Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pulen Boxing Championship

by unpronounceable - Compo Entry

Simple boxing game use only the left and right arrow keys for controlling your boxer.

The red bar is health. Getting punched will decrease
The green bar is stamina. Punching, blocking, and taking uppercut all use up stamina. If it's depleted you become exhausted and will be left open. There's a blue bar marking if making a punch then will exhaust you.

When spending your points:
Strength increases the damage your punches do.
Speed increases how fast your movements are.
Endurance increases your stamina.
Conditioning increases your health.

There are more instructions on the start screen.

Don't hit the 'w' or 's' keys, those are debug buttons I forgot to take out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#211Theme4.04
#446Fun3.20
#474Overall3.24
#537Innovation3.08
#749Graphics2.56

Comments

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

Nice work! Controls took a second to get used too but once I got the hang of them fight was pretty fun!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:07pm

nice, at some point i couldn't punch anymore. need to work on speed. :)

Soka says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:10pm

I like the idea, I miss this kind of games, the stamina too :D But the controls are a bit weird, although I understande since the theme didn't allow that much freedom, so yea, keep it up n_n!

Red says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Really cool take on Two Button Control, I like it a lot!

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:57pm

the controls were alot to get around

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:46pm

Great game! I took a few games to made me to the controls, and the animations are very good, feels like punching.

sirono says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Cool reaction game, But it need have more clever AI

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:54pm

I really like this. Though I may be a little biased given I also made a boxing game, haha :)

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:39am

Nice take on the theme. The controls were a bit difficult to get used to, but I had fun playing it. Congrats!

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:46am

Nicely done! I couldn't get used to the control scheme though. One thing is for sure, the use of it was creative as fuck lol Good game!

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:09am

This is so fun and great!
Cool combination of two buttons!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:18pm

good game almost like one from the 90's I like that

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Oh that was fun, the start was very, probably too, slow but after the upgrade screen it was fine. The game is a bit easy though. I think if you get slower as you loose stamina it would be more difficult to dodge the enemy. If you decide to continue this game, a split screen for local multiplayerr would be much fun :)

Cosmic5 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Was awesome. Glad to see someone put in a little work to have the races alternate. A little sound could go a long way.

zulman says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Nice control mechanics you got here, it was a pleasure to discover it. Also nice realistic touch what happens when you lost all the stamina in boxing.)

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Hey liked it and his effects. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]