Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Strawberry Trafficking

by SunShiranui - Jam Entry

Welcome to Strawberry Trafficking!
Defend your grandma’s house from evil wolves (and chickens) by growing and selling strawberries... with the help of a strange salesman!

Tips:
- Buy gems with strawberries, then convert them to turrets and walls to protect your grandma's house
- Click while near a wolf or chicken to attack it. Chickens are very destructive, but drop seeds if you need them to rebuild.

A game by:
Sun - @SunShiranui
Daniele Piscitello - @danipiscitello
Federico Fenech - @IssunWander


Changelog
------------------
- Fixed bugs related to monster spawning

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#390Fun(Jam)3.31
#423Graphics(Jam)3.63
#475Audio(Jam)3.09
#496Humor(Jam)2.67
#542Innovation(Jam)3.11
#548Overall(Jam)3.29
#564Mood(Jam)3.16
#781Theme(Jam)3.33

Comments

Kvyosh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:01pm

Awesome game! But this need a health bar for the player.

guoboism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Love the graphics and music! Nice take on the theme.
Advice:
Enemy move and steal too fast.
I lose the game suddenly, should have some kinds of indication.

iovorobiev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

so exciting gameplay! Really like this game.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:08pm

A lot of things going on, but could use some more visual/auditory feedback for some stuff.

mitya1234 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:09pm

It is the funiest LD 34 game. Thank You!

ashish says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Great work, liked it.

Ayaya33 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I really loved this. With a few improvements here and there it would be a game I play a lot.

The only real flaws I found was that things wern't indicated very well. I have no idea of my players health, now do I know Grandma's (I assume she has health), the end comes very suddenly with no indication of a score or anything like that.

Overall it's great though, really had fun with this one.

AndreSilvs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:26pm

The defensive walls don't actually block the chickens and wolves.. One game a wolf spawned inside the house and got blocked by a wall I placed there, then I lost. There's no indication of how much HP is left. But otherwise it's a fun game.

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:39pm

I am not sure what is making me lose.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Very fun! I wish the game was more polished. I could see myself pouring a lot of time into this. :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50am

Wow, I enjoyed this game very much! Lovely graphics, nice gameplay. Took a slight while to get into the groove, but once there it was really enjoyable. Very good overall! :D

Indie L says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:11pm

Very cool!I liked a lot!

sim9 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Took me a little bit to figure out what I was supposed to do (the first time around I unwittingly threw my seeds into one of the shops and spent the round wondering how to grow strawberries). Autoclicking would be nice so you don't have to hammer mouse1 so much when farming or attacking. Fun game :)

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Gre

KriBoNiTa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Great game, i get stucked behind the house after a wolf bumped me but it was fun besides that

rkhadder says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Good game - my feedback echos what others are saying: no health bar and die without indication

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Great concept I love it.

kostak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:12pm

Do not listen to them and do not add healsbar!
Reveal health right on the character graphically.
Good luck!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Really fun! Great and fluid gameplay.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Nice game! Excellent graphics.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Very nice game. The first two tries I was happily growing my strawberries when I suddenly lost. (What I want to say there is no in-game indication that you need to defend the home at night :-)).

Very humorous and nice sounds and visuals!

StitchesMagoo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:34pm

A lack of communication sometimes makes defeat feel arbitrary! That said this is excellent and has resplendent graphics. Well done

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:11pm

really cool idea! it's a bit hard to fight against the wolf but overall well done!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 11:43am

Very nice game.I love the concept. The game is hard but it's one of the most funny entries that I've played this LD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]