Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Uncertainty Principle

by radmars - Jam Entry

The Uncertainty Principle!
You awaken on a strange spaceship! Try and find a way out of this horrible nightmare~ Make your choices, or choose BOTH! Splitting the timeline can be dangerous, but saves precious time.

Note: audio may be a bit weird on Firefox, so if you're having issues, try Chrome.

controls:
a / left => choose the left option
d / right => choose the right option
both directions => choose both (split timeline)

team radmars
codin: adhesion, brendo, emarcotte, roushey
artin: brendo, roushey, steakzzz
music: adhesion
story: brendo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#70Mood(Jam)4.00
#153Graphics(Jam)4.13
#164Audio(Jam)3.67
#189Overall(Jam)3.70
#240Innovation(Jam)3.52
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#287Humor(Jam)3.08
#304Fun(Jam)3.43

Comments

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Nice choice game.

StrehFox says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Interesting concept! Could definitely see this going somewhere.

zatch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25am

Very nice look and feel! Simple mechanics are easy to jump right into. Graphics and humor are right up my alley.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:45am

Great game and great graphics! One of the more interesting games I have played so far.

architect404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:33pm

nice art and atmosphere, felt like a classic unforgiving choose your own adventure book, nice to see multiple endings. great work!

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:19am

This is super super cool. The split timeline option is really interesting, but got too confusing for me to keep track of, so I ended up playing through the "traditional" way to two victory conditions. Are there more? The actual gameplay is light, but the mood is awesome, and I'm extremely impressed that you managed to condense a point'n'click down to two buttons. The illustrations are great and add a ton of interest. I went back through a second time just to enjoy the art. Also: I laughed pretty much every time a game over screen gave me a choice on which way to die. xD Overall, great submission and very clever.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:25am

Pretty interesting I'd have to say. lots of trial and error, but I enjoyed figuring out the puzzles. Good job!

Galan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:33am

Really cool concept and very well executed. Only potential complaint I have is that split timelines can be difficult to keep in your head, but the fun, almost hectic pace means that you don't have to. Also, helps to put the player in the characters shoes, assuming their also experiencing the split timeline.

Boberro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:23pm

I had to read the comments to find out about split timelines (I know it was in the instructions, but somehow I didn't notice it). Good that it wasn't really needed.

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:14pm

Interesting idea and pretty well made.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:40pm

The splitting timeline mechanic is great! Unfortunately I escaped the first time around, so I had to go back to check out all the ways I could die. But it gets especially fun when you split the timeline.

One thing though. I seem to be able to win by just splitting the timeline constantly. I'm sure this is not intended, because it would trivialize gameplay.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:38am

Wow really enjoyed this.
Great idea, nice execution and the art is absolute gorgeous.
Good job!

bwatanabe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:40am

Great art!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:00am

Cool choose your own adventure. Like the somewhat sarcastic choice of your own death. Nice job.

Stending says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:15pm

Wow, awesome concept, execution, art, music, everything ._.
You're rocking every LD, that's incredible.
One of the best entry for me!

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Trippy experiment :) great and original visuals, i was not sure of what i was doing but i panicked , run in circles, panicked then splittime split time split time...
And i won in confusion :)
Great effort with hand made draws and atmosphere !

the31 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:18am

Interesting idea, although I feel like more could have been done with it. It was hard to tell what the consequences for some actions are... I won once by doing something then heading to the escape pod, and again just by mashing keys. Neat art and style, though.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:30pm

How interesting a melonjs game here. And it is not a platformer. Finished in about 5 mins. Nice graphics but i liked more the music. Well done!

SamH says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 1:46am

Excellent mood and artwork! A bit short, but interesting enough that I tried several possibilities to win (and lose!) in different ways.

jachepe says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 11:42am

Interesting idea! maybe need more difficult in the choices

Dreyan says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Love, love, love your art! (: Interesting game, nice use of the theme.

Gipzo says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:07am

Nice art and game idea :)

Raius says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 12:52am

This was fantastic, especially the splitting the timeline mechanic.

One of my favourites so far for sure, keep it up guys :)

Dec 31, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Pssst - you are featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KdfLy2MjNRs

klianc09 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:45pm

That split timeline feature is a really cool idea. Having to control both timelines alternating instead of finishing one after another made it a bit chaotic, but I still like it.
Also liked the art in this one. Still some transitions between screens would have been nice, so that observers also see what choice has been made.

Jwatt says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:51pm

That was one wild ride. I don't go "woah" about LD entries often. Concept aside, it has solid audio design and a visual style that stands out.

Take this to the next level in post-jam development and have the timelines influence each other somehow, that would make for some great puzzles.

LeReveur says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:14am

I really like the concept of trying both choices, and go on with two timelines ! Well done !

Bering says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 2:09am

This game is a crazy good way to introduce quantum mechanics and the matter wave nature! Love it! :-)

yuigoto says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:30am

Nice graphics! The concept of splitting the timeline and playing both at the same time is also a great one!

Nice work with audio too! It helps set up some nice mood! :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]