Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

How to Build a Lighthouse

by Mnemusyne - Jam Entry

How to Build a Lihgthouse is the ultimate guide on building lighthouses. This realistic simulator will teach you all about how lighthouses are built.

Controls:
Left arrow - rotate left
Right arrow - rotate right
Alternatively, you can click on each side of the screen (or use your touch-screen) to rotate.

Game by @AD1337 (art and music) and @AndreYin (code and sounds).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#21Theme(Jam)4.44
#25Audio(Jam)4.20
#70Innovation(Jam)3.88
#138Overall(Jam)3.78
#152Fun(Jam)3.67
#162Humor(Jam)3.43
#164Graphics(Jam)4.11
#197Mood(Jam)3.64

Comments

justinooncx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Superb game all around! Stunning aesthetics, simple but fun gameplay, the works! Well done!

David Cookie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Best game I've played so far! Really great work.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:08am

Nice game! design is so cute!

axoona says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Ok now I know how to build lighthouse: dodge planes, pirates and submarines ;D

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Pretty game, nice polish, but, does it ever end ?
good job anyway !

dougfeer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15pm

nice music :)

Reinoso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Game fantastic, very good, I liked it!

fabulis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Great, Very good game,good idea and nice musique
good job

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Very well designed game guys, the difficulty is at an interesting edge, hard to reach the light but not frustrating to try again (over and over hehe). Very cute art too. Parabéns!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Wow! This is really, really creative!!
I didn't like that the direction almost doesn't matter, making using two buttons almost redundant. Also, many times it doesn't spin in the direction that I pressed.
The art and gameplay are simple, but very polished. "Easy to play, hard to master".
Well done!

hiki911 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:10pm

simple and fun, gj!

lawendt says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:02pm

Pretty simple and nice mood. Felt a little bit confused with the mechanics, since I didn't really know when it would trigger the "place the block" action. Keep up with the nice work!

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:03pm

Great game! Simple concept, but addicting. 8/10 IGN

beetracks says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Full score. Congratulations! The best entry I played until now. Plus, it's nice to see a Construct 2 game around here. Great job!

architect404 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:14pm

simple but solid. great music and sfx, clean and fitting graphics, very nice work!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Simple and fun, great stuff!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:09am

Wish I could keep on going and build the tallest lighthouse I can possibly do but this was a rather solid and well polished entry :)

kezhaar says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Really great and super frustrating :D thumbs up

yuigoto says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:42am

The game is pretty simple, but gets really challenging too! Even more if you're trying to alternate colors to build your lighthouse!

The graphic style and soundtrack really blend well together and create a nice mood to play the game! I could spend hours on this game just because of these two, but the game's also great!

Nice work! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]