Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Daring Entrepreneur

by zedutchgandalf - Compo Entry

​Do you have what it takes to grow your own business from the ground up?
Do you have what it takes to become the biggest, most Daring Entrepreneur there ever was?​




The Daring Entrepreneur is an incremental game made with an experimental version of OpenJGL: the Open JavaScript Game Library (http://bit.ly/OpenJGL)!

This game also works on mobile, but I'll probably port it in the next week or so to make everything look a bit better/bigger on mobile. But it should still be completely playable as it is now!

DISCLAIMER: After the compo was over, I've added an option to save your game, since this was really lacking in my opinion (and more or less making the game uncompletable). Under the links at the bottom of this page you can find the source code of both the original version (as uploaded before the deadline) and the new version which includes saving functionality. The embedded version above and the one on itch.io are both the new, improved version. A full changelog can be found on the itch.io page.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#319Humor2.73
#644Fun2.93
#742Overall2.93
#768Theme3.32
#795Graphics2.44
#916Innovation2.05

Comments

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:56pm

A clicker game. Well made :) It's a great idea that fits perfectly well the theme!

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:57pm

lol, cute for kids. we like the text

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Reminds me a lot of adventure capitalist, another really fun clicker game. Nice.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Great graphics and good idea for theme.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:59pm

Nooo a clicker game! We need back to work :'(. Nice job buddy!

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Why did you this to me? Clickers are my perdition.

CremaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:02pm

I've tried Chrome and Firefox and the first button (go shout) doesn't work for me so I can't do anything :(

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12pm

I can't click on the shout in the street button, I get the hover for the buy a sign. I'm running FireFox. Disabling uBlock doesn't seem to make a difference.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:31pm

It's really one of my favorite kind of game ^^ Simple but fun, good job ^^

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51pm

CremaGames and local minimum, do you block cookies in your browser? I think that might be the problem, but I'm not entirely sure

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:54pm

I've tested in both Chrome and Firefox myself and disabling cookies does nothing (the game just doesn't save but it doesn't crash either). Could you maybe paste your console output (only what's in red)? On windows you can open the console by pressing F12. On Mac it's Cmd+Alt+C in most browsers, I think.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice little game, gotta love incremental games :) Good job

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Fun clicker game :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Idle games get me every time. Looks good.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:22pm

I lost about hour of my life =0=

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25pm

It's a clicker game that fits the theme, doesn't really seem to require much input from the player though other than clicking every once in a while to max out the customers.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:42pm

As a basis for a clicker-game, it's a pretty neat concept. The expansions also kept it from just being a clicker-fest and both added a goal for the player to strive towards and not to mention added some nice little visual distractions.

The only thing I would've liked would've been a bit more auditory feedback, like for instance hearing sounds from the radio once you had purchased it or the sounds of customers in the background or the like.

Otherwise, it was pretty neat.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Good job !

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Took me a little bit to figure out what I was supposed to do. Not a fan of clicker games unfortunately. Wish it had a little more feedback as to what was going on when I clicked on stuff. Great job!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Pretty clever interpretation of the theme there :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:37pm

@Crashmore Studios: Yes, that's also something I would have wanted in there. But sadly there wasn't enough time (I even mentioned this in the tooltips of the upgrade that unlocks the radio :P)

Rocketship says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Charming and slightly addictive. However, I feel the clicker aspect goes a bit to waste because when you increase the effect of your shouts it's very easy to keep the customers full at most times. I think a little bit slower build-up would have worked better here.

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Now I got to work in another browser. My store it accumulating wealth as I write this. A nice little clicker-entry. I think it would have been nicer if one could see all future upgrades per section as it would allow for more strategy. It feels quite slow too, much wait or not enough gain from clicking. The feedback from the upgrades was a very nice touch though! However a bit hard too to see if one should/could click the larger buttons. Nice entry in all.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:23pm

I like incremental games and the key to a good one is great balance. I find that there's a large gulf of nothing to do between buying the Neon Sign and expanding your store (I have 20 customers and a line, but nothing to click). Also after expanding I've not got many options.

Add some more things to buy and I think you've got something good going here :)

Aaranos says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Simple concept. I couldn't get it to let me shout at all, or if I did then it did nothing.

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:19pm

A very funny game! Maybe (for me) a clicker game is a bit out of the theme "2 buttons". Good work!

eerongal says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Clicker games are always fun. Nice work!

Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:03pm

My shop sold dank memes. Many happy customers!

Afendar says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 3:12pm

simple idea. Game is fun but with sound or music that can be better. Great job !

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:15pm

This was fun, the upgrades are awesome. Too bad you culdnt add sounds or music...

loxo says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:39am

Nice simple game. I like that you can see the changes that the upgrades make. Some background music, sound effects and animations would be nice. But I don't like that you linked only the updated version of your game even when you only made small changes.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]