Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Collider

by DMinsky - Jam Entry

JUST PLAY IT!

Also, Browser version is a bit luggy, so try standalone versions instead.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#66Graphics(Jam)4.45
#127Overall(Jam)3.80
#146Audio(Jam)3.72
#164Mood(Jam)3.72
#243Humor(Jam)3.19
#262Fun(Jam)3.48
#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#552Theme(Jam)3.63

Comments

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:17pm

Woah! Really nice job! Amazing graphics and gameplay. It's super hard though! Coulnd't get more than 19 meters. Cheers!

anael says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:37pm

ho yeah! :) very cool, very hard

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:12am

Well done! Great job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:58am

Great graphics. Cranking tune. Really great style. The frame rate was really poor for me for some reason compared to other games which made it really hard to control.

DMinsky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:02pm

retrogradeorbit, try to play stand alone version.

ninjascript says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Feels really polished, though the difficulty could use some tuning. Well done!

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:20pm

Pretty cool game, it reminds me of old nintendo game called "battletoads" it also had one map in which you needed to go down like that and bounce to the walls. Extra nice that you used pixelart in a that way, I did too. Cheers! :]

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:21pm

First of all, love the graphics and sound, they made the game awesome to play. The web version of the game has some serious performance issue that affects the game play. I downloaded the windows and loved it. The game is a bit too hard for me though, I just kept dying. The mechanics of hitting the wall to acquire an ability is definitely very innovative, liked it. Well done!

RhysD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Great game! Love the replayability. Very hard though, I could only make it to the bats part most of the time (made it through the next gap once).

Great art, sound and design.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Very cool game, the art and the gameplay are very good and I enjoyed playing it. It was a little hard, I died a lot :)

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

I like the retro-style graphics, and the possibilities are rich. The pace is very fast though, making the game quite hard !
I think it would have been more enjoyable if it was just a tad slower, to let you react to the map rather than having to know it to pick the correct path.

Nice entry overall !

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59pm

super hard game ! but the art is really cool :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Really fun and addicting game. Love how you can save people and basically sacrifice them when you hit spikes.

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Great job, I like the graphisms :)

zulman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00pm

Cool! As always from this developer astonishing tactility over all gameplay. Thanks a lot, gogogo! (P.S. it's unable to read tutorial at this speed for me and i hope that characeters are not going to hell)

Nichii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:37pm

The game doesn't really have a lot of room to get used to the controls. The music was nice but since it starts over everytime you die, it starts to get irritating. The spikes and bats can be hard to see when moving quickly. Overall it's quite fun.

Robin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Pretty fun, I like the music, it's pretty hard though!

Phoenix849 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56pm

I like the idea about rescued guys becoming your health points. But I found controls to be very unresponsive and difficulty too high. Can't get far in this.

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:46am

This is so frickin' hard... I love it. Cool pixel visuals and NES-style music (that triangle kick presses all the right buttons). I like how frantic this plays!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Good work! Liked art and dynamic gameplay!

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:31am

Great job man! i love this game! Cool!

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Cool game!

PS: You have a bug in browser: when you die and wait - scores (meters) still increase

domo_demo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:02pm

nice graphics and sound, the gameplay is perfect! but wow, its too difficult for me :p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]