Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snek

by Esenti - Compo Entry

Turn with A/D.

Eat the blobs smaller that you, avoid the ones that are bigger.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#282Theme3.96
#362Fun3.31
#517Mood2.91
#585Overall3.12
#606Graphics2.88
#693Humor1.59
#856Innovation2.38

Comments

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:43am

118 ! Nice relaxing little game.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Good simplistic twist on a snake game! I was surprised (pleasantly) by the lack of a grid! Made it feel a bit freer.

tanjent says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Good idea, the snake gets slower and more sluggish the larger you become right? Initially (when you were a fast little leech) I thought that switching colors to green was a cheating somewhat, because you could sort of run up to the little blobs and test your size against them and eventually dodge them in the last second to prevent insta-death. But when you got slower it was pretty much necessary to see where the "safe spaces" were so you could plan your route...

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:02am

this was a really cool game - nice job

Rogod says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:35pm

No ability to restart & not particularly long game but fun for a moment or two. Also nice idea with the radius growing rather than the snake's length.
Definitely followed the theme and felt fairly polished.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Nicely done, smooth and relaxing.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Really good and relaxing game !
But is it me or I can't restart after the Game Over ?

Neonlare says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Relaxing, interesting to see a hybrid of snake and fish genres at once, feels like it really could do with some audio feedback and some ambient sounds. Was a fun jaunt and honestly feels really smooth, definitely one of the better snake games this LD. A cool little project~

Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:28pm

136... I really like :D I kinda wish you had the mechanic of the snake length growing though but it was still very good... well done :)

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 8:29pm

fine clone game.

candlesan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:34am

Very relaxing.

foolmoron says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Needs a restart button!

camlang says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Nice game. Old mechanic with little new feature. Want to some music in web version. However, very good entry! Well done!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Pretty chill and cool. It'd make a good app.

kmakai says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 3:13pm

Fun! I thought this was a nice combination of both themes. I think it could definitely use something to fill the white space of the background (at least until the screen is full of blobs!) and some soothing music to go along with it. Great job!

BlackBulletIV says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:39pm

No ability to restart really hurt this game, but I really like the idea and the visuals were minimal but smooth.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]