Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Multitasking Madness

by Benn - Compo Entry

Welcome to Multitasking Madness!

How many games can you play at once? This game is a series of small games put together, each using two buttons to control. Can you handle the pressure?

I completely ran out of time on this one, it was wayyy too overambitious!

Unfortunately that means the things I normally do near the end like tutorialise the game, add sounds and music, intro and outro screens all didn't make it. Lessons learned - keep it simple!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#259Innovation3.52
#331Graphics3.38
#509Fun3.12
#544Overall3.16
#617Theme3.56
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

I'm a fan of multitasking games like these, but there are a few areas of execution that I think you slipped up in. The most glaring is that there is no scoring system, and more importantly no penalty for failing a minigame (so long as you have another one open somewhere else). Instead of having a fun, frantic, multitasking experience, it's far too easy to just focus on one minigame and neglect the rest without punishment.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48am

Agree very much with Nick's thoughts. Lots of potential here though! I like the graphic designs.

anissen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Really awesome idea! I played this game for waay too long :P I could keep the other games alive using the yellow game long after the green game was insta-killed. Too bad there's no score. Could also use some sound effects.
But other than that, great game. Reminds me a bit of WarioWare Inc. crossed with Typing of the Dead ;)

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:09am

I played this game for like five minutes until I suddenly realized that since there is no scoring system there isn't really any incentive for me to play for a long time. Plus, I'm pretty sure I do way less multitasking than I already do. :P Good game though.

danidre14 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:13am

Hard! xD

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:47am

Super hard! Loved it!! My only complaint was that the keys were so far from each other in each game (which I assume was done on purpose!!) Great usage of the theme, very fun!!

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Really cool ! I would've liked scores but I had fun playing.

gallerdude says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:15pm

It was fun! Graphics good, good simple gameplay on all the challenges which is important. Good overall.

ciaodavinci says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:31pm

I enjoyed the franticness of it; however I did not last more than a few rounds if I concentrated on more than one game. Maybe starting off with just one game and progressively add the rest would create a better difficulty curve. Experienced control conflicts when the same key appeared for more than one mini-game. Nice design and lots of potential!

dvdfu says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Fun, but overlapping/changing buttons gets kind of annoying. Still, I like these kinds of entries!

StaNov says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 4:45pm

Omg too hard! :D

But nice :) Minimalistic graphics, nice idea :)

Claire1605 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Fun game but I was confused on my first couple of plays how to stop the rocket from falling (and only just realised I could scroll down for the instructions on the page) so having just some basic in game instructions would be good. Also scoring and lives visible would be cool. Overall a great entry though.

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:58pm

It was ok. I didn't enjoy it, and sometimes the same key was used in two sections at same time. It has some potential, and I liked that. It got very frustrating for me too quickly. Nice graphics, and very cool idea.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:01pm

Cool game. Challenging.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:47pm

Color coding all the minigames was a cute idea given the minimalism of the graphics. There was a game with a similar concept a couple LDs ago except it was skinned as a four-pronged assault on humanity by a group of pigs, and it was funny! Which is the real appeal of WarioWare type games-- the humor.

Solifuge says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:56am

Clever mechanic, and a good take on the theme! Randomized keys were a nice touch, but them changing mid-game made this neurologically impossible to do by Muscle Memory, which is what people do to learn these kind of extremely difficult mental challenges and reflex games. Also, getting duplicate keys made some of the games impossible to succeed, just due to bad RNG, which is frustrating for players; I'd suggest unique keys.

That said, I really enjoyed the visual presentation, and the gameplay was a fun challenge. Thanks for putting it together!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]