Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Snowman's Land

by fishtrek - Compo Entry

An endless roller featuring a sentient snowball - roll through snow to keep yourself healthy and don't get trapped.

Press Space to jump, Shift to boost (at the cost of some mass)

extra author's notes: I might polish up a bit after the comp, just as a portfolio thing when less stressed. But I'm pretty happy with it as a basic prototype and I think the music came out alright given the time restrictions.

My projects folder has a few LD files dating back to this time in 2012 and earlier but I never finished any of those games, so I'm happy to finally finish something in time for the compo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#205Audio3.27
#245Fun3.49
#276Overall3.51
#391Theme3.84
#405Mood3.06
#426Graphics3.20
#489Humor2.35
#498Innovation3.13

Comments

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Very good entry on the infinite runner genre. The idea of a snowball that grows/shrinks according to the terrain was really nice.

guoboism says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:54am

Game is fun. The control feels great! The music is nice!

Bugs : Restart might cause space not working (Win7 64)
Also, installer is troublesome for jam rater, as they has to uninstall..

uvwar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

Nice Dutch angles, awesome music too (reminded me of Donkey Kong Country). I felt like there wasnt much to it, as I could hold jump to keep myself bouncing efficiently. Maybe if there were rocks in the path to disrupt the even 'flow' of things? Maybe snow drifts in the snow areas as well you need to 'boost' through which increases size. Just some ideas!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:45am

Very simple, but rather fun! The music is lovely too, although having to install the game is a pain.

Congrats on finishing in time!

purenickery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:08am

This was a really cool idea for the themes! A few times I got really long stretches of concrete that I don't think were possible to survive though.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13am

Nice entry. I found it really fun. Great innovation too!

Muffinhat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17am

Not a necessarily innovative concept, but a solid one nonetheless. The only thing I have to say about the gameplay is that, assuming you're doing procedural levels or something, that the levels are designed to be fair on the player (as in, make sure that there's not a huge stretch of land in front of me when I barely have any size on the snowball). The artwork is nice and polished; consistent as well. Overall solid entry.

MAnimal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:56am

Very fun to play, i liked the background music. Sometimes RNG generates long nonsnow fields.

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Great controls

euske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06am

It was fun but after a while the game became a bit monotonous. Simple and nice.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Nice and funny game. Music a tad too loud (like almost every game), but otherwise very good. But i think i found an bug, if i boosted while on snow i got stuck or became incredible slow?

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:14pm

This would make a really good mobile game, it's short simple and it only needs basic touch controls. Music isn't bad either. Great job on finishing!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:47am

This is nice. Good aesthetic, nice music. Good job.

Sink says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50am

cute little game nice work :) I was rooting for the lil snowball i wanted it to succeed

Iman_axe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:47am

really good game , well done. i think you could make it a little harder..

astrophics says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:46pm

Nice game! Controls are good, except there are some points where snow doesn't spawn enough and you die from getting too small

Dege says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:56pm

+++ Clever idea, great use of theme!
+ I enjoyed it and retried multiple times.
+ Minimal but effective graphic style.
+ Nice UI, liked the font :)
- Music is not bad, but sounds they are :)
--- Installer!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]