Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Evilator

by Dyn - Compo Entry

You're elevator! Don't you think you're special? Yes, you are!
That's why you need to grow up and be the best one.

You need some experience and you will receive a lot. By killing some pity people. But don't rush, because if your reputation goes down to zero, locals will send you to the landfill.

To receive reputation bring people to the desired floor.
You will loose it, if people will wait too long. And after someone dies. Still little use for them.

Controls:
W or Up - accelerate (going up)
Space - breaks (stops)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#41Humor3.86
#121Innovation3.80
#219Graphics3.63
#254Mood3.32
#278Audio3.09
#282Theme3.96
#292Overall3.48
#301Fun3.39

Comments

JaCkJoKeZ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45am

Hey, great game! It was a bit confusing at first, I didn't really know if I was holding the button right or if my keyboard was working, but once I got the controls down, it was great! I played for like a half-hour haha. I could see this being a great mobile game if you decide to expand upon it 4/5*

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54pm

The windows version linked to a "page not found", and the web version came up with the error "An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: incorrect header check"

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Nice

Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:56pm

The web version is broken. It says "An error occured running the Unity content on this page. See your browser's JavaScript console for more info. The error was:
uncaught exception: incorrect header check"

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Thanks @alyphen and @SuperChihuahua
Some problems with hosting.
I checked and it should be fine now.

vegapomme27 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Man the idea is so cool ahhaha ! I love that concept. Graphics are cool, music is funny too. It lacks smoothness in controls and sometimes it looks like they didn't want to enter in the elevator.
Good job. Nice "growing" interpretation.

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Oh boy this was fun. I killed so many people without any bad intent. They've had a little too much trouble taking a small step (1px height?) just outside the elevator when I parked nearly perfectly (I figured they need to drop).

It would've been great if all the UI also used quick pixel graphics and fonts.

Also can you visually tell what story you are on without counting from top/bottom? If so I missed that.

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Good game! It would be nice if passengers managed to leave the elevator if it's slightly lower than the floor, or enter if it's slightly higher.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Who would have thought such a simple game would have been so enjoyable.

antag99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Damn, never thought being an elevator could be that hard... cool game!

Oxeren says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Cool! :)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Retro style rules! I have fun by playing in both ways.

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

Well, I feel like a horrible person. That was awesome. Great game!

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:17pm

hahaha! really nice entry! good job!

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Such a good idea! Executed really well.

sleepYxy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Never thought that being an elevator could be that much fun! It's so addictive I don't know why :D

The instructions dont' become clear at the beginning though and the AI won't move out fast enough :P

Fun game!

Robber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Funny Game! why did a zombi take the elevator ?
wish it had more levels! nice job

Rulrite says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Nice to see someone else going with the 'elevator' idea, although you approached it in a vastly different way! I really like the concept, and the game has a great sense of progression thanks to the upgrade system.

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:40am

Not bad! Good idea you've got there.

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:46am

I have always wanted to know how it feels to be an elevator... and now I know!

Nice pixel art and music, although you could have had some elevator music.

Nice that you put in progression and power ups. Great job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07am

I absolutely loved this! The music is catchy. I will never be upset waiting too long for an elevator because now I understand the struggle!

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44am

Brilliant concept!

I like the elevator's nose. And that people will run into the shaft after you've left. And will happily ride the top of the elevator. And attempt to exit normally at their desired floor.

Minor complaints:
- the responsiveness of the controls is sloppier than I'd like
- people should be able to step up if the floor's a smidge high.
- people die a little too easily (this seems to be fixed in the latest version)
- if people fall into the shaft, it seems like they should die from the fall or get squashed when the elevator comes down

These things didn't stop me at all from continuing to play, of course, they just added friction. I'd love to see this further expanded upon.

Some small ideas:
- People could have a new "injured" state that they can reach before dying. In this state, they move slower and give less rep from a successful trip.
- You could get a notification when someone starts to wait, and/or see a count of how many people are waiting at each floor.

argowen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05am

I thought I was doing good by killing the people in the lift all the time :P

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:17am

I think this game will win.
I was left wanting more and more. I think you're better off not having a game over at all, but rather just having some other penalty because I didn't want to start back at square one. Just keep giving me more floors, and more speed and maybe eventually another elevator to be trying to control concurrently. This game has a lot of potential.

My favorite game so far.

tjxx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:39am

Played the web version. Well made and almost addicting.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:19am

Love the old school art style. Takes me back to the original kings quest series.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:38am

This was really fun!! Very simple concept but I found it very enjoyable. Kinda reminded me of Papers Please somehow! Music was a bit repetitive. Awesome and innovative gameplay!

Crosstales says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51am

Love it^^

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18am

Funny mech :D The gore fitted ;)

LabOne says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Cool game, but elevator so slow.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Pretty interesting game, although I honestly wasn't 100% sure of what was going on~

Ace says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Nice idea, just that the controls felt a bit clunky. Can't exactly say what was wrong with them, but they didn't feel right.

The art is beautiful though.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Nice concept and game mechanisms. Poor humans, really weak body, to become a bloody/fleshy pudding for a little "jump" like this :p
Anyway, good job. :)

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Haha, brilliant game xD Even with this graphic it was still fun being and elevator, I enjoyed it xd

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:17pm

My first idea was to control an elevator but I ended up doing a different kind of game. Glad to see someone else has realized that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]