Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tamagotchi Hell

by Troyan - Jam Entry

Grow your own Devil!
What could be more beautiful than to see how the little devil with severe childhood becomes a real lord of the underworld?


Give the devil what he wants!
Controls:
Left and Right Arrows
A and D keys
Touch

Team:
Development - Troyan
Graphics - mra4nota
Music - eForm

Enjoy!

20.12.2015 Patch notes
*Fix touch
*Fix bug with blank textures after gameover
*Fix bug with progress bar
*Incres minigame speed

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#616Humor(Jam)2.49
#626Audio(Jam)2.68
#717Graphics(Jam)3.05
#849Mood(Jam)2.69
#940Innovation(Jam)2.38
#1008Overall(Jam)2.68
#1059Fun(Jam)2.17

Comments

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40am

Hi I'm getting a "Connection Refused" error.

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

"Unable to connect"

Rufson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

error site is offline

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:44am

Your server died :( Maybe try hosting on itch.io?

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46am

Error =(

muffty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:47am

can not play, server didnt let me play.

Pandaman3D says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Can't connect... :/

fergarram says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:51am

"Conection refused"‼

Troyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Sorry. Server is down. Trying to host on itch.io

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Unable to connect :(

banana4life says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Definitly feels like Tamagotchi

Troyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58am

Server UP. And i add mirror

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:59am

Art was cool - loved the name. Seems like an interesting idea. Some explanation of what I'm supposed to be doing would have been wonderful.

Troyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:02am

Archonthewizard, i did't have time to create tutorial, But we have all graphics to do that(

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:06am

Think I figured a bit of it out. Not a bad concept, controls are very smooth. Nice artwork.

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

I really liked this one, it was fun and beautiful!

zatch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:14am

Great job on the graphics, audio, and staying on theme! Solid gameplay concepts, but seemed to drag on for too long. That said, I also made a Tamagotchi-style game and feel that I had issues with it dragging on, as well. Tough genre for fun factor -- at least you gave players a little more to do in your game than I did in mine. ;)

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

Cool graphics

Baknik says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

The audio doesn't really suit a fast-paced game, but congrats on finishing a game!

Snowdrama says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

After I game over, it goes to a white screen with only the buttons haha. The first play was interesting. I had no idea what was going on at first though. Without reading the description I have no idea how the controls interact with the game.

Beyond that, good idea! I love the music and the graphics were really nice(until they disappeared lol)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

Nice use of the themes! Graphics are cool, the music was a bit loud though. Congrats.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

feed the devil? i won :P

Troyan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47am

@Snowdrama, thx for finding bug

Dyn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:01am

Simple but addictive gameplay
And awesome art
That's what this game is from my point of view.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50am

good graphical style and interesting concept. I found it slightly difficult to find a pattern to the progression, but perhaps i was not observant enough.

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:07am

I like the graphics, outlay and general theme of this game, however the game itself doesn't have too many new ideas. Good job.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06am

Followed both themes well. Nice.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52am

The gameplay is too repetitive for me.

FlatPivot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55am

Evil bastard

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:06am

The graphics is quite good. It reminds me of Puzzle Agent.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26am

Worked for me, but i didn't understand the concept :/

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:03am

Pretty fun concept indeed, but I would have liked it to be a little more fast paced in the catching of items bit. Can really take a while if you're unlucky when you have to catch 10 items.

The music really fits the game, an eerie song that's fit for Satan's child, heh.

Good grasp on the theme! Well done!

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11am

Everything seemed to work for me. I haven't seen a tamagotchi in years! Great artwork. Great sound. The basket catch minigame could use a bit of speeding up though, I think.

KZdev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30am

This game lives up to its name.

felilix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:41am

Nice music and art! I made it to the second level!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:28am

The idea is really fun! I got to the second level. I like how the mechanics evolve.

I wish the hitbox of the cauldron was only on top. Also the music would have been great to have some hellish sounds in there :D Like flames or devil laughter.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:51am

A little hard to play but a wonderful concept!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:52am

It's pretty confusing. But the art style is nice.

zamotany says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Nice graphics, very good concept and THIS music xD
Is anyone remeber game Lucius? ;P

limered says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Runs just fine. Good concept and interesting idea.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

In my opinion the gameplay needs a bit of pace , but the concept, the music and the mood are so great!

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

I was pretty confused at the beginning, a bit repetitive, but it's a good game with the theme. Good job.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I got confused but the mood is there for sure

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25pm

Nice atmosphere!

SadSmile says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Nice game, just a little bit repetitive. Also, is the static noise wanted?

jeff says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:42pm

I don't understand the gameplay!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Love the art and theme. Gameplay could be a little bit more interesting, but it works well.

CaptainRed_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Worked well for me, unlike most others. I really enjoyed this game actually, great concept.

Firellon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Constant switching of items in buttons without any period (as I thought it to be) is pain in the ass. Nice art, but music is quite disappointing as I think. It's quick pet-feeder, so music should be fast, or dynamic at least. Good theme expansion, though.

danielsann7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

interesting idea, took me a while to figure it out but, when i did, i find a polished game, good job!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22pm

An... odd game that I still am unsure on how to play. Moves by so quickly...

Tasgardyen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Not quite bad.

fullmontis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:24pm

The game goes on at a pace which is really difficult to follow. I think I died at least 5 times before I even knew what I was supposed to do. But besides this the concept is really interesting and fun.

Polith Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48pm

audio crashed sometimes

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Cool game, music was really well done and the graphics were great, really suited the game.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:17pm

I like the idea; a reverse tamogotchi but it needs more content.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24pm

Interesting design and idea!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Cute graphics and great music!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Weird tamagochi game. You should not die in a game like this.

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:08pm

Great job ! I liked to play at your game ! but i saw a little bug if you got 2 items at the same time, you can go over the limit (6/5 objets for exemple) :P

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:28pm

The game needs some form of explaining what's going on. That and it's a bit buggy.

Pusty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

lol I like the idea!

Mekuri says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Nice idea, I manage to figure out what to do. It gets a bit tedious after a while, but I found it interesting to see how the "devil" evolved - Nice graphics.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Like the idea of mixing this type of gameplay into a tamagotchi! The music felt a bit subtle. Nice work!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:34pm

I like the art style. I could unfortunately not get out of the child stage, as the bar always reset. Maybe I did not understand the concept.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Artwork and mood are really top notch. I love the song but it doesnt fit well into the game. Game itself is a bit slow, especially during the falling objects stage and sometimes you have to wait a while for the item you need to show up.

teamross says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:34am

Cool idea and concept!
It was fun to play it : )

2pae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16am

Very nice game, the sound is a little annoying but is very moody!! i love the graphic,style!!!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22am

The game is well done and I liked the idea to raise a little Satan.
To be honestly I got a little bored during the gameplay, maybe the mini-game could be a little faster!
The music is good but I didn't think it fits very well in the game.
Great job guys!

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:12am

I like the concept. Having to go "collect" the bottles breaks up the simple Tamagotchi sections. Nice Job!

antonuklein says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Took me a while to figure out the game and the music started glitching halfway through, but it's all right.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Nice graphic style, that little demon is soooo cute! Good idea with that two buttons, but game turns out a little boring when it's the next time I'm starting again... Anyway, cool game with cute demon c:

Troyan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Thx all, We have some bugs with progress bar on second level. Now i trying to fix that. In post jam version we create more minigames and edit balance on that minigame.

shellbot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01pm

Amazing job on the graphics and audio

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:18pm

I like the art, but once I get the health bar half full, I'm not sure what to do!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Good job on running with both themes. Bizarre themes are always welcome on my watch, and congrats on getting a fair amount of gameplay out of the game. My only real complaints are related to the soundtrack, which seemed overly serious to go well with the graphics, which is a shame since the music is good on it's own. Then, I also experienced some glitches in the audio playback, probably related to buffer handling (or just lag). Maybe you wanted to know.

Good job guys!

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:15am

Feels like a Tamagotchi with all the guessing what it wants.

Move127 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:10am

The gameplay is somewhat repetitive and the minigame where you catch things is mostly just sitting and waiting for what you need to catch. The graphics are great and the music is nice. Outside of the catching things mini game the game is pretty fun.

bogely says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12am

the audio is quite nice, good job with that!

Neonlare says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:10am

Sounds are nice, the game does drag a little bit (especially the catching minigame), art was really good especially for a Jam entry, much more of a mood filled, slightly creepy vibe to the whole deal that was really intriguing whilst playing it, but when I hit the young kid age it kept resetting my growth bar and progress :(.

Good work though, I hope the bug is resolved for a post-patch release.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:22am

It needs some sound effects, but other than that good job.

SoulBound says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:49am

For some reason I found this game very relaxing. The music fits and the graphics are pretty good. Some sound effects to let the player know when they click the wrong Item would have been useful. But aside from that, Great job :)

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:12am

Amazing graphics and very fun idea.

terryg says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:18am

Great game! I like the rate of learning about the game as it progresses. Nicely done.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:58am

Great graphics and sounds ! I like the gameplay and what a delight to become an accomplished evil lord !

Baransu says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I'm growing my own little Devil!!! \m/

Patomkin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:01pm

I tried to play with a mouse and spent five minutes trying to undertand what to do after pots appear. Tried to use cursor keys - voila! - it worked.
The game gets too slow after a while. Still, a really good take on both themes :)

chabuduo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I wish there was some explanation ><

Split82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Very interesting. Very nice music and mood. Good job.

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:28pm

After I figured out what I was doing wrong and understood what I was supposed to do it was great! It was a bit hard when you got to the second level :-) overall good! Great job!

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:58pm

It works for me, and I pretty much like it, but it's pretty annoying when you must catch the falling things. Sometimes it takes too long for the thing you need to fall and you lose absolutely everything if you hit something else with the side of the bowl.

I like the concept, but that particular thing annoyed me. I'm not giving it a low rate because I understand this was made in three days and you may have not have enough time to test it.

Please, fix that and tell me! I'll love to play this game.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:45pm

took me a while to figure out what to do, wasn't exactly clear on what circle meant what, but once I understood the UI, it was fun.

simple little tomogatchi-like game, good job :)

Bracal says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:39am

Jar sequences take forever, correct items barely spawn.

Allthebees says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:03am

The art is beautiful but the audio really put me off.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15am

The music and art plays together well to set the mood.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:08pm

God I really wanted to play this one but I can't figure out what's going on for the life of me. I give it a red bottle and the bar fills up, a white one and it goes down? Sometimes I do a red one and it goes down.

Agghh!

I won't do a rating yet, since I need to actually understand the game first :P

Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:44pm

It was uncomprehensible at first. It would have helped with audio or visual feedback whenever I did the right or wrong thing. Once I figured out what I was supposed to do, it got pretty boring. Nice graphics though.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:44pm

As a tamagotchi, i didn't feel the typical feedback that they usually offers!
But audio and graphics were nice ! :)

23 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:37am

The idea and the status screens are cut, but unfortunately the gameplay feels pretty repetitive and punishing... Speeding up drops and using a "bag" like tetris could help with that.

Wicked7000 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:42pm

The game was pretty good however I feel as though the game is a tad boring but overall the game is very well done I just think there needs to be better mechanics and it would be amazing other than that good work on your entry!

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:31pm

It has a nice concept, but the mechanics are old and I got bored too fast. Keep up with the good work, tho!

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Terrific music.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:58am

A bit repetitive, the second minigame can get tedious pretty fast due to spawning mechanism (too random, good item every 5 steps/some deterministic lanes/maybe different speeds etc could help). Definately missing poop & cleanup

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Great idea, I like the concept and your implementation, but the cauldron segments drag on quite a bit in the later stages especially if you make a mistake as you try and pick up your 15th item, very unforgiving :(

Drauthius says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Had a lot of performance issues; a few slowdowns and the music started stuttering after a while. The game was not very engaging. It missed a lot of "juice"; sound effects and visual queues when something happens or something was pressed. Made it feel quite stale and unrewarding.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 2:22am

Not so bad start idea, but becomes a little boring to the end. I gave up on the forth level, before I fall asleep on my keyboard. :P Drawings, idle animations and music are well and polished, but gameplay is too slow. ;)

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Cool idea, the music was great and the graphics were nice. I thought some of the mini-games, especially later in the game, lasted a bit too long, but other than that really cool!

stefenism says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I think it's a bit repetitive but I like the idea. Well done.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 1:40am

Tamagotchi-like, but a great execution !

fxtagn says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 5:24pm

ama satan grover, babe!

Muel says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 9:18pm

The concept is awesome, but I think it needs a few tweaks.
The main problem, to me, is that minigame - it's fun at the start, but when the number of different items increase, the item you want takes too long to come and it gets waaay boring.

My suggestion is reducing the item scope to just the ones from the past level (example, on the teen level, only dolls, cars, videogames and books appear, the baby bottles are ditched).

Overall, nice idea. =)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Dat music tho

cilerba says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:05pm

This was a cool idea. You should continue to expand upon it!

Xanjos says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Interesting concept. Could do with some sort of sounds to tell me whether I chose the right/wrong thing though.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:47pm

[ETC from Creative Sectors]
It has an interest twist on the themes and overall have a nice feeling in itself. Sometimes I found myself stucked by timing kills. The atmosphere is unique and it has potential. When I saw Tamagotchi I started to remember those pixelated versions. It can be more evil, like a Happy Tree Friends-like game. The visuals and music is blending together really well.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]