Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shroomys quest for fuel

by StMatn - Jam Entry

Help shroomy collect fuel for his spaceship, so he can return home! Shroomy is a amoeba from space, who cant move, but will regrow, if you delete parts of him.

-Guide shroomy through 6 levels and collect presents, to fuel up his ship
-Delete parts of shroomy and watch them grow back
-Fulfill the three optional goals on each level to unlock the bonus ending:
-->Collect all golden presents
-->Burn all wood
-->Crack the time challenge

If you complete the game once, you will see a timer and challenge time on each level. (You can beat the time trial before!)

Please have fun poking shroomy :) I would appreciate it, if you would leave some feedback! Thanks for playing!


P.S.: The time challenges are hard, but possible! Let me know if you completed them ;)


TECHNICAL NOTES:
-The escapekey aborts a level, if you are playing and closes the game in the menu
-Please unpack the zip file! It probably won't run inside the zip.
-You will need Java version 8 (JRE or JDK) installed to run the game.
-You may run the game in fullscreen mode by starting the jar with the parameter "fullscreen" (without quotes)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#66Innovation(Jam)3.90
#219Humor(Jam)3.28
#398Fun(Jam)3.30
#414Overall(Jam)3.42
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#731Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:47pm

awesome! very creative use of physics, love the visuals and how you tell a story, nice drawings! If it had sound and music it would be flawless. Please keep working on it. One of my favourites :) well done!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

This was a really well executed mechanic, and a supporting story that works well for it. This would be really satifying as a touch interface! Thanks

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Hey there, I liked the concept of your game, but it didn't make me feel very engaged, maybe you could add an optional speed button for these phases where you want to move a lot but have to wait for shroomy to regrow.

Nice game overall :)

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:53pm

Seems like an alright game for casual play, but the lack of music really works against it. Right now, the game gets pretty boring pretty quickly.

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:10pm

Thank you all for your feedback and the nice words :)

The lack of audio is the thing, that annoys me the most, but time was a bit short on the end-phase...

A way to speed up regrowth would be in fact a really useful addition. Thx for the suggestion!

I wanted to work against boredom by trying to make diverse levels. The first one acts as a kind of "tutorial". I put very much thought on nearly every aspect of it. On levels 2 and 3 you should try to not delete shroomy on any of the two paths and on the last two levels you should try to not burn up. Maybe thats not enough...

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Very different but I did not like the audio just me maybe. any way good game.

acotis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:51pm

Nice game mechanic. The level format really helped me understand the tactics to use in the game. Well done :)

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:51am

I liked the way the plot unfolds, but the controls are not so intuitive at first. Maybe adding a tutorial level could help. Also, glad to find a Java game that works well on OpenJDK.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00am

Very neat mechanic, and fun to play. Well done. :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:38am

Thx everyone :)

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34am

Haha, what a lovely mechanic! :D And it's so well executed, congrats! I love the intro comic. :D

the-arrival says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Great game! Simply moving through the levels with the unique controls is enjoyable. The game can get a tedious at times, especially when split in two different locations, and the tutorial images are a bit hard to decipher. Other than that though, it's a cool and well executed concept!

oparisy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53pm

Hey, that was good fun, I liked how I had to chase after all the little slime peaces I left behind to be able to go forward. Impressive animation code, nice particles, good idea.

Did you use a Java framework to code this? What are your apis?

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:49am

@all:
Thx for your feedback! :)

@oparisy:
I'm using plain java. If I start a new (game-) project, I copy a (evolving) base of around 100-200 lines of code (very rough estimation by gut feeling - may be a bit more). For comparison: Shroomy has a total number of 1921 lines of code. This code base could be considered a "framework", but it only opens up a blank window and sets up basic input methods and a clockgenerator, that executes a blank method (="main method") with a fixed rate. (All of it is written by myself) So basically I write a whole engine for each project. It seems a bit overkill, but I love the resulting filesizes and the ability to track down bugs to single lines of code and to quickly identify performance-bottlenecks ;)
If you are interested, I can provide the shroomy-code and/or my "framework". But be warned, that during LD I always stop writing clean code on the like the last day, when panic and pressure kick in :D I love to read nicely written code, but when time is constrained, functionality and code aesthetics often are in conflict...

Joror says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:53pm

Took me a little while to figure out what did what, but the unique controls & mechanics were worth it! :)

Kep says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Technically impressive for a jam game. Well done!

StMatn says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:22am

Thy guys :)

Esjaji says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Such a clever gameplay mechanic with the physics! The intro was also a nice touch, too! A little bit of sound to liven things up a little would go a long way mind you, but otherwise it's a pretty cool piece of work!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:48pm

I really liked the flooding-like mechanics as you removed parts of the shroomy and the concept was pretty interesting. Nice job!

StMatn says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:10pm

Thank you all very much :) It's nice to read those kind words, but I would love to hear of aspects, I need to improve on (from the view of players) ;)

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Nice little game :D Just needs music. I liked the generation :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]