Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

A Tale of Two Peters

by Recursiveanomaly - Jam Entry

You, St. Peter, are given the holy task of both protecting and judging mortals. Heaven's short on staff this millennium.

To protect them, you'll become a traffic cop on Earth who directs traffic to avoid car crashes.

When a crash does happen you'll ascend to your angelic form to judge those that perished.


Instructions:

When directing traffic, use your two mouse buttons to rotate and stop or start traffic.

When deciding the eternal fate of recently departed, interview them until you know which of the two buttons to press.


Download and run the Windows Build for best performance!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#29Innovation(Jam)4.10
#62Humor(Jam)3.86
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#297Mood(Jam)3.49
#357Fun(Jam)3.35
#387Audio(Jam)3.26
#450Graphics(Jam)3.58
#533Theme(Jam)3.65

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:28am

Hey, interesting game guys! I have to say though, I Feel like there is a heavy dissonance between the two gameplay phases. I think personally you should have chose one or the other. I liked the second one best! Anyway, really nice work. Graphics , narrative and functionality all very nice and polished. Well done.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:59pm

interesting concept!, but in the end i end up crash everybody and prefer to ask them question, mostly i send them to damnation lol
but to be honest, not a fan of the traffic stuff

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Gerar game

David Cookie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Cool game!

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27pm

Directing traffic is a little clunky, other than that it's really fun :D

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Neat concept. Motorists apparently need to learn to respect my authority, though!

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25pm

crazy idea, it's actually fun! The traffic controls are a bit hard, but I like the concept and the judging part!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Some drivers just wanted to dye ;)
Cool game

RARoadkill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:34am

Super impressive game. I found it funny when people would just smash into a car that was right in front of them. Asking the questions and deciding was also great. Good job

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:39am

Pretty nice idea, nice game overall!

The only thing i would change is rotationg to the lane the cursor is pointing, instead of rotating all around.

Had fun playing it!

Wandermayer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53am

Love the idea of consequences of one game mode spilling onto another!

siege says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:40am

Actually just a joy to play. I like sending people to hell. A lot.

Rocketship says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Such an interesting combination of two different types of games, I liked that a lot. I think the traffic cop part was a bit too difficult cause some of the drivers basically ignored the red light.

juaxix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

I love the idea of the two game modes with after death and st peter. I think there is a lack in control , I would like to use mouse look instead of mouse left-click to change the traffic light order. You did a great job because it's funny, the part where you have to read all that text, i dont know but i'm not ready so much, but i like to choose things :D

Anyway, if you tryed my game but didnt work please try again ,i fixed the dll error.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:50pm

Cool game, but I agree with the comments about the diconnect between game modes. I found the judging part very interesting, and the other one not really suited for a 2button control scheme, as you have to react very fast.

Nice game though :)

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:16am

Interesting. At the tally at the end, it is more of a reflection of how the player thinks versus getting things right or wrong. That is pretty powerful to see your own moral report card. I have to agree with others that the contrast between the game types is a bit jarring.

Overall cool idea!

jewagenaar says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:49am

Very cool game. Probably the one that had me playing the longest so far. Everything worked very well.

tjxx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:41am

Turns out I'm not the best at directing traffic. :P It seems like a very polished game! I had a lot of fun playing it and there wasn't anything I didn't like about it. Except if people would be a little more patient at the intersection.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:05am

Well done. To make the traffic part more interesting, would have been to have a car pass counter or something.

Otherwise people just feel like they want to crash the cars.

Having people get impatient and running the red light was a nice touch.

kmakai says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Really inventive way to put the two sides together, and it fit the theme well! Great job with the audio and all of the dialog especially.

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Realy cool idea with judgeing part :P

Alloyed says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:27pm

+ The fact that the game doesn't try to score you, at least not directly, to be refreshing. Since the game revolves around your moral compass it's easy to fill in the scorecard with your own ethics instead of the game designer's
- The traffic phase felt consequence-less to me. I found myself ignoring it entirely to get to the next bit of dialog, and since drivers will effectively kill themselves randomly it isn't really possible to a good job indefinitely

scorched says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Very original idea! You could do LEFT and RIGHT to switch light to left and right of cop accordingly, and LEFT+RIGHT at once to turn (only two orientations needed that way), because current scheme is slow.
Keep it up!

Zaeche says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:01am

I wouldn't worry about the disconnect between the two phases too much. What /really/ piqued my interest was how the game handled the fail state--I thought it was brilliant (for lack of other games trying to address the issue). Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]