Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Roguebots

by TijmenTio - Compo Entry

Roguebots is a narrative roguelike about robots that grow consciousness.
Control with mouse (left/right button).
There are 5 levels.
It may be a bit hard! So good luck!

//Update
Apparently there was a bug resulting in not being able to get past level 2

//Update 2
Finally fixed the camera going all apeshit sometimes!

///IMPORTANT///
If you get a d3dxcompile error you need to download
a newer directx. Here's a download link: http://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/download/details.aspx?id=35

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#24Graphics4.44
#28Innovation4.14
#72Humor3.61
#77Overall3.89
#89Audio3.69
#124Mood3.60
#245Fun3.49
#591Theme3.59
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:04am

I won't rate this game yet because I can't play it:

___________________________________________
###########################################
FATAL ERROR in Vertex Shader compilation
ShaderName: shaderPost

D3DXCompile failed - result

at gml_Object_oShaderController_Draw_77
###########################################

Please fix this ^^

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

You need to have directX installed! I'll add in download link asap

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Dont work

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Great game !

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Great art, the gameplay felt really unique but abit hard to understand what to do.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Hey interesting concept and great art. Have to test other rogues

sez says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Wait. What Am I doing? What the glitch is this game? I like it, although the controls are terrible.
Best narrative roguelike I played today.

JaJ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

This is really cool. Loved the music and the connectors at the bottom. I found the camera movements a bit confusing at times but other than that, awesome!

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Controls are not intuitive. Camera is always on a frenzy and it makes the game worse. Things at the bottom were a pain at times. Will play more of it. :)

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

This looks so good. Any chance for a web or Mac build so I can play it?

DragonXVI says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Interesting idea. Tactile UI wasn't clear initially but a neatly presented. My biggest gripe was the rotating camera made it a little disorientating. Nifty though!

Sanguine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:07am

bleep bloop

sick fake 3d! really difficult though :( got to level 4 once but then there was this big fucking robot i couldn't kill :(

duon44 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:20pm

very cool idea, only problem is the gridbased pathfinding combined with the rotating camera

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49pm

Really liked this. Great work!

yokcos700 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Man, if the robots actually went where I clicked, this would be pretty fun. It took me maybe too long to realise that I could possess other robots. The wildly rotating camera is quite nice, I like it. You've got a good game here, but it's held back by how non-obvious its core mechanic is, and by the inaccuracy of movement. If those issues weren't present, it'd be an easy five stars.

sputnik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Really great!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Really interesting idea. Game looks awesome. Especially the uhh.. wire attachy thing with the sort of.. rope physics. Feels really good.

I was confused at first on how to open the guard seals, and I had to back out of the game to find you had to use the mouse, it'd be nice to have had an explanation, but otherwise it was cool.

In terms of the gameplay, this is a really good basis. It'd be nice to have more robot types like.. ones that can float above pits and shit like that to solve puzzles. I found the purple bots completely useless, as it was easier to just warp into all the guard bots (and warp into grey bots in between) until all of the bots were gone. It changed up when there was a power bot but I just stayed out of its range and fired rockets.

The ending as well, is there an alternative ending? It would've been nice if so. I felt like that guy was the antagonist, so my immediately response to him saying "hey he can end it now" was to put the pin into "restart" and restart the level, which meant I had to watch the cutscene again. It'd be nice to be able to defy the machine, portal style.

But yeah, I think you have a really good basis for a game here, it looks fucking awesome. Music is awesome too. My favourite game so far.

Nice one.

CrownCity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:51pm

I like how all your LD-games have a total different style. This one is very innovative and you had me playing for quite some time. Like the rest said: I had to get used to the way the camera works, but it wasn't bad after a while. For some reason I always like your style when it comes to graphics. Juicy! Good job!

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18am

But theme... Damn.

Well played.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:20am

This was very confusing... Having said that, the whole atmosphere was really well done and polished. I like it overall!

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18am

Wow, awesome entry. Art is amazing, especially this wire clip thingie. Great level of overall polish!
The camera tho... oh the camera. The world is still spinning after playing the game for a while. :D
Impressing stuff!

the-arrival says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

impressive gameplay :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Wow, great entry! It was easy to pick up and had an interested mechanic. The art and audio worked well.

ajmalr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

One of my favourites of the compo! An incredibly polished and fun game. I really liked what you did with the alligator clip UI.

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Wait...was the error when I hit ESC at the end intentional? Either way, great entry!

TijmenTio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:10pm

yeah intentional ^^

Steven Miller says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:07am

Absolutely amazing! Extremely well made and very fun.

ethankennerly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:44pm

When I overtook a robot, I felt impressed. If you continue to develop this, when I got to the third level and took over a half dozen robots I wasn't sure what I could do next besides take over another robot and open a door.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:57am

art was phenom - good base for game here - need more interface help - cant tell what to do always - nice effort

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:56am

Fun little game. Slightly confusing when I first encountered the secured door, but I was able to figure it out quickly enough. Wonderful graphics, I might add; great job!

01010111 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:32pm

HOLY CRAP! Even though I don't think I fully understood the gameplay, I still had a lot of fun, and this is definitely the juiciest game I've ever played for LD! Amazing work!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]