Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Capling

by Xgor - Compo Entry

This is a fun little endless climbing game. To climb you have to shoot your two grappling anchors diagonally to climb.

Tip: if you shoot both right and left anchor at the same time you will climb upwards and stabilize.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#131Fun3.68
#150Humor3.23
#335Overall3.42
#361Innovation3.35
#372Theme3.86
#420Audio2.76
#490Mood2.94
#719Graphics2.62

Comments

cppchriscpp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47am

AUUUUUUUUUUUUUHHHH!!!!!

Simple. Fun. I enjoyed it. My high score is 66m. On that note, it would have been really nice to keep/show a high score.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39am

Very fun, and as it had been said, it would be so great to have a high score :)

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Funny ! and addictive

Juin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:10pm

I think it would've been great if you could actually control where your hooks are going. That would add more depth to it than just pressing left or right at the correct times.

rosden shadow says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:17pm

the sound when you die and way you die make the game

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:32pm

I felt your pain every time I died :) I thought my game was hard, damn..

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Damn this is difficult. Fun though, keeps you wanting to try just once more. AAAUUUUHHHH!
Good work

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:24pm

Really addictive

joekinglake says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:32pm

SUPER difficult, but I really enjoyed it! Great work :)

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:39pm

this is very difficult, somehow remind me of one of the battle toads level lol
it sounds really scary when it died

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:50pm

My prediction says that this game is going to win LD 34!

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I climbed 309m btw :)

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:38pm

This is fun. I think it would be nice to see a health bar or something, since you can hit the wall sometimes and be fine, but immediately die other times.

kaynank says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:49pm

I'm not sure if the death sound was supposed to be funny or infuriating, but it was kind of both. Had me cracking up.

Luke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36am

That death sound... it's fabulous.

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39am

brilliant, best so far. the controls are perfect!

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52am

Simple and fun, I loved it but he died too easily :P

Drunkain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54am

Can't manage to rate other games cause i'm stuck on yours forever until I die.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53pm

fun and addictive

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Very fun and challenging, has play-ability which I like

WASDMagician says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:49pm

67 oh yes

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Wow. This is FUN. Nice idea an implementation too.

Didi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:13pm

Hahaha this is fun and chalanging! Well Done!

mrStrings says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Hey, nice work! Gameplay is fluid and interesting (and hard), congratz!
If you could, it would be nice to add more control options... as someone with only one control key and a touchpad, I had some trouble at the beginning - then I decided to use one hand keyboard other mouse (nail'd it!).

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Great game, enjoyed playing. Only got up to 30m in the 10+ attempts I had.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25am

It was quite challenging, but still enjoyable. A solid entry, nice job!

fabulis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Very cool, good job

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

I got 64!!! haha! Nice mechanics, and I could find many ways of playing it!

ajmalr says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12pm

90m! Fun game!

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57pm

pretty fun! and the dying had me everytime lol. it's simple it feels good.

I do find it hard to keep the vertical momemtum after you used one grapple to adjust a bit. I can never get back to the momentum I had.

also I found it's pretty useful to switch from using both buttons at the same time and using them altenately. great execution on the theme.

Supernaught says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Tough but really satisfying to master! I wish there were other controls though, as my laptop doesn't have a right Ctrl and I'm on touchpad. But other than that this game's really fun. 5/5 would AUUUUGHHH again!

Xgor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:26pm

@Supernaught @mrStrings
Added more buttons for the game including S and K that should work for pretty much every keyboard. As it's also uses unity Input it can be bound in the launcher.

Also really love the positive responses to this game! Seems like this is my most sucessful LD game yet. :D

teamvr says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:52pm

A fun climb.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:53pm

This game is amazing! Love it! :D

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Excellent game! The controls are simple to understand, and act consistently enough for the game to not feel unfair, even when it's difficult. I'm not very good at it though, I only managed 54m!

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Nice, it's hard to get correct rhythm. Simple, but really addictive.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Death sound is epic )
Really nice entry, very addictive. Death upon colliding walls is very confusing, it would be better if there were certain places to die (saws or spikes), not whole wall )

Xgor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:52pm

@Gipzo I was considering doing that first but I noticed that I found it more fun that the walls became both your enemies and friends.
@jeroenwimmers alternating does goes faster if you really know what you are doing but if you do too slow it will just kill you. Using both at the same time is better for newcomers so I recommended that.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:26am

Hard game!!! Liked the concept and the theme matched perfectly. My best was like 30m.. I really sucked.

The audio could be improved.. it is comic art, not horror, you know.. ;)

Xgor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:32am

@nunesbarbosa I know that they don't completely add up. I was kinda planning going more serious and horrific for a while so that's why the visuals and sound kinda is going different directions against each other.

SK16 Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:15am

129!!!(!)!
Simple, yet very fun and addictive :D Add some highscores/leaderboards and you have the new addictive game of the year!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:59am

So funny and hope to see the mobile version.

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:27am

Fun but pretty tricky to recover once things have gone south :)

bradur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:13am

Funny little game. A bit difficult at first but it grows on you.

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:26am

Most addictive game that I have played so far :D Very cool idea!

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Super clever idea. It would be maybe cool if springs have higher damping. Anyway great entry. Thanks!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Pretty nice, great idea, but I'd say the velocity at which you die is a little too sensitive. Maybe it's just me though..

Sounds effects could use some work, but the fact that you had them at all is good though! Pretty nice polish overall with the little details like screenshake, stretching etc.

Also the level graphics style is cool. Great job!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:12pm

Nice simple idea. Great use of physics! You get an extra point in audio from me for that death sound.

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Very, very simple game. But it has original idea. Nice work!!!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:48am

Good job! I think it's a bit easy when using both mouse buttons at the same time. I recommend restricting it to one at a time.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:40pm

SOOOOOO HAAAARD AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAUUUUUUUUUUUUHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Well who doesn't like grappling anchors, amiright?

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:39pm

Man that was hard! I couldn't pass 42m for some odd reason! Very clever idea, loved it! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: using cached page]