My only problem was that is was unclear to me where I could and could not go, so I kept getting stuck and losing :(

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:51am

I really like the gameplay. Keep good work.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Interesting combination of reachability and snake concepts. Extensive game for a compo entry as well!

Grouflon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Perfect mood and feel. I had a good time playing it, and the concept is very clever, but I kind of feel that the current level design do not allow the concept to shine completely.
I did not find the puzzle side of the game very challenging, I only felt challenge in evaluating if the cave I was going to enter was or was not too small for me, and then remembering in which order I had to enter the caves. I also don't get exactly what the moles add in terms of gameplay if not some waiting and free tail length. Globally, it felt more like exploration than puzzle.

As a side note, I also find it quite difficult to predict what will actually become grass when the light is blottered.

CMG says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Neat idea. This is the kind of game that you could develop more and more by adding new levels with more complex puzzles.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:15pm

Great artstyle and music. The gameplay is interesting and unique. What kind of grass is this that grows only in the dark? My biggest complaints would be, that rabbits take so long to get out of their hole and grass was sometimes unpredictable (at least to me) when it would grow and when it wouldn't. Overall the game is maybe a bit too easy, had no troubles completing it, still it's a pretty polished game.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Nice mood you've got here!

kmakai says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:25pm

I loved this! Really fun, thoughtful game with great puzzle design. You also matched the pico 8 style really well while making it your own, and the music was awesome as well. Really great entry, one of my favorites so far. Congrats!

Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Really neat little puzzle game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/Fm6iQk47yZ0

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Pretty interesting thing you have here. I found the puzzle mechanics a bit opaque throughout, not sure why exactly.

Beavl says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 5:15pm

Winning conditions (eating rabbits and growing grass) combined with great level design make this entry really amazing.

Wow, we love it. One of our favourite entries! Cheers! (Also, we love pico 8).

Tapehead says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:20pm

great interpretation of snake! good job!!! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]