Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Drone Racer

by Anshul Goyal - Compo Entry

Drone Racer puts you in the shoes of a drone owner. When you pick up a controller and start moving around the two thumb sticks, you actually feel like you are operating an actual drone. The realistic enough controls and the beauty of seeing the world from the top will leave you with a desire to want one in the real life. Drone Racer is packed with 6 challenges and a practice arena. The challenges difficulty will grow progressively as you move from one challenge to another. Each and every challenge is designed to test your reaction time, maneuvering skills and the speed with which you operate your drone.

Complete all 6 challenges and obtain your performance report :)

The theme is used in the following two ways:
- Every successive challenge will grow in difficulty than the previous one. I have used the theme "grow" in a more tangible or emotional way rather than something physical.
- When playing with a controller, it requires two buttons i.e. Left Thumb-stick and Right Thumb-stick. (This is definitely debatable :D).

Controls:
BEST PLAYED WITH XBOX360 CONTROLLER.
Right Thumb-stick (Forward and Backward) - Pitch - Maneuvers drone forward and backward.
Right Thumb-stick (Left and Right) - Roll - Maneuvers drone left or right.
Left Thumb-stick (Forward and Backward) - Throttle - Adjust the altitude.
Left Thumb-stick (Left and Right) - Yaw - Points to the front and helps with changing directions while flying.
Left Thumb-stick Click + Right Thumb-stick Click - Skip Challenge
A - All other interactions

Corresponding Keyboard Mappings:
Left Thumb-stick - WSAD
Right Thumb-stick - Arrow Keys
Enter - Skip Challenge
Space - All other interactions

Tech Used:
Unity3D Personal Edition
Adobe Photoshop CS5
Bfxr

ALL feedback is welcome!

THANKS FOR PLAYING!!!

EDIT 1:
1) After receiving some really good feedback. I took time to smoothen the controls -> Drone Racer Post Compo build (https://s3.amazonaws.com/anshulgo.com/jams/droneracer/postcompo/index.html)
2) For some reason Unity webGL build couldn't recognize the controller even if it is already connected. I really appreciate if you could please download the standalone version for better experience.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#653Audio2.09
#689Humor1.64
#827Graphics2.34
#835Mood2.18
#847Innovation2.42
#857Fun2.48
#935Overall2.46
#960Theme1.88

Comments

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:01am

I like the challenges, but I feel like some things could improve a bit:

When releasing the Arrow key buttons, it pop's back into horizontal flying mode, I think for it to be more realistic it should slowly go back to horizontal mode? Also when releasing WASD it instantly stops, this could use some more 'slowing down' too ;)

Pepejson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Quite challenging game. You could improve moving to look more natural however it's still good game :)

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Bit of a learning curve on the drone controls, but by the time I got to the last level it was fun to fly through the frames. Had to download, couldn't get controller right stick to work on WebGL player on Mac.

mukult says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:43pm

It gets tedious after a while... its really difficult to manoeuvre!

Bit good attempt, its not easy to make the flight controls! :)

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Neat game. Navigation is incredibly difficult because of camera's field of view - on drones it's usually wide-angled lense

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

FRUSTRATION! And I like it :3
But nice game, works well

quill18 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38pm

I actually enjoyed this a lot! I think the "feel" of the flying would be improved if the drone took a moment to come to rest when you release the controls and also if it drifted a little. That would make the game a bit more challenging though!

angela says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:06pm

Very original idea.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:37pm

It's a nice game, but the drone is a little hard to control.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

I like the levels you've created. Playing on a controller really does the trick. Nice game.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00am

Nice game idea.. It is very difficult to control the game. so there you might have some more polishing work to do. But overall it is a good game. I like challenging games!

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:20am

Not bad. Unpolished, but good effort.

LittleThor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Don't work on WebGL for me :/
I am not sure to understand the link with the theme.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:23pm

does not fully work with my 360 controler, i cant go forward
i cant go up or down with my keyboard
i can't use both at the same time to compensate

i did that on the web version

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:03am

neat flight sim kind of thing - nice for compo

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Fun, I felt compelled to get at far as I could!
I like it :)

KZdev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:20pm

I played with a controller as recommended. This was challenging and pretty fun, I'm actually about to check out the post-compo version now.

herniewise says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:26pm

It was fun to play! Nice game.

teamvr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:57am

Fun on keyboard. I got the drone feel but 3rd person view would have been cool.

local minimum says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:50pm

I tried, but only left side stick was reacting in the game. The right side did nothing, so I could only fly up and down and look around.

dregamr says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Well done, but I think that a little more speed would be better. ;)

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:27pm

Feels good to buzz around. Super-challenging to get all the objectives within the time limit after the first level. I would love to have a city environment or something to fly around in. Fun game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]