Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Kin

by purrpurr - Jam Entry

Give a small group of people chance to flourish. Grant them your gifts and allow them the opportunity to grow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#435Theme(Jam)3.76
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22
#553Mood(Jam)3.17
#647Humor(Jam)2.41
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#716Overall(Jam)3.11

Comments

Ampera says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Neat little game. As an atheist I find the idea of this sorta creationist game a bit mweh, but it's a fun game and it's innovative. If given work it could turn out to be a fun godlike construction game like civ 1

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:23pm

A neat take on the god game genre and growing the world. I get a code error after building the world, but it looked like it was leading to the end screen.

Andy Gainey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Some of the proper ordering felt obvious, while some of it felt arbitrary. For example, why can plants grow before a rainstorm, but trees won't grow unless apparently one does the wind first, followed by storm? I got trees by pure accident, not semi-intelligent exploration.

The fact that things like trees and fire were elements to discover through exploration provided a really cool feeling, but it needs to be coupled with a sense of agency by the player, as though they were intelligently responsible for making the discovery, at least partially. Well, I'll admit that it is subjective, but that's the sort of experience I'm hoping for in a game about exploration and discovery.

uthamon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:13pm

What I crave in games, especially in jam games, is creating bizarre atmosphere combined with stimulating audiovisuals. And You did it. It has this primal, from-inside-of-soul feeling. It also reminds me of the song ''Caledonia'' by Cromagnon, You can find it on youtube.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:38am

Very neat indeed. Had me thinking for a while for the best possible approach. I would love to see this expanded into a larger project for sure!

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Lol, this is kind of a fun concept. I'm not sure what the ultimate goal is, but I kind of enjoyed doing creation out of order. I couldn't tell how things were interacting though. Wouldn't the beasts die without the flowers? haha, cool game though.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:23am

Pro:
+ Cool concept
+ Great mood with music and graphics
Con:
- Order of the gifts were a bit odd to figure out, maybe more hints or different sets of solutions (for example, I started creating fauna and flora so humans could have food when they were created)
Obs:
o I felt that the camera was a bit weird when moving. It seemed like it's a perspective camera... I don't know

Great job!

architect404 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:08pm

great atmosphere but I quickly ran out of things to do and then panning around wasn't much fun as objects stretched and beasts flickered and the background texture wasn't easy on the eyes. interesting but maybe too ambitious to be well executed in the timeframe.

ChiPassGames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Interesting game.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:23am

A religious game in Ludum Dare? Ok cool lets get into it. I like the lightning effects. Not enough info in the hints bar turned the game into trial and error (might be by design)

freaknarf says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Quite interesting and ambitious experiment :)
It's a bit hard to know what to to, i often hit game over without really understanding what was wrong ... Visuals were weird and there is a (probably unwanted) key allowing the player to zoom, so that was even weirder !
You should display a way to restart game at game over, i felt like i had no choice but exit and launch once again the game to try again :)

Solifuge says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:43am

Interesting. Never seen a biblical-feeling God Game before, so this was pretty neat. It was tough to figure out elements of the intended order, but overall made for an interesting take on puzzle gameplay.

Thanks for putting this together!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]