Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Rapunzel

by hissssssssss - Compo Entry

Safely climb down Rapunzel's tower so you can live to meet her another day.

Controls:
A - Grow hair
D - Rappel

Tips for Pros:
You descend faster when rappeling and growing hair at the same time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#107Humor3.44
#219Fun3.53
#227Overall3.58
#278Innovation3.47
#329Mood3.19
#334Graphics3.37
#339Audio2.95
#438Theme3.79
#2073Coolness26%

Comments

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30am

Instead of measuring time, measure length of hair?

fishbrain says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04am

Nice take on the competition themes! I like the graphic style and tunes.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:07am

I made it 55 seconds on my top run. Nice job! I used Unity too!

John Drury says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:29am

Too funny. Great controls, can see it becoming mobile.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Love the idea. Very fun game to play :D.

Tijn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:51pm

This is a cool game! I love the artwork, it's straight from a children's book of fairy tales. The rappel / grow mechanic also works pretty well once you get the hang of it. Haha, get it? Hang!

Some way to play again once you've gone Game Over would have been a nice addition, because I found myself wanting to play again for a while :)

Is it possible to reach the bottom by the way?

batmanasb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:55pm

I love how I recognized that those things were bees...

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:32am

Tijn: Thanks for playing! You should be able to just press A or D to restart the game after a game over. If that's not working, then there's a bug and I'll have to look into it.

And it is possible to reach the bottom, just fairly difficult.


batmanasb: I love how you can tell which placeholder art I didn't get around to replacing. Bees were pretty low on the list.

euske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36am

What an insidious game. At first, I thought I sucked at the control, but then gradually it got more and more addictive, and I ended up spending an hour for this entry. The best gameplay mechanics I've seen so far.

nopogo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:35pm

Original idea with the current theme's. The variety in obstacles kept it fresh. Only thing I would suggest with a soundloop this short is a mute button.

TiByte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52pm

These cows >.<

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:00am

lol. I think the prince is gonna rappel up and claim his prize :)

Crowbeak says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:56pm

Protip was very useful, but did not make me a pro. xD I like MaulUdder's suggestion about measuring hair length... or better yet, giving some indicator of how close to the ground you are, if it isn't endless. It seems not endless, since I can memorize where things happen.

arzi says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Great idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]