Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Carrion Forge: Fusion Gunship

by Dining Philosopher - Jam Entry

Grow your spaceship by salvaging thrusters, lasers, shields and sensors from the ships that you destroy.


Controls: Arrow keys to rotate and fire thrusters, Space to fire lasers.

Tools: Phaser, Gimp, jfxr and google hangouts.

Made by FrozenFractal, Marten, Job, Otto and me from Germany, Sweden, the Netherlands and the UK.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#86Innovation(Jam)3.84
#125Fun(Jam)3.72
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#389Theme(Jam)3.80
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#627Graphics(Jam)3.23

Comments

dekart says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

I think it's a great game concept!

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33am

This is really fun! This is the best game I've played so far. I really like the modular aspect of building your space ship. Unfortunately, I got so big that the game tried to die on me. But then I just went into super 360 mode and tried killing everything for as long as I could.

The graphics, music, and presentation was also incredible.

Very very nice work! :)

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Really great fun! Once I got the hang of it it didn't take long for my ship to become a big floppy mess. I didn't know which way was forward, but with so many cannons it didn't matter :).

lordsavage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

A great idea, and executed well to - Brutally hard though :)

Very good work.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:08am

It's like Katamari Damacy but with more lasers :D

Komradus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:11am

Really fun once I got the hang of it. Tough to control but that's the idea I guess. The game does crash occasionally when there are a lot of things on the screen.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40pm

The game is silly. Fun but sill. Biggest issue is that the game starts to bog down in performance fast. Best way to play is just turn and shoot, collect the parts from aftermath. :D

Rodaja says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Had a lot of fun growing the ship in such a chaotic way, and it became hard to control the ship when I had engines in different directions.

It became kind of easy to survive, though.

Good job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Nice game and concept. Found it really hard at first, would have liked more time at the start before getting attacked so much. Once you get the hang of it the game is more fun.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:57pm

good graphic and atmosphere!
please make the play button at the beginning, I have no time to read tutorial.
good work, smells like teen spirit :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:00pm

Thanks for all the comments and feedback so far! You all have good points. Our defense is the over-used "yeah we know, but Ludum Dare and not enough time to fix everything".

Who knows, maybe we'll clean things up later ;)

bakudas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Good idea! Great job

batmanasb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13am

WOW, those mechanics. Could you please zip up the source code so I don't have to use git to get it. Also, can you explain how you made it modular? Is each part an object? How do they attach? This can help me so much!

Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:58am

@batmanasb: You don't have to use git: you can browse the source via https://bitbucket.org/ttencate/ld34/src and download a zip of the master branch via https://bitbucket.org/ttencate/ld34/downloads.

We used Phaser.js with its built-in P2 physics system. Each component is an individual object (see src/component.ts). We attach them using a LockConstraint, which is supposed to glue them together rigidly, but as you can see it has quite a bit of floppiness. Additionally, we maintain a tree structure of which components are attached to which, so we can control them from the ship's core and detach them correctly* when something blows up.

If you have more questions, hit me up via @frozenfractal on Twitter or thomas@frozenfractal.com on plain old email!

*Mostly correctly. Sometimes something crashes inside Phaser, and we never got to the bottom of why.

batmanasb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:54pm

@dining, aww... I was hoping you wouldn't say that lol. The engine I'm using (Godot Engine) doesn't have a fixed/lock constraint (although it has one that doesn't lock rotation). Thanks anyways, nice job on the game.

psychonull says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:44pm

Cool game. Great concept and use of theme. Congratulations!!

Dayko says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:13pm

12900, 16 parts, that was cool ! Good game concept and the hectic pace was perfect

Larzan says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:06am

This is a great concept, i bet it would work very well with multiplayer too, you should think about continuing the work on it!

utgarda says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Lots of fun! Really hangs the first several times though, probably loading new assets.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:49pm

An absurdly silly game. Really good concept and fun to boot.

chabuduo says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 3:20am

fantastic game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]