Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

naïade

by Pol - Jam Entry

just a small leap motion experiment - touch the water to plant a seed~
YOU NEED A LEAP MOTION TO PLAY - here's a video if you don't have one but wanna see what it looks like: https://vimeo.com/148849897

​ ?​ ?​?​ ?​
♒​♒​♒​♒​♒​♒​♒​​​♒​​​♒​​​♒​​
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

made in a few hours using assets from my game Orchids to Dusk (http://polclarissou.itch.io/orchids-to-dusk)

i couldn't test the osx build so there's no guarantee it works

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2163Coolness22%

Comments

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:31am

Hey dude, looks cool from the screenshots, however I was unable to make anything happen (Windows)! If you have the time, shoot me a message on how to play. Thanks!

Pol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:51am

Do you have a leap motion? As mentioned, you need one to play :f

CMG says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Couldn't play it but watched the gameplay video and enjoyed it! That was just as good as playing some of these games myself. Great mood, peaceful, interesting concept.

Bjarnovikus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:21pm

I think requiring a Leap Motion might be a major problem for people wanting to play your game really quick. There is absolutly no information about this in your game itself, so I was thinking I was looking at a nice screensaver (it looks nice by the way ;)).

Graphics look awesome, but I don't really see a goal. Not every game should need a goal, but right now it just looks like tapping random places to create/grow a plant.

Pol says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:34pm

That's really what it is! It's just a visual/mood experiment, nothing more.

Lia-Sae says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

I have a Leap Motion, so I could play it! :)
I like sandbox toys like this so this was nice. I wish there was a bit more going on: generative music from the plants, the plants moving when you touch them. I can see this turning into more.

dx0ne says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:59am

now i want to have leap motion

Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:29am

Don't have a leap motion :(

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:52am

Cant run it so I cant rate it but it looks amazing as always Pol :) Love the dense, vegetative feeling of everything.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Its nice to see devs that are working with leap motion out here. Nice entry, tho no win or loose condition, its not a bad thing, just feels like there is no feedback from the game, and you must grow plants and flowers until pc will get freezes. Anyway nice entry Pol.

laaph says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:41pm

It's too bad you caught me on holiday, I have a leap motion at home but I couldn't bring it with me! I can't try it until I get home after the ratings are done. (Actually I get home Sunday night, which might be just enough time to squeeze it in.)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]