Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Isn't that crate?

by Codexus - Jam Entry

You need to press the two buttons to open the doors. And then things get complicated...

Solo jam entry.

There are only 4 levels. The first 3 are not too hard but the 4th one will probably be more challenging.

IMPORTANT READ THIS FIRST: You will need to reset levels after failed attempts by pressing ESC and selecting the RESTART LEVEL option.

CHROME USERS: Sorry Chrome no longer supports the Unity webplayer please complain to Google and use another browser. WebGL export doesn't work :/ I'll add exes soon.

WASD to move, SPACE to JUMP, left mouse button to push crates!
For full screen in webplayer right mouse click and select full screen (should run at native resolution but you may need a fast graphics card).

Note: I opted out of the audio category because I used a music generator that basically gave me a random music ready to use. While that's not technically against the rules I think it's more fair for people who composed a music themselves.

EDIT: Fixed a show stopping issue with the in game menu in the hour after the submission hour. Also fixed one minor issue with one sound effect. Added win32 version (known issue: menus are not properly scaled/centered for different resolutions)

EDIT2: Fixed some silliness with power conduits off by one due to eyes not open yesterday at 3am (doesn't affect gameplay, just looks silly)

EDIT3: Recompiled a version with lower quality settings in case you have problems running the normal version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#195Graphics(Jam)4.04
#427Overall(Jam)3.41
#615Fun(Jam)3.04
#832Humor(Jam)1.82
#853Mood(Jam)2.68
#896Innovation(Jam)2.50
#1030Theme(Jam)2.58

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48am

Really pretty game!

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15pm

Great work in 3d to be made in 48 hours. Ill definitelly try unity.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Pretty game! I don't see how it fits in the themes though?

kanatohodets says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:19pm

Wow, that's some polish! The 4th puzzle was, as promised, very tricky :)

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Fun game! Really great job on the modeling, the art and animation looks very polished.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:50pm

BEAUTIFULL AS F***

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:53pm

GG nice work on the graphics

vinipereira says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Good game! But the theme wasn`t contempled... Good puzzles!

wccrawford says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:50pm

I'm pretty sure my solution for the final method wasn't the intended one. But nice game!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Very interesting game, it looks pretty good! :)

Codexus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:48pm

@wccrawford, haha, I didn't have time to really play test it enough. I found 2 alternative ways to do it, there are probably more.

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:31am

Graphics are really cool. puzzles are fun. I do wish the music and sfx fit better with being trapped in a room, but still fun to play.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:11pm

It must be !

Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Cool 3D graphics for a jam!

teamvr says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:20am

Great stuff for time frame!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Nice done! a bit too slow for my taste but still a really really nice game! ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]