Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Just an Beaver

by lekiy - Compo Entry

You the forest Grower have come of age and must find a new place to grow a forest.
But forces wish to stop you...

Protect your forest from the beavers!

game starts when you plant seeds.
only mouse needed.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#236Graphics3.59
#279Humor2.81
#380Innovation3.32
#412Fun3.24
#476Audio2.64
#514Theme3.69
#519Overall3.19
#559Mood2.86

Comments

fede0d says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:55am

Great graphics! I liked the gameplay but it turns too difficult too fast. Maybe some tweaks like a spawning in waves or something like that could help.
Very fun to play. I found myself smashing the buttons on my mouse :D

psypol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56am

my windows default antivirus goes crazy about this exe. any chance you put a zip instead ?

lekiy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:25am

Yeah I can put it in a zip no problem

blackwires says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Looks great !

Eingya says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:54am

A bit hard but overall solid release.

Although keep in mind that a straight up .exe rather than an installer is a way more immediate way to distribute

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:56am

Didn't really understand what to do, but the game looks very good.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:01am

lol so funny. and so hard. They kept eating my seeds. or plants. those pesky beavers. xD sounds were annoying at times but the movement was cute.

parias001 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:19am

I had fun with your game! Is simple and has a great gameplay!

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:26am

Nice game, simple and fun! Good Job!

Starspell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:57am

Wow. I managed to get up to 2/6 trees - but only by planting them way in the corner and then standing diagonally across from them and mashing the attack button. Beavers everywhere!

I like the concept. The controls really need explaining better - I didn't even know you could attack at first. The tress also need proper health bars so they don't get destroyed the moment a beaver touches them - I think that's way too hard.

I liked it overall though - especially the cute jumping animations.

astrophics says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Really fun game! It's just those damn beavers man, they are annoying! (in a good way)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]